We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The highlight of our holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Green Shutters

Green Shutters
Ranked #3 of 3 Dessert in Largs
Cuisines: British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The highlight of our holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Green Shutters is the highlight of our holiday, we never eat anywhere else as the food is wonderful and the atmosphere just perfect for our family, also grandma can't resist the knickerbocker glory !!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    47
    27
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A touch of warmth on a cold November night.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Enjoyed a great meal at the Green Shutters, choice of 'High Tea' through to a la Carte and specials. Went for the Cullen Sink - tasty and thick, lemon sole with chips; my partner had antipasti, lasagne - generous helping with garlic, wine, coffee and liqueurs - great value at £39.00 for two and on a SATURDAY NIGHT. Staff were attentive and kind without being overbearing. The rain was lashing down outside but the Green Shutters was warm and welcoming.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“'So cosy here'.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Had beautiful fillet steak here, this evening, 23rd. October. As good as, if not better, than London Steak Houses! Is 8oz too! So many are just 5oz! Really nice, cosy atmosphere - especially with ferries going back and forth, across water, over to Millport - with lights sparkling on the water - is lovely. Just gotta have that Nardini ice cream - is the 'original' stuff. Brought up n it! My Gran used to say you could 'live on it'! Enjoy!!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bargafruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Could do better...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Having previously enjoyed coffee and cake here on more than a few occasions, we decided to try the high tea menu. Given how busy this place is at tea time (apologies for the Glasgow colloquialism) we had high expectations.

Service is always efficient and friendly here, but on this occasion we feel the food was fair, as opposed to good value, and probably the same in terms of quality. Breaded haddock was definitely on the small side, macaroni cheese was not restaurant quality. Ice-cream was top notch, but overall we felt a bit disappointed. Maybe we made a bad choice, other diners had steak pie which looked first class, gammon steak also looked like a good portion.

We would come back certainly for the first class coffee and cake, not so sure about coming for our 'tea'. The jury is still out.......

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Glasgowcrofter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A little disappointing :(”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Another trip to Largs, another usual summer's day with sideways rain! Read some great reviews of this place on here so thought we'd give it a try on an aborted walk along the prom due to the weather! Nothing terribly wrong with it but not overly impressed either. Service although friendly was a bit slow, took almost 15 mins for two coffees to warm us up. Food also took a while to arrive and although everything tasted ok it didn't live up to some of it's reviews, we felt that the portions were very small for the price and the price was pretty high for basic food. Far from the best place to eat in Largs in our opinion, try Tony Macaronis or Lounge!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Shutters also viewed

Largs, North Ayrshire
Largs, North Ayrshire
 
Largs, North Ayrshire
Largs, North Ayrshire
 
Largs, North Ayrshire
Largs, North Ayrshire
 

Been to Green Shutters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing