We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brisbane House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Largs
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The receptionist was not friendly and welcoming and didn't ask if we enjoyed our stay. In fact, she wasn't really interested in us at all as we had interrupted her private phone call. We had two deluxe rooms with sea views one of which (room 103) had a view of the canopy over the entrance to the hotel therefore we struggled to see the sea! The general décor is tired with wrinkled carpets, torn wallpaper and dirty windows. The disabled parking spaces in the car park were blocked off as work was being carried out at the front of the hotel which meant we had to park further down the car park. On a good note, the breakfast was really nice and well cooked . The waiter who served us breakfast was working hard to serve everyone himself and did a great job. Not sure why it's a four star rated hotel. Would I use this hotel again? Probably not!

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get lumbered with room 103 if you want to see the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (541)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

393 - 399 of 541 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

I booked this hotel to be close to friends & because it was suppose to be the best in Largs. Supposedly 4 star. It is tired and a throw back to the sixties with it's black carpets. I booked the Executive room for its size & position over looking the sea. The room was clean and adequate but there was no safe or mini bar in the room &the free WiFi was inadequate to say the least...only available if you sat in reception. The water pressure was so low we had to use a bucket to flush the toilet & the power shower only trickled out. But the final straw for my husband & I was coming back from a long day out to find the owner had the carpets steamed cleaned whilst we were out! The carpet was completely wet and we were unable to remove our shoes and going into the tiled bathroom was dangerous. This made the room uninhabitable & the room they offered in replacement was inadequate. We had no other option but to leave. We found it bizarre that the hotel even thought about steam cleaning an occupied room carpet. The managements explanation was unacceptable. It was a blatant breach of our privacy and the contract between us & the hotel. We will not be returning & our friends have said they will no longer recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managmentLargs, General Manager at Brisbane House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Having had time to fully investigate this matter we have discovered that the carpet cleaning contractor cleaned their room in error. We apologised, offered a replacement room but the guest did not wish this. Once we discovered this error the guest was given a full refund of their 2 night stay as a tangible apology.

The hotel was refurbished by a reputable interior designer who advised us on furnishings and colours in vogue, so it certainly is not a throw back to the sixties.

We understand the guest's sentiments and can only hope that they reconsider their position and permit the hotel to try again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed here for a wedding at the end of July. Sadly feel for the price, a lot more should be done to make the hotel better. Rooms were not well looked after with mould in the bathroom. Staff seemed constantly pre-occupied and lacked the 'service with a smile' quality. That being said the wedding was lovely, more down to effort of family and friends sadly. Area lovely and beautiful views from bar and outdoor area.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TamsynW525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managmentLargs, General Manager at Brisbane House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are always pleased to receive guest feedback which helps us improve our product. The hotel is going through a staff transition and your comments will assist with our training regime.

I have passed the comments regarding housekeeping to the housekeeper and these items are being attended to

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Only stayed for one night on a business trip. 14th August. I booked on line and although I did select one adult the booking ended up for two and I was given a vary spacious room 115 to the rear of the hotel. The room was very clean and bathroom was compact but adequate (not much room to open your legs whilst sat on the toilet). My only complaint was the room was hot. although outside it was heavy rain the room was sticky hot to the extent i slept on top of the bed.

I got a breakfast deal for £80 and i could have ate double the portion. I'm not into hash browns and potato scones which once removed did not leave much on the plate. For example a recent visit to the Crown Plaza in Glasgow for the same price offered a massive breakfast buffet.

I would stay at this hotel again

Room Tip: In summer ask for one of the rooms at the front of the hotel as they have had air conditioning insta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simonbill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managmentLargs, Manager at Brisbane House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us. If only you called reception, we could have advised you that our single rooms all have air conditioning.
For future reference there is no issue or extra charge in requesting extra items on your breakfast

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed here after attending a family wedding. The hotel is lovely, the room for the ceremony, dinner and reception is the same room but looks completely different for each part of the day!
The food was delicious could not fault it at all!
I have read some reviews where people have said the staff were not pleasant, I did not experience this at all, they were polite and helpful I even ran out of battery on my phone and they charged it behind the bar in the back room for me. I was in and out a few different room including the bridal room and they were all beautiful!
Lovely hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mcgivernls89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managmentLargs, Manager at Brisbane House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, it is nice to feel all our team's hardwork is appreciated. I especially pleased that you found our staff pleasant and helpful as I feel some comments from other reviews are unjustified

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Stayed for one night in this hotel. The room was very spacious, spotlessly clean and had a great view of the sea. Had lunch on the terrace which was good value. We didn't eat at the hotel but have to say that we had some of the best cocktails we have ever had, and we have had a fair few, expertly and meticulously mixed by Jordan. Highly recommended.
There was a wedding going on which was did cause some noise into the night including some shouting in the corridors which meant we have a pretty disturbed night. But apart from that enjoyed the stay.

Stayed: August 2013
1  Thank TommoHarrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managmentLargs, Manager at Brisbane House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. Jordan has been given your feedback on his cocktails.
We try to ensure all guests staying not attending a Wedding are informed and therefore are aware and can make an informed choice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

First the faults.
Room 103 is right behind the large sign at the entrance to the hotel so to get a view of the sea you have to stand on the windowledge (technically it is actually a river view)
The main light in the room didn't work, the shaving mirror light didn't work and the wardrobe was the strangest one I have ever seen with runners for drawers that didn't exist, holes in the back of it and funny little bits of plastic just hanging about.
Now the plus's.
The room was clean, the bed was huge and really comfortable, the shower was great and the breakfasts were superb.
Overall, alright for a couple of nights but I don't think we'll be back.

Room Tip: avoid room 103 if you want a good view Possibly 102 & 104 are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fin42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managmentLargs, General Manager at Brisbane House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.
I take on board your point regarding the seaview in room 103, this is why this room is sold last for front facing. All our front facing rooms give stunning views of the Clyde Estuary which is the sea (technically or not!!)
I always wonder why some residents feel they cannot report faults such as bulbs being out during their stay when we can rectify.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Largs
0.6 mi away
Willowbank Hotel
Willowbank Hotel
#1 of 3 in Largs
187 reviews
7.8 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
1,608 reviews
18 mi away
Dalmeny Park Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#2 of 2 in West Kilbride
315 reviews
20.3 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,153 reviews
12.5 mi away
Burnhouse Manor Hotel
Burnhouse Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burnhouse
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brisbane House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisbane House Hotel

Address: Esplanade Cafe Greenock Road, Largs KA30 8NF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > Largs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Largs
Price Range: $98 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brisbane House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened 2009 - Ayrshire Luxury by the Sea. New for 2017 - Fully refurbished luxury rooms. Coming soon - Bigger restaurant, bar and guest lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Brisbane House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brisbane Hotel Largs
Brisbane House Hotel Largs, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing