We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant Hotel, Breath-taking Views”
Review of Haylie Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Largs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Haylie Hotel
Ranked #6 of 24 Largs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Clemente
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Elegant Hotel, Breath-taking Views”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed at the Haylie Hotel during our recent trip to Scotland, and it was a wonderful experience. Our room overlooked the ocean with a large bay window with two comfortable chairs and a little table. The breakfast was excellent and a bargain at 10 pounds Sterling, if I recall the price correctly. The owner is very active in managing and running the hotel, and made us feel very welcome. Definitely one of our best finds in 46 years of travel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hunterflys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    29
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
22
41
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Greenock,Scotland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

An outstanding meal served by attentive friendly staff. Really good steaks ranging from 4 oz fillet up tp 20oz "Desperate Dan" Fillet and Sirloin.
I have never before seen a waitress turn a plate round so that the fat on the gammon steak is opposite the customer in her words " so that you eat the lean meat first "
No delays in service even when extra veg was ordered when the main course was served it appeared within a minute!
If you want a special meal in great surroundings with five star service look no further !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inver75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Spent the weekend here recently. On arrival the staff member that greeted us was pleasant and showed us around the hotel before taking us to our room.
The room was clean and large enough for a family of 3. The en-suite bathroom was a little small but served its purpose. The beeakfast was excellent. The room that we were in (5) overlooked the main road and was a little noisy in the morning. The hotel is located around 5-10 minute walk to the promenade.
Positive-accommodation.
Negative- no bar. Although the hotel is licensed to sell drinks, which can be purchased.
I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shough59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonesfield
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Myself and my daughters recently found ourselves in Largs for a wedding. Pre-booked into another hotel in the area which we left upon arrival!
Luckily for us we then found the Haylie. So can't thank the hotel and staff enough for their warm welcome. A great atmosphere with friendly people and some very tasty, well cooked food. Particularly liked my breakfast on the day we left. Cooked by the owners fair hand.
We stayed in the apartment which was perfect for our time in the town. Clean and well appointed rooms and our own kitchen for tea whenever we wanted. If I get back to the area for another trip would happily stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roywferg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HUNTINGDON
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

friendly,warm staff,large room with huge tv& all the usual facilities.
superb food & generous breakfast.
all bedrooms ,the restaurant & a large comfy lounge all have stunning views of the isles.
only a 5 minute taxi ride fromthe station,right near to the golf course & marina & a 2 minute walk to the seafront for some lovely walks.

Room Tip: spend a little extra to get a room at the back to fully enjoy the stunning view aswell as to be away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearfield, Utah
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Stopped here in the late afternoon and decided to stay overnight, a nice and friendly person @ the front desk ( thank you Emilie ) who gave us the room next to the kitchen ( very noisy ) views of the "Largs Harbor" was OK but would be better if the large windows were cleaned. The room & bathroom condition was poor, only one set of towels for the two of us.
Definitely our room needed a make over to today's standard.
We had an average breakfast service.
Probably we will not stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yewtahjazzfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardrossan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I and my partner love this hotel to the extent that we only gothere on our own the food is great best for steaks but all other dishes are excellent they have a great choice of wines
the staff are so helpful and not in your face there irish coffees are a delight for finishing your meal in lounge with the beautiful veiws over the clyde cant wait to go back on saturday yum yum

Room Tip: didn't use it as hotel but the veiws are just beautiful from the lounge and meal table window s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANGELA D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Largs
0.9 mi away
Brisbane House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Willowbank Hotel
Willowbank Hotel
#1 of 3 in Largs
161 reviews
6.9 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Woodhouse Hotel
Woodhouse Hotel
#10 of 24 in Largs
87 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tigh-na-Ligh Guesthouse
0.4 mi away
Dawn Break Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haylie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haylie Hotel

Property: Haylie Hotel
Address: Irvine Road, Largs, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > Largs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Largs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family run hotel...same owners since 1989.Great seaviews and home made food.. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Haylie Hotel Largs, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing