We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Largs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tigh-An-Struan Guest House
Ranked #9 of 24 Largs B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

My recent stay at Tigh An Struan was a delight! Fantastic location, short walk to town, the waterfront and train station. Scrumptious full breakfast included, YUM! Spotlessly clean, bright, comfortable rooms. And last but not least, a lovely hostess who made us feel right at home...truly, I didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    14
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
19
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Will be back kids loved it wish we could have stayed longer. Pica was friendly and welcoming. Train station on doorstep and close to town and ferry terminal for cumbrae. Rooms all modern freshly painted clean nice view of the stream outside.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigshazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for an overnight stay as part of our wedding anniversary celebrations this year. Fabulous light and airy room, comfortable bed, great breakfast and wonderful company at breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Evelyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Am a retired teacher. Had been to Scotland before, but not to Southwest. Around March, began to search the Internet, and settled on Largs because of its former role as a seaside resort for Glasgow and its vicinity to a number of Scottish islands. Read some reviews and settled on Tigh an Struan. I said to myself: "If only half of what I hear is true, then Pica and her Guest House must be truly outstanding." I have a teacher friend in Rome, with whom I had worked there, who would truly love to get away from the summer heat of Rome. He agreed to visit Largs with me for two weeks, and so I got in touch with Pica. The rest is history. What a wonderful welcome! My friend Fergus not able to fly in to Prestwick until after midnight. No trouble to Pica who arranged a local taxi. The two single rooms were ideal - lovely and clean, nice en suite, modern flat TV, nice views. etc. But Pica was the real treasure - nothing was too much trouble. Dietary needs were wonderfully catered for, tourist information regarding trips to Glasgow, Ayr, Isles of Cumbrae, Bute and Arran, supplied in great detail, with plenty of personal tips about getting the most out of our visits. The B&B is ideally central, yet sufficiently quiet. Each morning was a pleasure to come down to a more than adequate breakfast, full Scottish or any variations we wished for. Pica was always solicitous for our daily trips, and each evening was always there to find out how we had fared. My friend fegus returned to Rome rejuvenated, and I returned to Dublin almost suffering from home-sickness. Would love to return in the future. God bless Pica, her family and staff. Love and thanks from your two Irish friends.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front have lovely sea views, but even the ones at the back that open onto the railway s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Had a lovely stay here for three nights at the end of April. Pica, the owner, is a delightful lady; when she's not cheerfully trying to encourage you to eat more for breakfast you can hear her singing melodies through in the kitchen to brighten the day. The room was clean and airy and the bed comfortable - there was a heater too so you can keep it as warm as you like. Less than two minutes walk from the station or town centre, but no noise even with the windows open (I could hear the stream though it was so quiet at the front). I will certainly make it my first choice when I'm next in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ce1tic_Rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunoon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Had a really nice over night stay here. The owners are really welcoming and helpful. The room was clean, spacious and well laid out. The breakfast in the morning was filling and set me up for the day ahead. Would recommend staying here. Thank you for your help.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philippa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Warm, friendly, great location and the owner is just wonderful. Really interested in you not just as a guest but as a person. I stayed in January and when I needed to stay in the area again in March it was a no-brainer that I would stay at Tigh-An-Struan. Can't recommend this B&B enough. Rooms warm, comfy and the breakfasts are heroic.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 268MatthewF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Largs hotels
0.3 mi away
Brisbane House Hotel
0.9 mi away
Willowbank Hotel
Willowbank Hotel
#2 of 3 in Largs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.1 mi away
St Leonards Guest house
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Tigh-na-Ligh Guesthouse
0.2 mi away
The Broom Lodge
The Broom Lodge
#11 of 24 in Largs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dawn Break Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigh-An-Struan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigh-An-Struan Guest House

Property: Tigh-An-Struan Guest House
Address: 29 Gogo Street, Largs KA30 8BU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > Largs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Largs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tigh-An-Struan Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Tigh-An-Struan Guest House Largs, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing