We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tigh-An-Struan Guest House
Nearby Hotels
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$161
$136
Travelocity
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seamill Hydro(West Kilbride)(Great Value!)
$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Waterside Hotel(West Kilbride)
$135
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd(Rothesay)(Great Value!)
$104
$93
Priceline
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveler rating
65
15
1
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
65
15
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationtown centreguest househome from homeclean accommodationstayed herearriving by trainb bcereal and toastmade us feelamazing hostslovely ladyquiet streetideal locationlovely placepleasant staydelicious breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 82 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Last year I enjoyed a delightful holiday at Tigh-An-Struan and wrote a heartfelt review 'Home from Home'.

This year, I applied to return and, true to form, received the warmest of welcomes.

So this is just to say to anyone looking for wonderful hospitality from a happy, caring host who will look after you so very well, do visit this guest house. I'll bet that Tigh-An Struan, the 'Cottage by the Stream', will linger long among your most special memories of great days in beautiful Scotland.

(I'm a professional tutor/international writer).

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ian786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This B&B offers basic good clean accommodation. Our room was very cramped, as was the ensuite. Having said that we did sleep very well, as the house is in a quiet location. However there were many little DIY-type jobs that needed doing for example the room door was difficult to close, the curtain rail required attention and there were several others that really would not take much to put right. The beds and duvets were modern utilitarian but adequate. We considered that it was overpriced compared with others we have stayed in very recently. We weren't tempted to stay a second night despite a very cheerful hostess.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SuleSkerryHomestay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

If you're looking for a warm welcome to a delightful home from home only a few minutes walk from the town centre and Largs wonderful panoramic bay, do visit Tigh-An-Struan. Spotless, comfortable rooms and excellent meals are standard - as is help at every turn from your caring host, Pica.
No wonder this gem enjoys so many recommendations. The only problem is that it leaves you wondering how quickly you can arrange a return visit!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ian786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We arrived in Largs on the final night of the Viking festival. It was late afternoon and we were directed to the Tigh An Struan Guest House by a local who thought there might be a vacancy. There was not. But Mrs. Lupu went out of her way to find us accommodations elsewhere. She made at least eight phone calls on our behalf before finding a room at a very nice hotel, All the while displaying nothing but a cheerful, positive manner. If she looked after us with such care, I can only imagine the how comfortable she makes her guests. If we ever return to Largs, I will most certainly book this place in advance.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank LarryandJoAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Fabulous. Great reception, excelllent accommodation, fantastic tailor made breakfast!!! Very quick service with a smile, and the suroundings are beautiful. By far the best BnB that I have ever stayed in! And I highy recommend this place!

Andy, Newcastle-upon-tyne

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank purdy131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews