We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home of the yorkshire pudding”
Review of Toby Carvery

Toby Carvery
Ranked #8 of 67 Restaurants in Motherwell
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
turn left at mars
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“home of the yorkshire pudding”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Like - Toby menu, meat is always well cooked
Disliked - Staff, they must have been washing up on day of my visit as they all appear to be elsewhere

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank onthespot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    105
    54
    36
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

If you like cheap and cheerful this is it!

You can have the Carvery lunch for only £5.99 and its fine. To be honest..its a great price for an average lunch..if this is your thing. I have been here a few times and I would describe it as ..average. Sorry but cant get enthusiastic about it!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank russell4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Breakfast buffet”
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

Wouldnt go here for dinner as I feel its just average dinner at home type food. Went for breakfast this morning though. Its all you can eat for 3.99 which seems good but there is a tea stand right at the end of the buffet and when the bill came for 2 of us it was nearly £12 total as the tea was actually charged for separately, there was nothing and no one which explained this beforehand and thats quite expensive for tea. Its self service u make your own tea and toast etc, the buffet is actually very limited, no scrambled egg black pudding lorne sausage haggis. They had not very good quality pork links, nice bacon, potato rosties stuck to the dish, a potato hash thing with bacon and cheese (probably made from last nights leftovers) which I did like lol, grilled tomatoes, fried eggs and beans. You would get a cheaper breakfast with more indivual items at a snack van and same quality of food. I burnt my hands on the serving tongs haha they were scalding under the heat lamps. I went up a few times I tried everything and had a lot of toast, bacon, fried eggs, hash thing and beans so I was well fed with things I liked but overall disappointed in what was available. I personally think theres better breakfasts to be had at many local snack vans lol where the tea will be included in the price and youl get a roll with it and maybe toast too plus more of a variety and none of them as dear. Shame

Helpful?
5 Thank JMCHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scot in sussex
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“average”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Typical Toby Carvery. Fast food at cheap prices. Wish some of the staff wouldnt be so loud spoils the meal. The meat on offer was great, but veg were cold. All in all not bad

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank swiftymags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“GREAT SERVICE”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Been for lunch on Saturday 25th January had a great meal but must say the service once again from Donald is second to none he certainly goes the extra mile to make to feel so welcome. We were there this time with my mother in law and sister in law and he made there meal out lovely and relaxed. He must be a much valued member of staff. Thanks Donald we had a great meal see you again soon. Rhona and John

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RHONA645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toby Carvery also viewed

Hamilton, South Lanarkshire
 
Motherwell, North Lanarkshire
Hamilton, South Lanarkshire
 
Bothwell, South Lanarkshire
 

Been to Toby Carvery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing