We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“love the toby”
Review of Toby Carvery

Toby Carvery
Ranked #8 of 65 Restaurants in Motherwell
Cuisines: British, Pub, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“love the toby”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

been going here for years n even when its busy very busy the staff are great louise n Donald are brilliant always found the food very good I was in the trade myself for years and cant fault the place o n a forgot to mention Lorraine n the rest of the chefs so keep up the good work guys hope to see you all soon

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    99
    50
    35
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Poor”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I.v been going to toby for a few yrs not for the food but just for a glass of wine in the evening it was shut for a cpl of weeks for a refurb a term I will use loosely we used to sit in the corner quite comfortably ! It,s all changed small hard seats they obviously don't want people to be comfortable and just want bums on seats for a few mins ....also it's freezing hardly ever heating on I had to ask on Sunday night to have it put on. It,s ok for the carvery people but the staff in "bar" are bloody freezing as are the customers imagine having too sit with holding a cup of warm tea to warm your hands up ...honestly!!!! ....now comes the wine it's not wine it's utter crap I tried all of the dry wines i couldn't distinguish one from tuther honestly !!!!!!i love a Pinot Grigio but unfortunately the one in here has no resemblance to one..... I lave also tried to put a complaint onto the web sight but for some reason it doesn't let me hmmmm I wonder why,... Anyway guys you have lost 2 very good customers we have spent a lot of time there and got too know the staff Liegh is the best always had a smile for us as for Emma and Donald very very friendly always gave us time ... But alas we won't be back which is sad.. I would love some feed back from management but maybe that's why they won't let me onto to complain lol ....

  • Visited April 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank June37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
motherwell
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Dry meat, raw vegetables and brick hard yorkshire puddings”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Food is really not very good. OK it might be cheap, but the food should still be edible. Staff not very welcoming and very slow with drinks order

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank albundi75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Cheap & cheerful”
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

We stopped in here one Sunday evening after being able to secure a table elsewhere, by this time we were very hungry.
We had about a 10 minute edit before we were seated.
Our server didn't explain the process & we were left sitting for about 5/10 minutes debating what the procedure was - we hadn't ever been to a Toby Carvery before.

We eventually decided to get up & head to the queue of diners. I stopped a member of staff - possibly management on the way there & asked the procedure. He kindly told me what to do & asked where I was sitting.

Food - was actually ok, however they had ran out of parsnips & the gravy was low by time it was our turn. My daughter who is 11 thought it was the best dinner ever lol.

Our server never came back at all not even to take drinks but on fact managed to add the table behind us bar bill to ours!!

We overheard that the restaurant was closing that evening for a refurbishment.

I only hope they replenished some of their staff too. Can't say we are in a rush to go back. However a all in all the food was ok & the price was cheap.

Helpful?
Thank whistle4ahottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Badly managed restaurant”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We waited for 35 mins in the carvery queue, after waiting 15 mins for our table. After placing our drinks on the table which we were directed to buy, whilst we waited in the queue, they were flat following our lengthy queue time
The place was freezing, there was no organisation and no interest in the poor service we had received

Poor show

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulBai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toby Carvery also viewed

Motherwell, North Lanarkshire
 
Motherwell, North Lanarkshire
 

Been to Toby Carvery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing