We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Penruddocke Family Review” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Haylie Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Largs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Haylie Hotel
Ranked #6 of 24 Largs B&B and Inns
Hamilton, null, Bermuda
1 review
“The Penruddocke Family Review”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

The hotel was very good it was clean and a very friendly place. The Breakfast is superb and excellent, there is just too much food to chose from. The dinner was excellent with the salad dressing very good, I wish I brought one and the sizzling plates were very good as well. It was very good but it was also good because it was close to largs sailing club. Excellent Job and will come back hopefully again.

Room Tip: Installing an AC and minibar with space for the guest to put things in the fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    28
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
20
39
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed here after a friends wedding recently and I would definitely go back and highly recommend it to anyone. Our room was beautiful with the most stunning view across the Estuary. The staff that we met were all very pleasant. For breakfast there was a fantastic choice and was cooked perfectly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank countrybumkin27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had originally booked the Brisbane but it was filthy and managed to book for two nights at this super hotel. On arrival Jackie informed us there were two upstairs sea view rooms available and invited us to take a look. Both were fabulous! They were spotless,tastefully furnished with spectacular views over to the Cumbrae. We had dinner in the hotel and it was excellent. A good choice of steaks, chicken dishes and fish dishes. I had super langoustines and a tasty medium cooked steak. My wife had Camembert dish and salmon. We were so impressed we decided to stay an extra night despite the wet weather. Many thanks to Jackie and manager Alan for making our stay so enjoyable. Incidentally breakfast was also superb cooked very well by Alan himself with lots of interesting chat. The hotel sits on a busy road but is close to some great walks including Douglas Hill and Largs marina. The town centre and pier are easily accessible. We will be back !

Room Tip: Super sea views go for room 2 or 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 261Marty203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

we attended a friends wedding recently in Largs and stayed at The Haylie Hotel. The staff were fantastic and couldn't be more helpful, the room was well presented, the view was stunning and the breakfast was fantastic. We would highly recommend staying here!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gcl29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

An older property with all its ups & downs, creaky floors, sticky windows etc, but wonderfully helpful staff. Good big tv in the bedroom, loads of tea, chocolate, coffee, milk etc.Incredibly comfortable bed and a great rarity - bedside lights placed so as not disturb the other sleeper or dazzle you having a late read. TRAVELODGE TAKE NOTE!
Superb breakfast, great choice, perfectly cooked and on a HOT plate. We did not dine the evening before as we were attending a local function - but the menu looked good.
Our reception was a bit spoiled by being asked to pay on check-in - apparently some folks had done a runner. We felt this was unneccessary as our companions were treating us and they had already left their credit card details.
Great location but beware the car park is very small and meant we had to taxi to & from the marina. So avoid if like me you have mobilty problems, or try & arrange a parking spot.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Muffindog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
86 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stopped here unexpectedly on a trip along the coast. The staff were fantastic, so accommodating. The food in the restaurant was faultless and excellent value for money. We missed breakfast but the owner made sure we got some fresh orange juice before we left- again, very accommodating. We stayed in room one- brilliant sea view, comfy bed, spotless. The only negative in the room was that we only had 2 very small towels- 1 each- which meant we had to reuse damp towels after evening bath for morning shower. There is no bar in the hotel which is probably the main reason I couldn't give it 5 stars, although there is a residents lounge where you can take drinks through from the restaurant. I would definitely stay here again, very relaxed night and can't speak highly enough of the staff.

Room Tip: Room 1 had an absolutely amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debbiek37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed for one night on the bank holiday weekend. Chose the place from driving past, and found it was an expectedly fantastic choice. The room we had was a family room (double plus single). Top quality décor and furnishings, extremely comfortable beds. The staff were very friendly, helpful and flexible. We ate in the restaurant, and the quality of the meals was exceptional, with a very good range. Seafood was locally caught. Large breakfast offered. Although our room looked onto the main road and away from the sea-view, the restaurant and lounge overlook the sea, and you can eat meals looking at the view. We were made so welcome, and could use the lounge during the evening, so you don't have to just watch TV in the room. If I'm going to that area again and staying the night, I will definitely consider another stay here.

Room Tip: We had room 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Largs
1.5 mi away
Willowbank Hotel
Willowbank Hotel
#1 of 3 in Largs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.9 mi away
Brisbane House Hotel
8.2 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
#1 of 3 in Rothesay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 1 in West Kilbride
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,404 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tigh-na-Ligh Guesthouse
1.3 mi away
Woodhouse Hotel
Woodhouse Hotel
#10 of 24 in Largs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haylie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haylie Hotel

Property: Haylie Hotel
Address: Irvine Road, Largs, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > Largs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Largs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Haylie Hotel Largs, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing