We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an excellent guest house”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Largs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Northend Guest House
Ranked #2 of 24 Largs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is a beautiful place to stay, very quiet and in a lovely setting in a quiet part of town. The owners, Ray and Alison are extremely warm and friendly.
I cannot fault it. The rooms are very rooms and there is a lovely dining room for a great breakfast.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 157 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2013

From the phone call to book to the last day of my EIGHT day stay Ray and Allison could not have been more welcoming. Accommodation first class, breakfast excellent, great attention to detail and nothing too much trouble. Set at the end of a very quiet cul-de-sac with private parking in the grounds, a magnificent home from home and only a short walk to the sea. I shall certainly return with my partner and would highly recommend as a wonderful place to stay to explore the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markwDunblane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

A very warm welcome from Allison and Ray was matched by superb accommodation which is well designed, tastefully furnished and perfectly maintained; with a very generous and tasty breakfast in relaxed surroundings, to top it all. When in Largs or nearby, we will definitely be back; and readily recommend it to any fellow travellers planning to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FerdinandHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed he for one night bed and breakfast. What a beautiful place. Ray is an architect and has tastefully remodelled this bed and breakfast into a gorgeous place to stay with his partner, Alison It is Just by the sea, near Largs . If you have a sailing event at Largs Marina or are on your way over to some of the Scottish isles, then this is the bed and breakfast to stay in. Welcoming and immaculate, the owners could not do enough for us. They ran us in to town instead of us getting a taxi. The breakfast was gorgeous. We will definitely come again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are classy and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Excellent facility; We recently toured through England, Scotland and Ireland staying mainly in B&Bs. Our accommodation at Northend Guest House was the best of all the B&B's we stayed In. Everything was spot on, the rooms, the food and location. We simply could not fault it, 10/10 Ray & Allison.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim-Diana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I arrived after a long walk from Troon,( and even before I turned up I had a call from Ray offering me a lift!) Ray and Allison were very welcoming from the start of my stay to the finish. The house is bright and modern and my room was the single in the loft, again all mod cons and a nice big telly to boot! Breakfast was large and filling and I can't fault anything about my stay, keep it up!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thewalkerofthecoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Great welcome from Ray and Allison, who had been very helpful in the booking process. The rooms were spotless and comfortable, tastefully decorated with good views. The tasty breakfast was the most generous we've experienced at a B&B. And all in a quiet location. Book it!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Gooduns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Largs hotels
0.1 mi away
Tigh-na-Ligh Guesthouse
0.9 mi away
Lynegar Guest House
Lynegar Guest House
#5 of 24 in Largs
77 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dawn Break Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Brisbane House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Willowbank Hotel
Willowbank Hotel
#1 of 3 in Largs
184 reviews
1 mi away
The Broom Lodge
The Broom Lodge
#11 of 24 in Largs
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northend Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northend Guest House

Address: 22 Douglas Place, Largs KA30 8PU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > Largs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Largs
Price Range: $56 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northend is set within its own walled and hedged gardens with private parking. Having four beautifully appointed bedrooms with luxurious beds, satellite TV, free wi-fi and complimentary guest provisions, all rooms are en-suite and incorporate luxury shower enclosures. Northend offers a quiet location and relaxed stay whilst still only being a 10-15 minute walk along the promenade to the town centre. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Northend Guest House Largs, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing