We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5* family guest house”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Carlton Seamill B & B
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights and have to what a great big house this is , everything is original in the house with the rooms having personal heirlooms in them it makes Your stay feel like staying with a family member, kind of like going to stay at your aunties house as a kid and not just staying at a b&b ,I was made to feel welcome from the minute I stepped in the door and was looked after as if I were a part of the family the room was great and with a view to die for , I felt really comfortable here and was looked after by avril the owner who couldn't of been anymore helpfull ,as soon as arrived I was asked if I needed anything or wanted any help even to the point of getting offered a run into town instead of booking a taxi ,this that wouldn't ever happen if I was staying at just a b&b , I have seen the other reviews on here that put the place down and have to say that they are very much in the wrong if you are looking for just a boring cheap room with a view of a brick wall out the window for the night try a premier inn or something but if you are looking to stay somewhere with a bit of character then this is the place it's a very Kool big old house with loads of original features with one the best views I have ever seen plus the very helpfull and Kool chick avril running the place it's defo a place to stay

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a view of Arran
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philipmckinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 102 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2012

Seamill... what a brilliant base for seeing the sights! West Kilbride itself is a gem.Go to Portencross, over to Arran, up to Largs. A short train ride to Glasgow if you like cities. Drive down to Girvan if you want country. Try Dailly or Barmill for rural peace and quiet. Do the whole coast run up to Gourock and then come back via Lochwinnoch for coastline and rural Renfrewshire including RSPB reserve. So much to do in a neglected corner of Scotland. you can even do the whole Burns thing if that's your bag.
This B&B is the perfect place to stay. Reasonably priced, nice old house and very nice landlady. Makes a change from the impersonal hotel clones.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 120Liz120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

What a lovely wee break we just had for 2 nights at Carlton. It's a beautiful old house. Yes... it's OLD!!!!! Not pretend old but actually old. The house is a wonderful example of Victorian building and is furnished with family heirlooms and bits and pieces galore from the turn of the century and later. It really feels like stepping back to spend a while with the Edwardians beside the sea.
We wonder if the owner has ever thought of hosting a murder mystery weekend as it would be a perfect setting?
Comfortable, roomy twin room. Electric blankets much appreciated in this season! Great breakfast served in a fantastic dining room.
Lovely hostess who made sure we had everything we could possibly need.

Room Tip: We stayed in the twin room but we saw the double room and it is just gorgeous with amazing views acr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ezblair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

I stayed here for three nights and found Carlton Seamill to be a classic home stay Bed and Breakfast venue. The house itself is a rare example of individuality, full of quirky details and precious antiques. The hostess, Avril, is a delightful treasure who brings kindness and generosity, as well as a range of breakfast options, to the experience. Add to all this the fantastic views of the Isle of Arran, the ever-changing seascape and the beachside location and your stay will be magical. I want to return.

Room Tip: Bay-windowed room had outstanding views and plenty of space, period furniture
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Funny all the reviews I could find were in French. I know the owner speaks french and probably put the reviews on herself. This place is dire to be avoided at all costs. One shared bathroom and not clean. Hairs in bath. Breakfast was OK but have had better. Faded splendour is all that can be said for this. Now we look for ensuite and this is not ensuite. We were at a wedding at the Hydro and thought we could save some money. There is saving and slumming.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AyrshireXanadu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We have stayed here before about 18 month, then it had some bad reviews but we thourght we would give it a go loving shaby chic and things then were just ok but worth it for the fabulous views. On returning to Seamills last weekend there was a definate smell of urine about the house as we entered, when we got to our room the smell was just as strong so we went out for some fresh air. Avril still has a cleaner but obviously there are issues here. don't even ask about the shared bathroom DISGUSTING. The smell is was so bad that it left a scent on our clothes when we left, and the smell on the bedding was so strong that we both thought that someone had wet themseves in it.

Room Tip: Rooms in another B&B
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tobylarone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This was our second visit,and thoroughly enjoyed it.Avril is very helpful and cannot do enough to help.It should be remembered when staying that this is also a home.Excellent for walks along the beach,and some great eating places around.Also cosy rooms.

Room Tip: Try to get the room with the view of Arran.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Kilbride
0.2 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
1,543 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#2 of 2 in West Kilbride
287 reviews
3.8 mi away
Lauriston Hotel
Lauriston Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardrossan
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
8.4 mi away
Willowbank Hotel
Willowbank Hotel
#1 of 3 in Largs
176 reviews
10.1 mi away
Gailes Restaurant and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Seamill B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Seamill B & B

Address: 53 Ardrossan Road | Seamill, West Kilbride KA23 9NE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > West Kilbride
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in West Kilbride
Price Range: $79 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlton Seamill B & B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Carlton Seamill B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Seamill B & B West Kilbride, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing