We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Miss”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Old Nunnery

front of old nunnery.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
front of old nunnery.
Old nunnery spa room Old nunnery spa - sauna and steam cabins
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
43 reviews
front of old nunnery.
Old nunnery spa room
Old nunnery spa - sauna and steam cabins
Sunset
Old Nunnery Hot tub
old nunnery hot tub
old nunnery master bedroom with super king 4 poster
old nunnery bed
old nunnery lounge
old nunnery bathroom
old nunnery bathroom with roll top bath
Old nunnery downstairs shower room, adjacent to kitchen and dining room
Annex/wee nunnery ensuite bathroom to bedroom 10. This also has a large walk in shower
Annex/wee nunnery lounge, build in blu tooth speakers
Annex/wee nunnery dining table - seats 20
Annex bedroom 12, sleeps5
old nunnery bedroom 5
Old nunnery sauna
Wee nunnery hot tub
Wee nunnery/annex internal spa area
Annex ensuite bathroom
Old nunnery bedroom 4 . Also bas double sofa bed
Old nunnery bedroom 4. King bed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
14 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 28
Largs, North Ayrshire, Ayrshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
abcAJ123
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Miss”
Reviewed July 26, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We travelled here for a friend's hen weekend and couldn't have wished for a more perfect place to stay. House was beautiful, hot tub was lovely, treatments on the Friday night were very relaxing and our meal on the Saturday was excellent. Would definitely recommend this for any occasion!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 27, 2016
Thanks for taking the time to write a review . It was an absolute pleasure having your group. Hope to welcome you back at some point.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie C
Lennoxtown, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best Hen Weekend I Could Have Asked For!”
Reviewed May 24, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

On the 20th of May 2016, 17 of us travelled to The Old Nunnery for my hen weekend.
The house was magnificent from the outside. When we arrived we were welcomed by two lovely beauty therapists who treated us all the most relaxing massages. The rooms were big and spacious so you never felt as though you were on top of each other. Kitchen was large and had lots of room. Cocktail making equipment was fab. Rooms were spotless and the beds were very comfy. On the Saturday evening a chef and waitress arrived to cook and serve us all dinner. Waitress was fab and was more than happy to take group pics of us all. Meal was gorgeous and there was no complaints. Hot tub was brilliant too, with beautiful views. Overall, I genuinely could not have asked for a more perfect hen weekend from start to finish. Lorna was great to deal with and we will most definitely be back. Thank you, Melanie and her hens xxx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOBBYBING...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great place to stay plenty of room and very comfortable”
Reviewed April 27, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

My family and I all stayed for the weekend there where fifteen of us to celebrate our golden wedding anniversary we all had a great time The only down was the dinner the on Saturday the pan fried beef was very tuff the rest was lovely

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crazycros...
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“GREAT HEN WEEKEND”
Reviewed March 5, 2016 for a stay in October 2015

A large group of us stayed at the Old Nunnery back in October for my future daughter in laws hen weekend and had an amazing time. The location is lovely, overlooking the water and we were very lucky with the weather. The two therapists were very good and, as has been mentioned, there are robes and flip flops to put on for your treatment. There is a great sized kitchen with plenty of room in the fridge for all the drinks and food – although all we had to cook was breakfast as we had a takeaway on the Friday night.

Next day most of us enjoyed the hot tub with our champagne. Later we had an afternoon tea party with lovely cakes brought by some of the fantastic bakers at the hen do. Then in the evening we got all glammed up and had our six course evening meal cooked for us – the food was lovely and served hot and on time. They even cleaned up all the dishes before leaving! After dinner the girls had arranged a buff butler… and the rest stays on tour lol!

Overall we had a fantastic time. The house is a great size and excellent value for money, in a great location and would recommend it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 6, 2016
Thank you morag for your review, much appreciated! Hope to welcome you back to the old nunnery x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moirab
bathgate
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fab Hen Weekend”
Reviewed March 4, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We stayed at the Old Nunnery in February as a group of 13 women. We had a fantastic time. We received beauty treatments on the Friday evening which were lovely and our meal on the Saturday evening was incredible (Tom & Linda were fantastic - they made everyone very relaxed and done very well dealing with a group of excited ladies and joined in with the banter too). The house is a great size with lots of amenities and although the house is big there is still a nice warm cosy feel about it. We also got the bus into Largs on Saturday afternoon - the bus stop is right at the bottom of the driveway. We decided to get a couple of taxis back after our trip to Largs as the price of the bus was crazy.

Overall I would definitely recommend staying at the Old Nunnery if you want a relaxing fun weekend and somewhere that is a little different and quirky.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everthing
Liked least: Hot tub had definitely not been cleaned before we arrived as we found 4 glasses at the bottom which was quite dangerous and the water wasnt as clear as other hot tubs I have used previously - We still used it and had a great time in it all the same.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fi82m
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hag Party”
Reviewed March 1, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We booked The Old Nunnery for our friends hen weekend. The jacuzzi, pamper sessions and meal (Tom and Linda you were awesome that night) was fantastic. Lorna was wonderful and we all had a really good time. Need to find another event to book again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dawnwilsy
Kilwinning, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!!”
Reviewed November 30, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed for a weekend for a Xmas work do. From the moment we arrived we were very impressed. The house was large, clean and spacious and had the nunnery theme throughout.
There was everything anyone could possibly need and lovely luxury touches such as Molton brown, Clairns and espa toiletries for us to use. The therapists arrived on the Friday night and we were all issued with robes and had hot stone massages followed by plenty of wine and hilarity in the hot tub! The bedrooms were cosy and beds very comfortable. The chef cooked meal on the Saturday was fab and both the chef and waitress were lovely. The views were lovely and the whole weekend was an overwhelming success, so much so we are planning to rebook for next year. The owners who live next door were very helpfu and accommodating throughout. To sum it up the house and our weekend couldn't have been any better.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing