We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out priced itself. - Overpriced for the size.”
Review of Discover Amazonia

Discover Amazonia
Reviewed December 8, 2014

This is a decent diversion if you are at M&D for other reasons.
It is overpriced for what you are getting. We went on a groupon deal, and I am glad we did , because at full price it is not good value for money. It is pretty small and the whole adventure is over in about 20-30 mins .

The animals and attractions are decent enough, but for what they are charging not worth it .
Kinda like a bag of Space invaders, for 10p totally worth it ,increase that to £1.50 and you are having a laugh.

4  Thank caribou48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"handling session"
in 21 reviews
"animal handling"
in 6 reviews
"nocturnal area"
in 6 reviews
"full price"
in 6 reviews
"arrived shortly"
in 2 reviews
"brilliant price"
in 2 reviews
"feed the fish"
in 3 reviews
"gift shop"
in 6 reviews
"youngest daughter"
in 2 reviews
"value for money"
in 6 reviews
"additional cost"
in 2 reviews
"strathclyde park"
in 5 reviews
"school holidays"
in 3 reviews
"tarantula"
in 19 reviews
"creatures"
in 13 reviews
"monkeys"
in 13 reviews
"spiders"
in 12 reviews
Filter

93 - 97 of 143 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2014

Visited here as part of a School trip and the animal handling and interactive parts kept the kids occupied for a short while but "Scotlands largest rain-forest" is actually quite small and the kids were soon bored. Disappointing there weren't any leaf cutter ants and a few empty cases and nobody spotted a single butterfly. Allow yourself little more than 1 hour as a small group to see it all and judge value for money against that!

1  Thank comfybedplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discover_Amazonia, Manager at Discover Amazonia, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2014

Thank you for sharing your views. If your visit was part of a booked school visit, we feel that our group prices are extremely good value, with the number of school booking reflecting this. For £4.20 per pupil this includes approximately an hour and a half with one of our keepers, consisting of a guided tour, an animal handling session and an Amazonia interactive session. Unfortunately the keepers do not have time to show groups every animal, so groups are then given as much free time as they want to spend within Amazonia. We have teacher resource packs on our website which often teachers will print off and bring with them so the pupils have educational activities to complete whilst visiting. Please visit the education page of our website for more details: http://www.discoveramazonia.co.uk/education

From previous feedback and the return bookings we get from schools, we feel we offer a great value for their visit. If the booking was made on the day this would have been £5.75, but would not have included a guided tour or handling session.

During winter months we have fewer butterflies breeding due to the lower light levels, which is why you wouldn’t have seen many or any on this visit. We currently have 30 Atlas moth cocoons ready to pupate though, one of the largest moths in the world, which we hope will then breed within our gardens.

Our leafcutter ant colony has recently died out and we are awaiting a new colony, hopefully arriving in January 2015. As these come over from Trinidad I am sure you can appreciate it is not a quick job to replace them!

Thank you again for your views, we rely on feedback to improve our attraction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2014

Very similar layout to butterfly world at lasswade except with no butterflies flying around, im not sure if there was meant to be any. Very hot but there are lockers at reception for jackets which is handy, animals appeared happy enough, well cared for and place was clean. Used a groupon voucher to pay for 2 kids and 2 adults definitely not worth full price not enough to see or do. My 6 year old was bored after about 20mins but we had to wait around for handling session Had to pay 50p a go for a small handfull of fish food however it is great fun feeding them, and handling sessions were £1 per person. We went an hour before closing time so it was quiet and my daughter loved handling the snake, dragon and spider and you can take photos freely, which is great. There are a numer of things to see, bats, parrots, tucan, terrapins, snakes, frogs, small monkeys which are so cute, spiders etc but as place is small you do tend to walk round it quickly and just end up going round again and again! Also as is rainforest type climate can be uncomfortably humid. The gift shop gives you some time out but as usual gifts are overpriced and some things you could pick up anywhere for much cheaper. Theres a small area for drawing and colouring in for the kids which is good and a few interactive rooms which we didnt go into, as it said need to ask reception about so i didnt know if it cost more or what. We spent about an hour there but to me this was plenty of time and was dragged out due to waiting in handling time coming round. It is what it is, and i would recommend it to someone who has never been.

Thank gemini_girl33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discover_Amazonia, Manager at Discover Amazonia, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2014

Thank you for passing on your kind comments. We would normally have butterflies flying around, but during winter months due to the lower light levels we don’t have as many. We are currently improving the gardens within Amazonia and incorporating host plants for caterpillars so that we can breed more species of South American butterflies and sustain the population. If you visit again within the next 12 months you should hopefully notice quite a few changes including the gardens, free ranging animals, a new colony of leaf cutter ants and many more butterflies! We hope you visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2014

I've never been to Amazonia, have been to M&D theme park many years ago. On a crisp November Sunday morning we decided to take the kids there. £17.50 and we were in and out in less than 20 mins. The kids enjoyed seeing the tarantuala and snakes, we paid 50p to get fish food. The rest of the park was closed down, poss for Winter. It felt like ghost town from Hallowe'en. On the walk through from the main 'reception' area there were trucks, and vans abandoned all over the place. It felt you had walked into an area you shouldn't be. Perhaps the overall place would be better in the summer, but Amazonia itself definately not worth the money. Possibly the most over-priced and poor value for money attraction I've ever been to with the kids in Glasgow. Ended up at a soft play in East Kilbride to ease their disappointment.

2  Thank leekandpotato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discover_Amazonia, Manager at Discover Amazonia, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2014

Thank you for passing on your views. We feel that Amazonia is a small but good value attraction within M & D’s theme park, considering the prices of similar attractions within the area. For the size of Amazonia, we have quite a varied collection, including bats, several monkey species, fish, many reptiles, amphibians, invertebrates and kinkajou, an animal not often seen in UK zoos. During winter months we have fewer butterflies due to the lower light levels so you may not have seen these on this visit.

Each individual’s interest varies from one person to the next, so depending on interest really depends how long you would spend in Amazonia. Often the smaller creatures are harder to spot, as they would be in the rainforest, most of them camouflaging extremely well. This is what we aim for, as the environment should replicate their in-situ environment as best as possible.
We have regular daily talks within Amazonia, where you can watch monkeys, bats and parrots being fed and learn more about them. We also have an interactive room, included in the ticket price, where families can go into a digital rainforest, learning more about the layers of the rainforest and play interactive games. This is hugely popular with families and school groups that use it.

If your visit was on a Sunday, we would have also had our snake feeding tour at 3pm, where the public can watch our snakes getting their weekly feed. This is a new tour we introduced in the summer and again is extremely popular with our visitors.

As we are a small attraction, the reason we stamp visitors hands when they enter is because we appreciate visitors won’t be spending hours at a time in Amazonia, but can come and go throughout the day and return for activities being held later on. We are currently developing the main area to include more interactive areas and more free ranging species.

As for the rest of the park, which are different departments to Amazonia, the theme park does close over the winter months and staff are in preparation for the Winter Wonderland event put on over Christmas time. Apologies if maintenance vehicles were in your way and appeared to be abandoned, but as the main park closes, winter time is the best time to get certain jobs completed.

Thank you again for leaving this review and so sorry to hear that what we offer does not meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2014 via mobile

We have visited Amazonia a few days, both with group on deals and without. It's not worth full price unfortunately. What they have is great, it just needs to be bigger and more interactive. They have a huge space within the theme park which could allow expansion.

The attraction is well maintained and they have a fair variety of creatures to look at.

They have introduced talks for some animals at certain times of the day which is good.

Handling sessions are good if you can get in a quiet one. If it's busy on a weekend it's a bit packed.

Gift shop is good, but as with all gift shops they are over priced.

I would recommend the assistants on the desk provide you with an overview of the attraction when paying as I think they just assume you have been before.

There was no fish food today when we went, this is the best part for me! I love to watch them.

There was an inflatable slide outside today with amazonia written on it, but you had to pay extra for this? We avoided it.

Overall it's good. X


1  Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Discover Amazonia also viewed

Motherwell, North Lanarkshire
Motherwell, North Lanarkshire
 

Been to Discover Amazonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing