We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above average for this type of hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Motherwell
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Above average for this type of hotel.”
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

The overall experience was good. The staff on reception were informative and friendly. The hotel is next to a main road but the traffic noise isn't bad at all for this type of hotel. There is a Toby Carvery next door which gets busy but is cheap and mostly cheerful depending on how snobby you are about your food. You could eat in the hotel bar but I didn't. I was informed that the bar was open all night.

The room was really clean and the covers had a freshly washed smell which was nice.
The room was also well equipped with soap for the shower, a hair dryer and plenty of tea and coffee.
The temperature if the room was just right.

My only problems are really minor and just being picky because I stay in so many hotels for work. There was only a shower rather than a bath and although the water was nice and hot it was a bit of a dribble rather than a shower. Also there were plenty of plug sockets but none near the mirror. Granted there was hair dryer next to the mirror but all girlies with long hair know how useless hotel hairdryers are even when they work!

All in all a bargain and exactly what I expected from a Holiday Inn

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gribbleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMStrathclyde, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
I am glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay here at Strathclyde. Unfortunatley all Express hotels are equipt with the standard hairdryer, but would be useful to have another socket at the mirror. I do hope on your next stay will try our new menu at the bar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    134
    114
    35
    17
See reviews for
82
77
22
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Very good helpful staff at a HI Express located within the Strathclyde Country Park, but only a few hundred meters of the Motorway. There are good road and rail links for visiting Glasgow or other cities, but also a range of activities within the park.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMStrathclyde, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for leaving us great feedback. Our hotel is ideally situated between rail and road links although we located in a Country Park.

Look forward to welcoming you again to Strathclyde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

First time I have stayed at a Holiday Inn. I stayed two seperate nights, and on my return to the Highlands again I will be certain to book in here for my overnight stop. The rooms were large, bright and clean with all I required. Breakfast was included in the price and was more than adequate. Next door is a carvery, so excellent for evening meal. Found all staff to be very friendly and helpful. especially on reception. Slight problem on my return trip of an overcharge on my bill caused by a central office error was dealt with straight away, and by the next morning the payment had been credited back into my account. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to any type of visitor. One tip re central heating, nothing in the rooms instructions re this, and the controls on the radiator are not easy to see, so ask staff to show you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMStrathclyde, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. I am glad we have made a lasting impression on your first stay at Holiday Inn and hope you now become a regular. I will pass your comments on to our staff to let them know how happy you were at how qucikly your bill error was corrected.

Look forward to seeing again on your next trip to the Highlands or even Lanarkshire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Had the occassion to stay two nights 7/8 April very friendly staff excellent location ample parking substancial breakfast free wifi Bright clean well serviced rooms Ideal location for visiting Clyde Valley

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMStrathclyde, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for your very kind and positive feedback. I will pass these comments to our staff to let them know they are doing a good job
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldham
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed in the Holiday inn a few weeks ago and i was impressed with the price, Also the bar, breakfast and rooms are all good. The parking was free!! which makes a nice change.Theres a few pubs and restaurants a short walk out so all in all a good hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pacoseed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMStrathclyde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you so much for this great review. I am pleased that we delivered on all aspects of your stay. I hope this is the first of many visits for you and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel. Remember to book early for the best deals on line as we have some very competitive rates available.

Isabella little
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed here with a colleague on business. We arrived quite late one evening and the receptionist was very helpful, giving us a room very close to the entrance and directing us to get some food from the next door pub (with advice to hurry as they would stop serving in 15 minutes). The room was a good size, even with the double bed and sofa bed set up. The receptionist also brought round a duvet for the spare bed quite quickly, although no sheets or pillows.
Breakfast was ok - not too much of a choice for a breakfast buffet but decent enough.
Overall, I think it is a well placed hotel, decent value and you get pretty much what you expect for this chain and price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizM99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMStrathclyde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Good Morning LIzM99 ,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding your welcome. I will pass your comments on to my staff. Our breakfast is a limited hot choice and could be improved. I will forward your comments to our Company Food & beverage department as it is important to listen to our guests when trying to improve products and services

Isabella Little
GM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester England
Level 6 Contributor
702 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 336 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We picked this for its convenient location. Near enough to the A74 to be a good stopover on our trip north to the Highlands. But far enough away to be reasonably quiet. Accommodating and friendly staff. It's the second time we've stayed.There's a carvery pub across the car park.

It's the bog standard HIE format including limited dining, bar and serve yourself breakfast. It would help to have more information in the rooms - like how to make an internal call and how the heating is operated. And the lobby vending services were extremely limited. Our breakfast was not assisted by malfunctions on both the fruit juice and coffee dispensers.

HI guarantee that booking on their site will always get you the best rates. And we got good value for money on this occasion. Would have been even cheaper if we'd picked the advance "no cancellation" deal.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike Arran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMStrathclyde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Good morning,

Thank you for your feedback I will use this information to improve on our standards. We will add instructions on how to operate our heaters and ensure that all rooms have our telephone operating instruction cards in the room collatteral rack. We are continually striving to make the guest experience the best we can offer. Goods and service should always be value for money
and I am happy that you felt that you did get this. You are right in saying that if you book early you can get an even better deal. Although we did not quite manage to get it all right on this occassion we will for you next visit.
Isabella Little
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motherwell
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Hamilton
Days Inn Hamilton
#3 of 4 in Hamilton
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Strathclyde
0.3 mi away
The Alona Hotel
The Alona Hotel
#5 of 9 in Motherwell
434 reviews
3.5 mi away
Dakota Eurocentral
Dakota Eurocentral
#1 of 9 in Motherwell
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5

Property: Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5
Address: Strathclyde Country Park 1 Hamilton Road | Strathclyde Country Park, Motherwell ML1 3RB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Motherwell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Motherwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 120 bedroom Express by Holiday Inn Strathclyde Park M74, JCT.5, is ideal for Corporate and Leisure clients, offering ensuite accommodation including Complimentary Continental Breakfast with selected Hot Items, FREE Car Parking spaces for upto 120 cars. We are on Jct 5 off the M74. The Express By Holiday Inn Strathclyde is located in the Strathclyde Country park with Motherwell Food Park with Companies like Honeywell and TNT close by. Hamilton,Motherwell and Eurocentral are within 5 minutes driving distance from the Hotel. Glasgow Airport is a 25 minute drive and Edinburgh Airport is a 40 minute drive from the Hotel.The Hotel is situated within the complex of attractions, such as Strathclyde Country Park with its Watersports centre, country walks and purpose built M & D's Theme Park (open all year round with FREE entry). Other places of interest are David Livingston Centre, the Time Capsule Leisure Centre and a Golf Course just 1.5 miles away. Glasgow City Centre is just a 25 minutes drive from the Hotel and easily accessible to Gleneagles and St. Andrews Golf Courses . There is a Bar/ Lounge available for resident guests from 11am to 3am daily and 2 Meeting rooms for upto 30 people offering all audio / visual equipment and business facilities. High Speed Internet Access available throughout the Hotel ( FREE in the Lounge Area.) Sorry but we Do Not Accept Pets! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park Hotel Motherwell
Holiday Inn Express Motherwell
Holiday Inn Motherwell
Motherwell Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5 Motherwell, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing