We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good starter for my adventure in Scotland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
St Leonards Guest house
Ranked #3 of 24 Largs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Largs, United Kingdom
1 review
“A good starter for my adventure in Scotland”
Reviewed April 27, 2011

After relocating to Scotland for a new job position I spent a week at St Leonards Guest House. Everybody knows the feeling when you leave behind your country, your city, and your loved ones; well, believe it or not these few days really contributed to appease my melancholy.The beautiful house located in central town you cannot avoid looking at when you walk in the street , the room comfortable and nicely furnished, and the moment I awaited with pleasure: breakfast. We Italians are quite fanatical about coffee and that one was a good starter for the day. I still use to pass by St. Leonard on my way shopping and I remember with a feeling of nostalgia that lovely days.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andreametallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    36
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
113
20
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

I was able to obtain a booking at short notice apparently due to a late cancellation. This was a big bonus as the St Leonards was ideal in almost every department. Mary and John were very welcoming and helpful and I was soon at ease with the place. I was there for two nights to see my son who was playing hockey at the nearby Bational Sports Centre. I have no hesitation in recommending this guest house and would book again if I was at Largs in the future.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2011

Mary was accommodating and welcoming. I would have no hesitation staying there again. The room although small was clean and well presented. More importantly the atmosphere was really friendly and Mary (and her sister) could not do enough for her guests! Exceptional customer service!!! 5 out of 5

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meenacarwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leyland
1 review
Reviewed March 1, 2011

very friendly and wellcoming guest house. rooms are spacious,clean and well appointed.shower room clean and modern.beds are comfortable and sheets clean.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeylandLajos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stranraer, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2011

Very friendly, excellent breakfast. Your own key to come and go as you please with a separate entrance. Supermarket across the road. No hesitation in recommending Mary and John's brilliant service. Thank You.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denis04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2011

As I was visiting Largs with my wife for a social occasion we decided to stay overnight, From checking in to the moment we left we were afforded first class service and attention to detail that would have put many highly rated hotels to shame from our warm and friendly hosts Mary and John. All we can say is Thank you it made for a wonderful time

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavyGibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 17, 2010

The twin room was perfectly satisfactory, clean and well looked after. A, good Scottish breakfast, pleasant hospitality from Owner and very central to everything. I have no hesitation in receommending this venue. The only small thing was that the shower room was perhaps a little on the small side.
M Paterson

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Braesidde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Largs
0.4 mi away
Brisbane House Hotel
1.0 mi away
Willowbank Hotel
Willowbank Hotel
#1 of 3 in Largs
169 reviews
7.4 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Tigh-na-Ligh Guesthouse
0.1 mi away
Lynegar Guest House
Lynegar Guest House
#5 of 24 in Largs
76 reviews
0.8 mi away
Woodhouse Hotel
Woodhouse Hotel
#9 of 24 in Largs
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Leonards Guest house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Leonards Guest house

Property: St Leonards Guest house
Address: 9 Irvine Road, Largs KA30 8JP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > Largs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Largs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — St Leonards Guest house 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Leonards Guest house is situated only a few minutes walk from the beautiful seaside town of Largs with the ferry terminal to the Island of Cumbrae and the railway station to Glasgow very nearby.We have off road parking and free Wi-fi. Tv,Tea and coffee in all rooms. Special diets catered for.Prices from £28 pppn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your St Leonards Guest house reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Leonards Guest House Largs, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing