We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Nights Sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Motherwell
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Bad Nights Sleep”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Stayed in a Double room for one night. Reception staff were friendly and informative.
The room was of good size Pre Fabricated Generic to the Express chain, clean and tidy no nasty supprises.
The Bed Mattress was of poor quality leading to a very uncomfortable sleep. The Mattress was extremely soft and springy offering little to no support. If one person moves the other is woken being bounced up and down.
Our Room was next to a stairwell which turned out to be very noisy with the door closing and people stomping down the corridors.
No WiFi however ther is LAN Internet at a cost of 8.16 GBP per hour which for this day and age is extortion.
Limited TV Channels 1-5, sky one and sky news to sucker you into purchasing a movie for 8.16 GBP or to listen to music for 2.03 GBP
Breakfast was ok, Continental Buffet. Nothing to shout about but it filled a hole. No Bacon or Boiled eggs but what was on offer was good quality.
Showers are very good with lots of hot water at a good pressure.
Would i stay here again................ No

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the Stairwells.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris_moffatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear chris_moffatt,

Thank you so very much for sharing your experience with us. I was delighted to read your review and your very kind comments regarding our staff. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. However, it is regrettable you were not satisfied with the sleep quality that you received because of the mattress. I appreciate you bringing this to our attention as this matter will be looked into. Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel.

To better assist you on your next stay, please do not hesitate to approach the manager on duty.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    130
    111
    35
    14
See reviews for
79
73
22
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Visiting family in Glasgow and the surrounding area we elected to stay here to enable a quick getaway when we left as well as a good central location. We were not disappointed with the location. It is very handy for the Strathclyde Country Park (what's not to like about High Diving Pirate shows and Irn Bru ice cream!?) and literally just off the M74.
We had a family room which was a nice size for the price although we would have liked a bath rather than a shower for the baby.
Breakfast is included and is buffet style; sausages, eggs, beans,toast, cereal, yogurt, fruit, croissants, pain au chocolate...and coffee, tea and fruit juice.
Staff friendly, ample parking, we were round the back so no motorway noise. We would stay again. Only gripe was that the bed was too soft so every time one of us moved the other was bounced around and woken up.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdo_39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMStrathclyde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Fantastic that you enjoyed your stay here at EXHI Strathclyde Park. Sorry about the beds they are new beds but perhaps not suitable for everyone. We do have a double bed board and you we would be happy to install this on your next visit.
Regards
Isabella
GM HIEX Strathclyde Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rawtenstall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Located quite close to the M74 motorway so easy to find. Motorway noise may be a bit distracting for some so suggest you ask for a room on the opposite side, which overlooks a sports field some distance away. Usual HIE room features sink/shower/toilet, desk, tv with limited number of channels and sofa. Also worth noting that this is located in a fairly soft water region and if you care for a pleasant walk before dinner, head for the Strathclyde Loch. Complimentary buffet breakfast with good selection of cereals and hot items such as scrambled eggs, baked beans and of course tea/coffee and toast.
The hotel would appear to be a popular stop-over for tour buses and during our stay a double-decked bus load of Japanese tourists arrived, hence the breakfast bar became somewhat crowded. However to their credit, the staff handled the situation with great efficiency so no real time was lost.
A short walk from the entrance is a Toby carvery, which despite some caustic reviews from others on TripAdvisor, proved to be perfectly acceptable - provided you can follow the local dialect!

Room Tip: As stated above, rooms facing a sports-field are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RossendaleMancunian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMStrathclyde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for your very complimentary review. Even when we are busy the staff try to deliver a great guest experience and on this occassion they did.

I will be happy to share your review with the team and look forward to your next visit to HIEX Strathclyde Park
Isabella Little
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed here twice now, with my family. Very friendly staff, easy access to the motorway and very good value for Money! We booked in advance and got an excellent deal. Would definitely recommend it to anyone who was looking for a decent, clean stopover near Glasgow! You also get free wifi and brecky thrown in for good measure. It is situated in a huge park which has a lake and funfair, so great for the kids!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank GJM65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMStrathclyde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Glad you and your family had an enjoyable stay here at EXHI Strathclyde park.. Indeed it is a great location for families and couples. Our advance bookings are popular as you get fantastic discounts. Please visit us again soon.

Regards
isabella Little
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
240 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I've stayed here a few times while en route from Scotland to England as it's just a minute or two off the main road. In terms of layout and style, it's like every other purpose built HI Express - comfortable without being fancy, and with breakfast included in the price. But the staff add value to the experience. Arriving about 9 on a Sunday evening, I went to the Brewers Fayre that is across the road to get a meal - only to be told I was too late, and there was no way I was going to be served. So back to the HI (which is completely unconnected to the Brewers Fayre), where the receptionist offered to go to their kitchen and see what could be done - and came back with the good news that I could get a full meal cooked specially for me. What's more, it was tasty when it came. And was delivered with a smile. Excellent service that was repeated at breakfast the next morning.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theologyprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMStrathclyde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you so much for your positive comments. I am delighted to hear that the staff are giving such great service. As the Manager here at EXHI Strathclyde Park your feedback will be passed on to the staff with a big thanks from me for a job well done.

Haste ye back

Isabella Little
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012 via mobile

Really not a bad word to say about this hotel. Room rate was competitive at late notice. Check in was easy, room clean and airy. Really comfy beds. Breakfast is well stocked and tables were clean. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesShelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Many thanks for your very welcome and positive comments which I will pass on to the staff here at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde park.. It is encouraging to know that when I am away on Holiday my staff continue to provide good service. I look forward to you returning to this hotel soon.

Kind Regards
isabella little GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Car breakdown necessitated a spur of the moment hotel stay.

Clean, modern rooms, fantastic showers, easy access........finished off with a wonderfully full, yet leisurely taken, breakfast.

I have seen the future, and the future is Holiday Inn Express type places. When I think of the times I have spent that little bit more, in the hope of great service, this has shown how service, and value can be delivered hand in hand.

I am actually such a convert I am thinking of signing up as a Premier user.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elfingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMStrathclyde, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Good Morning,

Thank you very much for your feedback. Your positive comments will be passed on to our staff. It is always good to hear what our guests think of our hotel and services.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you on a return visit.

Kind Regards
isabella Little GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motherwell
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel
0.1 mi away
Innkeepers Lodge Glasgow, Strathclyde Park
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Alona Hotel
The Alona Hotel
#5 of 9 in Motherwell
427 reviews
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Hamilton
Days Inn Hamilton
#3 of 4 in Hamilton
216 reviews
3.5 mi away
Dakota Eurocentral
Dakota Eurocentral
#1 of 9 in Motherwell
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5

Property: Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5
Address: Strathclyde Country Park 1 Hamilton Road | Strathclyde Country Park, Motherwell ML1 3RB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Motherwell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Motherwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 120 bedroom Express by Holiday Inn Strathclyde Park M74, JCT.5, is ideal for Corporate and Leisure clients, offering ensuite accommodation including Complimentary Continental Breakfast with selected Hot Items, FREE Car Parking spaces for upto 120 cars. We are on Jct 5 off the M74. The Express By Holiday Inn Strathclyde is located in the Strathclyde Country park with Motherwell Food Park with Companies like Honeywell and TNT close by. Hamilton,Motherwell and Eurocentral are within 5 minutes driving distance from the Hotel. Glasgow Airport is a 25 minute drive and Edinburgh Airport is a 40 minute drive from the Hotel.The Hotel is situated within the complex of attractions, such as Strathclyde Country Park with its Watersports centre, country walks and purpose built M & D's Theme Park (open all year round with FREE entry). Other places of interest are David Livingston Centre, the Time Capsule Leisure Centre and a Golf Course just 1.5 miles away. Glasgow City Centre is just a 25 minutes drive from the Hotel and easily accessible to Gleneagles and St. Andrews Golf Courses . There is a Bar/ Lounge available for resident guests from 11am to 3am daily and 2 Meeting rooms for upto 30 people offering all audio / visual equipment and business facilities. High Speed Internet Access available throughout the Hotel ( FREE in the Lounge Area.) Sorry but we Do Not Accept Pets! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park Hotel Motherwell
Holiday Inn Express Motherwell
Holiday Inn Motherwell
Motherwell Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5 Motherwell, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing