We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a warm welcome”

The Wide Mouth Frog @ Dalziel Park Motherwell
Ranked #3 of 66 Restaurants in Motherwell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Contemporary, Gastropub
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“a warm welcome”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We first visited this restaurant for a friend's birthday meal and so enjoyed the restaurant that we booked for a lunch the following week for my husband and myself. Since then, he has been with friends from his work and I have been back several times. A good choice of menu and prices.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank lanzaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siobhanedwards, Public Relations Manager at The Wide Mouth Frog @ Dalziel Park Motherwell, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your great comments, we will pass these onto our staff. We are so glad you had a great visit and keep coming back we really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    88
    20
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wandel
Level Contributor
310 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“We'll be back”
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

3 of us rocked up at about 4pm on a Sunday and it was still busy with several large family parties. Would book ahead another time. £12.95 for 2 courses was great value, decent size portions and service was friendly and attentive. Only (very small) quibble was that my bread roll with the soup was incredibly chewy, think at least 1 and possibly 2 days old. Would have something different next time, we look forward to trying the rest of the menu...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siobhanedwards, Public Relations Manager at The Wide Mouth Frog @ Dalziel Park Motherwell, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thanks for your great comments, we are really glad you enjoyed your visit. We can’t wait to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Style Over Substance”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Wife and myself went for dinner on the Saturday night and felt disappointed with the experience. Lovely surrounding when you approach and very busy too. Although we arrived on time we had to wait, however it was a Saturday night so was not the end of the world. First impressions were that the restaurant was more geared for large family parties and all male and female nights out rather than the quiet dinner we had hoped for as the place was full of them. Food was slow although the matre d was very apologetic. starters served on silly flat slates with food falling off when brought from the kitchen. Main meals were served with no potatoes or vegetables (unless you take steak) so had to be ordered as sides. Overall i was fairly disappointed with my visit as i had expected so much more. The food was not cheap with an emphasis on style over substance. I am a regular user of restaurants in the lanarkshire area and i believe that the are many better quality and better value options than this.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JonBhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siobhanedwards, Public Relations Manager at The Wide Mouth Frog @ Dalziel Park Motherwell, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. I’m sorry that you felt disappointed with your visit to Dalziel Park on a busy Saturday night. Our restaurant caters for parties of all sizes which varies from week to week depending on the bookings. All our dishes are made fresh to order and all include potatoes and vegetables with the exception of pastas and risottos. We do, as you mention also offer a variety of side dishes which are there as an addition to any order. Here at Dalziel we pride ourselves on good quality and value, we would hope that you would come back and try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice food shame about the service”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Booked lunch after reading about this restaurant. Food was excellent and good size portions. There were 4 of us and all had different starters, prawn and chorizo, haggis Bon bons, white onion soup and scallops. All were nicely presented and flavours were great however 2 arrived and we waited another 5mins for the other starters to be served. On mains 2 of us had the duck while the other 2 members of the party had fish, 1 sea bass and 1 fish and chips. Again food was great but again 2 were served and another 5min period before the other 2 arrived. We then waited approx 20 mins for our plates to be cleared and had to ask for dessert menus. 3 of us had dessert and 1 ask for a cappuccino while we had our desserts. The cappuccino arrived however it was another 10 mins before the desserts arrived. We were asked by the waiter to comment on the lemon tart which 2 of us ordered as it was new to the menu. The filling was very good and really tangy which I like however the pastry was too thick and difficult to cut through. The other member of our party had the rhubarb and raspberry crumble which he found very tasty. When we ordered desserts 2 of us asked for double espresso's to be served after dessert but again we had to ask the waitress to bring them to us. They turned out to be Americano coffee's with an extra shot.
The restaurant could do with a manager overseeing the service as it certainly was sporadic during our visit. The staff were pleasant enough however it was evident they were under pressure on a busy afternoon.
I hope the Management review the number of staff and service offered as it let's this restaurant down when the food is so good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siobhanedwards, Public Relations Manager at The Wide Mouth Frog @ Dalziel Park Motherwell, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback with regards to your recent visit to The Wide Mouth Frog. Here at Lisini we pride ourselves on excellent customer service thus we are currently investigating this matter further. We would really appreciate it if you could email us at feedback@lisini.co.uk with your personal contact details so that we could get more information regarding your visit. . Thank you in advance for your cooperation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food, lovely restaurant”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Lovely restaurant with fantastic food. We went for Sunday lunch and the food was excellent. We had no complaints at all.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siobhanedwards, Public Relations Manager at The Wide Mouth Frog @ Dalziel Park Motherwell, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your great comments, we will pass these onto our staff. We are so glad you had a great visit and we can’t wait to welcome you back to Dalziel Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wide Mouth Frog @ Dalziel Park Motherwell also viewed

Motherwell, North Lanarkshire
Motherwell, North Lanarkshire
 
Bellshill, North Lanarkshire
 
Hamilton, South Lanarkshire
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to The Wide Mouth Frog @ Dalziel Park Motherwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing