We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carlton Seamill B & B
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Me and sister both stayed at this lovely, cute B&B. we were both attending a wedding at the hotel next door and the room rates were super expensive.cartlon seamill was good value for money and it included a delicious breakfast.the rooms were spacious and the owner was a pleasure to talk to.i would definitely recommend this B&B to my friends and would definitely go back =)

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 102 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013

If Victoriana is your love please visit this lovely b& b. Avril will give you a very warm welcome and the Scottish breakfast is excellent. We can recommend the Drummond Room with its Victorian bed. Everything about this property is original and long may it stay that way.

Room Tip: The Drummond room overlooks the garden with extending coastal views to Arran, stunning at dawn and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 506KAJ5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed here for May bank holiday and had a fantastic stay, we took our dog along and we were made to feel very welcome. Love the originality! And hope it never changes, the owner was very friendly and accommodating and recommended fantastic places to visit. I would very strongly recommend this B and B to anyone.

Room Tip: Beautiful views of the Clyde available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I ´ve been there with a girlfriend for one night. The view to Arran was spectacular and Avril, the owner was very kind! She made a rich breakfast and took time to talk to us. She also gave good insider informations what it is worth to visit in Scotland. These are the best informations from local area you can get. Thank you, Avril for this wonderful hospitality! Beatrice and Christian

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klappskalli W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is a great place to stay if you like the personal touch, a lovely traditional B&B experience.

The breakfast was tremendous and was a real pleasure to use the antique cutlery/utensils which have great heritage.

We stayed to attend a wedding nearby at the (far more expensive and less accomadating Seamill Hydro) and found the owner was very chatty, friendly and welcoming and the location was second to none (right on the waterfront).

Will most definitely return after a unique, pleasurable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I’m not sure how to start this review, it had so many positives and negatives, all depending on how you look at things.

We felt like we were staying at a distant eccentric aunts place. The owner is lovely and helpful, but lives alone and wants to chat! Great if that’s what you want from a holiday but bad if you just want a room and some breakfast.

The owner has help with the cleaning and maintenance of the home. But they are not there 24-7 and this leads to some problems as the owner has limited abilities.

The house is lovely and has a heap of character but could do with some maintenance. The location is lovely and is located at the waterfront. The bathroom could be cleaner and its shared. The shower was terrible with no pressure.

The house and rooms are filled with antiques and personal memorabilia. Again this is good or bad depending on what you want, some could say it was filled with clutter and junk and others say a lovely personal touch worlds away from the faceless soulless accommodation chains.

The breakfast was fine but was provided much later than the time requested and the owner joins you.

We have rated this accommodation poor as it wasn’t to our personal liking but if you want a home full of character and a host who is more than just accommodation and you like a chat then this could be the place for you.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We were provided with a warm welcome and interesting conversation by Avril at the Carlton Seamill. Avril was very attentive and the cooked Scottish breakfast was tremendous. The house is very interesting and is in original condition and the view out to Arran is captivating.
The beach is at the end of the garden and Avril allowed us to take our small well behaved dog Bramble who had a great time too.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stamaheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Kilbride
0.2 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
1,543 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#2 of 2 in West Kilbride
287 reviews
3.8 mi away
Lauriston Hotel
Lauriston Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardrossan
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
8.4 mi away
Willowbank Hotel
Willowbank Hotel
#1 of 3 in Largs
176 reviews
10.1 mi away
Gailes Restaurant and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Seamill B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Seamill B & B

Address: 53 Ardrossan Road | Seamill, West Kilbride KA23 9NE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > West Kilbride
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in West Kilbride
Price Range: $79 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlton Seamill B & B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Carlton Seamill B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Seamill B & B West Kilbride, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing