We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveler rating
37
29
7
7
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
37
29
7
7
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsattending a weddingvictorian housenext morninga lovely staycyrilarranclydefurnishingsvenue
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 108 reviews
Reviewed December 24, 2012

What a lovely wee break we just had for 2 nights at Carlton. It's a beautiful old house. Yes... it's OLD!!!!! Not pretend old but actually old. The house is a wonderful example of Victorian building and is furnished with family heirlooms and bits and pieces galore from the turn of the century and later. It really feels like stepping back to spend a while with the Edwardians beside the sea.
We wonder if the owner has ever thought of hosting a murder mystery weekend as it would be a perfect setting?
Comfortable, roomy twin room. Electric blankets much appreciated in this season! Great breakfast served in a fantastic dining room.
Lovely hostess who made sure we had everything we could possibly need.

Room Tip: We stayed in the twin room but we saw the double room and it is just gorgeous with amazing views across to Arran... except for the wild stormy sea far enough away to be pretty and near enough to feel!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ezblair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

I stayed here for three nights and found Carlton Seamill to be a classic home stay Bed and Breakfast venue. The house itself is a rare example of individuality, full of quirky details and precious antiques. The hostess, Avril, is a delightful treasure who brings kindness and generosity, as well as a range of breakfast options, to the experience. Add to all this the fantastic views of the Isle of Arran, the ever-changing seascape and the beachside location and your stay will be magical. I want to return.

Room Tip: Bay-windowed room had outstanding views and plenty of space, period furniture
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Funny all the reviews I could find were in French. I know the owner speaks french and probably put the reviews on herself. This place is dire to be avoided at all costs. One shared bathroom and not clean. Hairs in bath. Breakfast was OK but have had better. Faded splendour is all that can be said for this. Now we look for ensuite and this is not ensuite. We were at a wedding at the Hydro and thought we could save some money. There is saving and slumming.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AyrshireXanadu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We have stayed here before about 18 month, then it had some bad reviews but we thourght we would give it a go loving shaby chic and things then were just ok but worth it for the fabulous views. On returning to Seamills last weekend there was a definate smell of urine about the house as we entered, when we got to our room the smell was just as strong so we went out for some fresh air. Avril still has a cleaner but obviously there are issues here. don't even ask about the shared bathroom DISGUSTING. The smell is was so bad that it left a scent on our clothes when we left, and the smell on the bedding was so strong that we both thought that someone had wet themseves in it.

Room Tip: Rooms in another B&B
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tobylarone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This was our second visit,and thoroughly enjoyed it.Avril is very helpful and cannot do enough to help.It should be remembered when staying that this is also a home.Excellent for walks along the beach,and some great eating places around.Also cosy rooms.

Room Tip: Try to get the room with the view of Arran.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews