We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Whin Park Guest House
Ranked #12 of 24 Largs B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Ian and Jennifer are the gracious and friendly hosts of this lovely respite on the coast. Within walking distance of the promonade and the shopping area, the convenient location makes this B & B a top choice. Jennifer makes breakfast a wonderful way to start the day with several choices and delivered with a smile. Many thumbs up!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gayle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
There are newer reviews for Whin Park Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 21 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

Had a lovely stay here, such a warm and friendly welcome. The room was perfect for my needs and the bed was so comfy, great for my bad back and hips.
Lovely breakfast cooked to perfection.
I look forward to coming up again next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N_walesSyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Friendly owners, comfortable beds, great breakfast and spotlessly clean - what more do you need? We stayed in the triple ensuite, which was very spacious, extremely clean and comfortable. The location is convenient and there is on and off street parking at the property. The owner was a lovely friendly lady and we were impressed with the breakfast on offer - french toast and maple syrup was beyond my expectations - and the personal service. Only downside was the shower, which is weak and takes a while to heat up, but no big deal for us as we were there for a short stay. Recommended.

Room Tip: Triple ensuite has a king size bed and single bed in it's own space in the eaves, lots of space...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Infrequentvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Had a one night stay last weekend and we thought everything was exactly as it should be. Room was lovely, spotlessly clean and the breakfast was more than adequate and varied. I certainly wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place to relatives and/or friends and would use again without any hesitation.

Room Tip: We had Room 4 which was perfect for our needs.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

A bit dated but who cares if the quality of location, service and food makes up for that.

Great location just minutes from promenade. Rooms very small but well appointed, clean and good facilities. Stair access must be very difficult for anyone with a large case. Hostess tray quantity of teas, coffees etc very good and having fresh milk a great idea if only very small quantities available but I assume that asking for more would not be a problem as owners very nice and friendly.

We thought the toiletries were poor. Shampoo is very harsh.

Breakfast was disappointing. Good selection of fruits and cereals etc.Fresh fruit salad looks as if it is bought in but it was quite good. Nice home made bread. Smoked salmon was just OK, (I own smokehouses so I am always careful not to be overcritical of other people's smoked salmon) scrambled eggs were really nice and fluffy without being watery.

The fried breakfast was particularly disappointing. Poor quality bacon and sausage (Largs has an multi award winning butcher too). Black pudding was OK. Fried egg overcooked verging on hard (the way it goes if lying in the hot fat too long) with puddles of oil sitting on it, potato scone was really terrible - doughy, tasteless and soggy - simply awful. I would be embarassed if I had served that breakfast to someone. I have been in the hospitality busines so always have sympathy for hoteliers and B&B owners but breakfast was really poor. If my wife had not been there I would have sent it back but she doesn't like a fuss.

I was trying to think of a word to sum up Whin Park and its 'adequate' and that's all. And that is a pity because it could have been so much better and deserves to be because of the friendliness of the owners. The friendliness however does not make up for its shortcomings

There are better (by a long way) and cheaper (much better value for money) B&B's in Largs.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ryp15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Whin Park. There's parking allegedly for two cars offroad but they'd both have to be fairly small. Nevertheless, there's plenty of room on the broad road outside.

There's a nice guest lounge as the room we had wasn't exactly spacious but ample. As others have said, there's fresh milk in a fridge on the landing for your morning tea and coffee and our hostess made excellent breakfasts. She was also very welcoming and chatty without being too over the top.

The room was fine - caught in a bit of a time warp, especially the bathroom, but comfortable with good quality bedding.

Our only issue was the noise proofing. As you come upstairs (all bedrooms are upstairs) there are three rooms to your left and they must only have thin partitioning walls. No issue if everyone is aware and considerate and we had no problem on the first evening. On the second night, however, we had the snorer from hell next door and that put paid to any sleep from 3am onwards. It was awful. Not the proprietors' fault but enough to put us off in future.

There is another room, room 1, to the right of the stairs. I'm not sure how that room is made up but I'd advise trying to get that one - or bring good earplugs, just in case!

Room Tip: Try for room 1
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hotel Harry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We stayed one night with our teenage daughter and we had one double and one (single occupancy) twin room. Both rooms were well appointed, with en-suite facilities complete with fluffy towels and toiletries such as you would get in a 4* hotel. Fresh milk in a refrigerator on the landing (serving all four rooms) is a great idea and definitely improves the quality of tea/coffee which can be made in each room. Wardrobe space would be limited for a long stay, but no problem for us. My wife and i didn't watch the in-room television, although our daughter did watch a late film from her bed so that was obviously a success too!
Breakfast was superb and set us up for the whole day. A wide choice of options including beautifully fresh cooked bacon, eggs etc. as well as fruit, yogurt, cereals and toast. The toast you cook yourself so you can have it warm/cold when you want it: I like this idea rather than having it delivered at the start of the meal for it to go cold.
Ian and Jennifer Henderson were both very pleasant hosts, making us feel welcome. We would be very happy to stay again,

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VandP2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Largs hotels
0.4 mi away
Brisbane House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Willowbank Hotel
Willowbank Hotel
#1 of 3 in Largs
174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Woodhouse Hotel
Woodhouse Hotel
#9 of 24 in Largs
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tigh-na-Ligh Guesthouse
0.7 mi away
St Leonards Guest house
0.1 mi away
The Queen's Hotel
The Queen's Hotel
#14 of 24 in Largs
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whin Park Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whin Park Guest House

Address: 16 Douglas Street, Largs KA30 8PS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > Largs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Largs
Price Range: $97 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Whin Park Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whin Prak is a 4 Star Guest House offering excellent quality Bed & Breakfast. The bedrooms, 2 Doubles, 1 Twin & 1 single all en-suite and on the first floor come well equipped with quality toiletries and towels, hospitality tray,TV, hairdryer and ironing facilities. Excellent choice at breakfast. It is just a short walk to the promenade and the town centre which has a wide choice of restaurants, cafes,bars and shops. Parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Whin Park Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whin Park Guest House Largs, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing