We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“50th birthday shindig”
other travelers have booked this property
front of old nunnery.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
front of old nunnery.
Old nunnery spa room Old nunnery spa - sauna and steam cabins
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
40 reviews
front of old nunnery.
Old nunnery spa room
Old nunnery spa - sauna and steam cabins
Sunset
Old Nunnery Hot tub
old nunnery hot tub
old nunnery master bedroom with super king 4 poster
old nunnery bed
old nunnery lounge
old nunnery bathroom
old nunnery bathroom with roll top bath
Old nunnery downstairs shower room, adjacent to kitchen and dining room
Annex/wee nunnery ensuite bathroom to bedroom 10. This also has a large walk in shower
Annex/wee nunnery lounge, build in blu tooth speakers
Annex/wee nunnery dining table - seats 20
Annex bedroom 12, sleeps5
old nunnery bedroom 5
Old nunnery sauna
Wee nunnery hot tub
Wee nunnery/annex internal spa area
Annex ensuite bathroom
Old nunnery bedroom 4 . Also bas double sofa bed
Old nunnery bedroom 4. King bed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
14 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 40
Largs, North Ayrshire, Ayrshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Karryc24
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“50th birthday shindig”
Reviewed March 18, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Took 19 of my friends and family to The Old Nunnery for an early 50th birthday get together. What an amazing time we all had. The house is huge and has amazing views, especially sitting in the outside hot tub. Great rooms and was told that all the beds were comfy . Especially our large 4 poster in the large room. We decided on a hot buffet for the Friday and couldn't believe Debbie and her friend prepared it fresh in the kitchen. It was delish. We had champagne afternoon tea Saturday afternoon. The men got the bus to Largs (bus stop at the bottom of the drive really handy) . We where pampered getting back massages, eating fresh sandwiches , scones n cupcakes washed down with champagne. Debbie and her friends arrived Saturday evening to prepare a 6 course dinner which again was very tasty, had to get the recipe for the chicken dish for my friend, Lorna was so helpful and extremely friendly in her emails. We all felt so relaxed after our stay the steam room was fantastic, and are thinking of any excuse to book up again. The naughty nuns round the house and decor are perfect so much character. The pool room was great for the men to hang out. Was one of the best weekends we have had for a long time. Thanks again Lorna and Debbie and the treatment girls first class!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 20, 2018
Thanks for your kind words Karen. Glad you enjoyed and look forward to hosting you again in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashleigh...
Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“50th Birthday Celebrations!”
Reviewed October 4, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We have just spent the weekend at the Wee Nunnery celebrating my Mum and Aunties 50th birthday! There was 15 of us in total - all cousins, aunts and great aunts- and every one of us had a ball!
The house is fantastic! Very modern and absolutely huge! We opted for the 6 course meal and afternoon tea with Spa treatments to make our weekend extra special, and all of them were amazing! Could not fault a thing!
I would 100% recommend for all ages! We can't wait to book up again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shantana...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Best Venue for a Hen Weekend”
Reviewed September 19, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
3
people found this review helpful

We visited The Wee Nunnery 15th September for my Hen Weekend and could not of wished for a better venue. We were amazed at how huge the smaller house is, I could not even imagine how big The Old Nunnery is. We took the karaoke down and had ourselves a Karaoke and a party, we never ended up leaving the house because it was just so amazing. The beds are extremely comfy, the Hot Tub is indoors and so so hot, the Sauna is incredible (best hangover cure). There is also a cinema room which is perfect for a karaoke with the big projector screen. We will 110% book this again for a girly weekend or even NYE. Lorna has been so helpful over the full process and has helped with all my questions and queries. Why can't we go back for the weekend !!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 20, 2017
thanks for your review Shantana. look forward to welcoming you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarahjbr0...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommend”
Reviewed September 5, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We have just had such a brilliant weekend at the wee nunnery. The house was ideal for my sister's hen party and we were so pleased with how clean, modern and well appointed everything was. Everything was so well organised in terms of the beauty treatments, afternoon tea and dinner and the food was excellent.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the wee nunnery to anyone organising a similar event.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 7, 2017
thanks for your kind words. it was a joy hosting your group. hope to see you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cs29cs
2 reviews
“Amazing hen party venue”
Reviewed October 25, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Absolutely fantastic experience both booking and staying at the old nunnery for my sister's hen do!
Lorna was a total dream answering all my questions leading up to our stay. We had 24 ladies with us but the house did not feel cramped and was a fab layout for all our guests!
The treatments arranged for the Friday were just fantastic and the little extras of the robes and flip flops helped with the hot tub in a cold October weekend!
The dinner and staff on the Saturday were again just great, joining in on the banter and ensuring our bride had the best time! They were more than happy to help sneak the butlers in and help with photos - important things for a hen weekend!! ;)

Can't recommend the venue and the team highly enough and hopefully I have another hen do/birthday/family event to organise there!

Thanks so much!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abcAJ123
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Miss”
Reviewed July 26, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We travelled here for a friend's hen weekend and couldn't have wished for a more perfect place to stay. House was beautiful, hot tub was lovely, treatments on the Friday night were very relaxing and our meal on the Saturday was excellent. Would definitely recommend this for any occasion!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 27, 2016
Thanks for taking the time to write a review . It was an absolute pleasure having your group. Hope to welcome you back at some point.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie C
Lennoxtown, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best Hen Weekend I Could Have Asked For!”
Reviewed May 24, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

On the 20th of May 2016, 17 of us travelled to The Old Nunnery for my hen weekend.
The house was magnificent from the outside. When we arrived we were welcomed by two lovely beauty therapists who treated us all the most relaxing massages. The rooms were big and spacious so you never felt as though you were on top of each other. Kitchen was large and had lots of room. Cocktail making equipment was fab. Rooms were spotless and the beds were very comfy. On the Saturday evening a chef and waitress arrived to cook and serve us all dinner. Waitress was fab and was more than happy to take group pics of us all. Meal was gorgeous and there was no complaints. Hot tub was brilliant too, with beautiful views. Overall, I genuinely could not have asked for a more perfect hen weekend from start to finish. Lorna was great to deal with and we will most definitely be back. Thank you, Melanie and her hens xxx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing