We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic accommodation and facilities”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Old Nunnery

front of old nunnery.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
front of old nunnery.
Old nunnery spa room Old nunnery spa - sauna and steam cabins
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
41 reviews
front of old nunnery.
Old nunnery spa room
Old nunnery spa - sauna and steam cabins
Sunset
Old Nunnery Hot tub
old nunnery hot tub
old nunnery master bedroom with super king 4 poster
old nunnery bed
old nunnery lounge
old nunnery bathroom
old nunnery bathroom with roll top bath
Old nunnery downstairs shower room, adjacent to kitchen and dining room
Annex/wee nunnery ensuite bathroom to bedroom 10. This also has a large walk in shower
Annex/wee nunnery lounge, build in blu tooth speakers
Annex/wee nunnery dining table - seats 20
Annex bedroom 12, sleeps5
old nunnery bedroom 5
Old nunnery sauna
Wee nunnery hot tub
Wee nunnery/annex internal spa area
Annex ensuite bathroom
Old nunnery bedroom 4 . Also bas double sofa bed
Old nunnery bedroom 4. King bed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
14 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 28
Largs, North Ayrshire, Ayrshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AnneEastK...
East Kilbride
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic accommodation and facilities”
Reviewed May 26, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We have stayed in other large accommodation for our large family and The Old Nunnery was brilliant. The living space and bedrooms were brilliant especially the master bedroom. The facilities of the games room and hot tub made the weekend even better and was well used. It was nice that the history of the place was kept within the character that has been created. Thank you to Lorna and her staff as we had a ball.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L m
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun at the nunnery”
Reviewed May 8, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had my daughters hen weekend at the nunnery last weekend. We had the best time ever from the treatments on the Friday, the hot tub, the visit to Nardinis in our tutus to having meal cooked on the Saturday night.
If I have any criticisms (very small) it was a little more time spent in the kitchen making sure plates and utelsils are clean and open packets of food are either disposed off or stored carefully. Also good idea would be to organise the kitchen drawers as it was difficult to find things.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The homely feel with a bit of luxury.
Liked least: The cleanliness of the kitchen drawers and some cupboards
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jinglis16...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sensational”
Reviewed January 18, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Group of 12 of us for our annual Hootenanny trip, we were all very excited about our trip to The Nunnery, we were not disappointed.
The house is fantastic, spacious, large rooms, well equipped and lots of quirky references to Nuns. Lots of space in the bedrooms, those with the seaviews were very special as the views are wonderful.
Afternoon Tea all provided for our arrival was a lovely touch. Our beauty treatments were enjoyed by all, great facilities and our therapist Arlene fantastic.
We had the group meal Saturday night and chose the Scottish menu. Really appreciated that we all were able to enjoy a meal together without any of the group being missing in action in the kitchen!
The house has everything you need, kitchen well equipped for large groups although more mugs would be good! , Bar area extremely useful and well equipped too. Dining room a good size although 20 people might be a squeeze.
Hot tub in a great spot and very enjoyable. Bathrooms good, plenty of them.

If you have a dog, when leaving the drive turn left to go towards woodland walks, if you turn right its not so great as pavement for quite a while.

All in all, we really enjoyed our weekend and are presently organising to have our 2016 Hootenanny at the Old Nunnery again as the whole group loved it. Easy to get to, plenty of parking, tremendous views and lots of nice personal touches in the house. Cant wait!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: almost everything!
Liked least: hot water running out
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan T
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous weekend getaway”
Reviewed December 30, 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Wonderful home for a large group to enjoy. Overlooking the sea, with lovely bedrooms and fabulous large entertaining reception rooms. Added bonus of a hot tub - even enjoyable in the Scottish winter weather. Close to amenities in Largs, with public transport right outside the door and train services from nearby Weymss Bay. It was a great place to gather family for a pre-Christmas long weekend.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 19, 2015
Many thanks for your feedback, much appreciated. We hope to welcome you back to the Old Nunnery again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann T
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely House ,ideal for large family get togethers.”
Reviewed December 8, 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stay here Friday 5th December till Sunday 7th house lovely and perfect for our family of 19 who ranged in age from 13 months right to up to 85 years of age. Lorna and Alan were easy to deal with .Spa treatment on Friday was fab and therapits delightful ladies. The inhouse dinner on Saturday night was delicious Tom & Karen were 1st. It would be helpful if there was a large sign in garden telling you it was The Old Nunnery because it is easy to miss number in the dark. .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 19, 2015
Thanks for your feedback and glad you enjoyed your stay at the Old Nunnery. We hope to welcome you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weelewis
renfrewshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“a touch of class”
Reviewed November 29, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Had a lovely time at this lovely home enjoyed every moment dining area is beautiful and a lovely meal served to perfection..the kitchen is well equipped with everything you need.Hot tub was excellent and great fun rooms and bedding very comfortable and spotless would highly recommend this property you wont be disappointed.Thanks Lorna and Alan for your hospitality ..hope to be back sometime in thefuture

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 19, 2015
Thanks for your feedback and glad you enjoyed your stay at the Old Nunnery. Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cutiepie5...
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“sheer joy.”
Reviewed November 9, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Just spent the night here and had a fabulous time. Very welcoming and had a delicious six course meal in beautiful dining room. Outdoor hot tub with lighting and sound system was fab-u-lous!!!! Would highly, highly recommend The Old Nunnery to anyone seeking a fabulous place to stay. The owners, Lorna and Alan could not have been more welcoming and helpful and deserve to have great success in the business.
Will certainly give The Nunnery a return visit as soon as possible.

Thank you for a great weekend and all the best.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 19, 2015
many thanks for your feedback, it is much appreciated. I hope to welcome you back to the old nunnery again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing