We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haus Sarn- accomodation review”
Review of Haus Saron

Haus Saron
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Largs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Haus Saron
England
1 review
“Haus Sarn- accomodation review”
Reviewed May 16, 2010

I found the accomodation eminently suitable for my needs. It gave me space to concentrte on what I needed to do. The facilities met all my needs. I would recommend this accomodation and am more than happy to use it again

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Cheshirehighlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    9
    2
    3
    7
See reviews for
14
Couples
0
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Merseyside
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We have spent a lot of time in Largs in the past but normally stay with family. This time we came en masse and brought our dogs with us. The owner, whilst perfectly polite, was hardly a shining example of Scottish hospitality. We were not made to feel very welcome and were left quite an unpleasant voicemail on our mobile telephone when we were 15 minutes late checking out. The grounds are large and pleasant but not very well kept, a little more upkeep and they could be beautiful. The owner's Doberman roams free much of the time, we, being dog lovers didn't mind, he was friendly but does bark at you nevertheless.

We stayed in the coach house. It smells of damp/musty as you enter and walk up the stairs (which are very steep). The living room was clean and tidy but it was badly decorated (a strange mixture of modern and old) and everything clashed. There is a small electric fire but we could not for the life of us figure out how to control the main heating and it was very cold in the morning. The kitchen was fine, but it wouldn't kill the owner to leave basic amenities such as tea and coffee for guests. The bathroom, again was fine, but no basic amenities such as shower gel, shampoo or even towels! These are normally provided as a matter of course in even the most basic accommodation, including self catering. The bedrooms were small and cramped, and we were not made aware that all beds were small and single.

In summary, the accommodation served its purpose but was not worth the money and we would not stay again. Other cottages may be nicer than the Coach House but the poor service and lack of basic amenities mean we wont be coming back to find out.

Anyone who hasn't visited Largs should know that its a great place, just don't stay here!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bungalow10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HausSaron, owner at Haus Saron, responded to this review, January 27, 2010
Sorry to hear this person was unhappy - we have only become aware of this review which again is the subjective viewpoint of one person

We let some 160 weeks annually at up to 80% occupancy and have a good return trade

In detail Coach house is centraly heated , well insulated and not damp - the heating is externally controlled and if it was not warm enough a simple request would have sufficed. There is also supplementary heating in the living room

We do not accept that "grounds are ..... not very well kept" see the previous reviewer who complimented us on the gardens etc. How can two people have two such different views in the one season ?


The house is freshly decorated every 2 years and the stair is very easy having a half landing

As a matter of policy we do not leave any foodstuffs from previous residents as this has been a source of complaint in the past

Again as clearly stated on our website we do not provide bath towels but are happy to do so on request . Thebathrooms has bath nats and the kitchen tea towels We offer good basic accommodation at a fair price - shampoos etc are a personal choice which most people have.

One bedroom is indeed small ( but fine for 2 singles) and the other is large - the beds are normal size single beds as decribed on the website


We are disapponted that this person did not raise any of these issues with us while they were resident - we would immediately have attended to these issues of concern

It would be more helpful to us and future clients if this was done in person and not in an unchallengeable email

Some of our other properties are independently rated 3 Star by Visit Scotland - this property iis awaiting confirmation of its 3 Star grade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Largs hotels

Stirlingshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2009

We are two Support Workers who accompanied two elderly ladies - one aged 91 and one 60 years.
We can honestly say that we really enjoyed Beech Cottage and had use of all facilities - the house was comfortable, warm and cosy we enjoyed tea in the garden and had sue of a barbeque.
The owner was very helpful - the gardens were lovely, - off the main road but very peaceful and quiet! We enjoyed our stay and would return without hesitation - we would recommend Haus Saron.
Good value for money - 5 mins into Largs - safe location - car right up to property.
Pleasant experience!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheilaStirlingshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2008

I have just come back from a week's holiday at Haus Saron (in the Coach House). In contrast to some of the other reviewers, I found it a pleasant experience. The owner was very helpful and the accommodation was fine for a family of 4 - 2 adults and 2 children aged 13. The setting is wonderfully peaceful, the garden is beautiful and the children enjoyed playing with the owner's Doberman. It's only a short walk into town.

  • Liked — The setting
  • Disliked — I found a few cobwebs and the washing-up should have been checked.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DorothyEastAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
Reviewed February 4, 2008

We stayed at Haus Haco and it was very much a "home from home" for us.

A true self catering apartment, with all the amenity you would expect of such a facility.

The well stocked book case and games cupboard was a real bonus on wet days.

The glorious central heating and hot water system certainly took the chill off those autumn mornings.

Quiet street. Comfortable, spacious rooms. Ample space for a family of four.

My Australian family loved the placemats with dictionary definitions of Scottish words.

We were very satisfied with our 5 week stay. The neighbours even took the bin out for us - can't beat that Scottish hospitality!

  • Liked — Very handy to local amenities.
  • Disliked — Incoming calls only on phone. Payphone would be better.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrisbaneB0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2007

We were to stay in the coach house and were upgraded to the beech house, souds good, however it was terrible, broken cot and unsafe highchair for my 1 year old daughter to stay in. Wobbly sockets in the wall in the hall. Disgusting musky smell as soon as you walked into the appartment. Dust everywhere, cobwebs in the rooms. and to top it all off 2 slices of bacon found under the cushion on the chair!!! (perhaps that was the upgrade!!) Would not recommend it to anyone, infact would tell people to stay well away. When we told the owners he was very dismissive about everything - told us it was all cleaned and there were no cobwebs. Terrible place do not go!!! Actually cut our holiday short and left early as it was that bad.

  • Liked — leaving it
  • Disliked — arriving at it
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
Helpful?
3 Thank edinburgh31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HausSaron, Owner at Haus Saron, responded to this review, January 26, 2008
I am afraid that these comments are untrue - the cot was not broken , there were no sockets that were unsafe, there was no musty smell and the property was clean - there may have been a few cobwebs since being in a woodland setting spiders do appear and quickly spin their webs . There are always two side to the same story .

This lady actually admitted that she left early since she was bothered with an allergy . At NO time did she raise any of these issues with us during her stay - even although we as usual made contact with her after a few days in the cottage
Again we would welcome any independent inspection of the property by trip advisor . Most of our properties are graded 3 star by Quality Assurance Visit Scotland .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2007

Booked the Coach House for a week over Christmas - it was tired and shabby. Got locked in!! Heating did not go on until 8.00am. Cooker and grill not properly cleaned not were the china or cutlery. It was a chore to ask for towels (we were there from Australia) and the whole thing was a gloomy experience. I note there are no more photos or descriptions of the Coach House on the site. We complained to the Scottish Tourist Board and the owner expressed his surprse! I suspect things have not changed. Poor lighting, saggy sofa and cramped bedrooms - would ever go there again.

  • Liked — Close to family
  • Disliked — Being locked in and having to shout on the owners to get us out!!
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IsabellaCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HausSaron, owner at Haus Saron, responded to this review, January 27, 2008
Just spotted this review written 6 months after the client's stay
The Coach House
cannot possibly be "seedy and tatty " otherwise it would not have been awarded a
3 star grade by Scottish Tourist Board/Visit Scotland Quality Assurance two months later in February 2007.

This is an independent body which actually inspects the property using trained advisors and rate it on a 5 point scale . 3 Stars is very good .

We welcome any inspection by any other body including trip advisor

There was no reason for anyone to be locked in the property - the lock mechanism was operating normally

Again we sell in the region of 4000 bed nights per year over the past 15 years in
Quality Assured Cottages with very few complaints at all .

Who is telling the
truth ?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Largs hotels
0.1 mi away
Willowbank Hotel
Willowbank Hotel
#1 of 3 in Largs
169 reviews
0.7 mi away
Brisbane House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Woodhouse Hotel
Woodhouse Hotel
#9 of 24 in Largs
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Lynegar Guest House
Lynegar Guest House
#5 of 24 in Largs
76 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Broom Lodge
The Broom Lodge
#11 of 24 in Largs
58 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tigh-na-Ligh Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haus Saron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haus Saron

Property: Haus Saron
Address: 106 Greenock Road, Largs KA30 8PG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > Largs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Largs
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Haus Saron Largs, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing