We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful!”
Review of 16 Charles Street

16 Charles Street
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Largs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
16 Charles Street
Ranked #18 of 24 Largs B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 8, 2013

A great stay - the room was lovely, with everything you would need. Una is very kind and makes an absolutely delicious breakfast! I would definitely stay again and recommend to anyone who is planning a stay in Largs.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
There are newer reviews for 16 Charles Street
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 25 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying here for two nights while attending a friend's wedding in Fairlie. Una is a delight - and even ironed my husband's shirt for him for the wedding! Lovely en suite room, really well equipped with tea, coffee and even chocolates when we arrived - and breakfast was an absolute treat. You can't miss no 16 as you head down Charles Street ... it's the one with the beautiful garden! Definitely planning a return visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helencroxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We spent the last two days of our Scottish tour at 16 Charles Street. Una's kindness and willingness to help in any way possible was a real treat. The house is beautifully furnished, spotlessly clean, and very comfortable. Una cooked breakfast to order each morning - delicious!
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vixen22_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

A friend and myself were on a motorcycle tour of the west coast of Scotland in early April and stayed at 16 Charles street,Largs for two nights. What a find.Our hostess Una was very welcoming,friendly and a fount of local knowledge.This caused us to stay an extra night.The room was very comfortable,clean with great facilities and peaceful.
First class full Scottish breakfast to set us up for the day.Will recommend to family and friends.
Will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary_Westfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

In the process of buying our home and moving to Largs, my Husband and I have stayed with Una several times. Having lived abroad for a number of years and experiencing many cultures, Scottish hospitality takes a lot to beat! Una could not do enough for us, nothing was too much for her. Our room was cosy, the towels and bedding were lovely and fresh. Breakfast in the morning couldn't be better. We would recommend 16 Charles Street for a lovely Scottish experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phyllis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I had the pleasure of "going home" to Scotland in 2009. I stayed at 16 Charles Street for about 5 days upon arrival. Una is a warm and caring hostess with a great sense of humour - always smiling. With a muscle disability, I was challenged by the stairs, but Una's reassurance of being well looked after made my stay very pleasant. Breakfasts were fabulous. The decor, cleanliness and comfort of the room was impeccable and the shower room very accessible for me. I could have sat looking out that window in my room for days on end, listening to the wee train every hour and being wakened by the sea gulls in the morning - around 4:30 a.m. to be exact. But I did get out and about Scotland, and ended up staying with Una again the last few days of my trip. Going back there would be like "going home"! The reason this review is so late is that I had a hard time finding a review site, so I gave up (I had to mark July 2012 to get my review posted). Sorry Sandy & Una, but I hope this will encourage others to stay with you. - Kathryn

Room Tip: If you're met at the door with a smile and someone who is listening to your needs, then proceed.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Myself, my daughter and my sister stayed here for 2 nights in July for a wedding in Largs. We were made very welcome by Una on our arrival. Had a lovely breakfast both mornings, which was made fresh and how we liked it.

The bedroom was a twin with a shared bathroom. It was immaculately clean, with tea, coffee, bottled water and biscuits in the room. We had 2 x single beds and a pull out bed for my 2 year old. She slept right through which shows how comfortable it was!

Would really recommend this b&b to anyone looking to stay in largs! Just a very short stroll to seafront, town and supermarket!

Room Tip: Twin room with shared bathroom is bright, spacious and comfortable!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennyg_189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Largs hotels
0.5 mi away
Brisbane House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Lynegar Guest House
Lynegar Guest House
#5 of 24 in Largs
77 reviews
0.9 mi away
Old Rectory
Old Rectory
#10 of 24 in Largs
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
St Leonards Guest house
0.5 mi away
Haylie Hotel
Haylie Hotel
#6 of 24 in Largs
104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roberta's Guest House
Roberta's Guest House
#17 of 24 in Largs
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 16 Charles Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 16 Charles Street

Address: 16 Charles Street, Largs KA30 8HJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > Largs
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Largs
Price Range: $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are assured of a very warm welcome at our family run b and b on the beautiful ayrshire coast. We are ideally situated to explore the many delights of Ayrshire and surrounding areas. We are between two major airports,Glasgow and Prestwick and have excellent rail and bus links to both Edinburgh and Glasgow. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
16 Charles Street Largs, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing