We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveler rating
37
29
7
7
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
37
29
7
7
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsattending a weddingvictorian housenext morninga lovely staycyrilarranclydefurnishingsvenue
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 108 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We have stayed here before about 18 month, then it had some bad reviews but we thourght we would give it a go loving shaby chic and things then were just ok but worth it for the fabulous views. On returning to Seamills last weekend there was a definate smell of urine about the house as we entered, when we got to our room the smell was just as strong so we went out for some fresh air. Avril still has a cleaner but obviously there are issues here. don't even ask about the shared bathroom DISGUSTING. The smell is was so bad that it left a scent on our clothes when we left, and the smell on the bedding was so strong that we both thought that someone had wet themseves in it.

Room Tip: Rooms in another B&B
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tobylarone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This was our second visit,and thoroughly enjoyed it.Avril is very helpful and cannot do enough to help.It should be remembered when staying that this is also a home.Excellent for walks along the beach,and some great eating places around.Also cosy rooms.

Room Tip: Try to get the room with the view of Arran.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Warm and very welcoming from a lovely lady. This remarkable location boasts one of the best treasures to be found in accommodation. The house full of character with interesting stories to match, just take the time to ask Avril and the house becomes alive with generational history and a lifetime of memories, A lovely step back in time and a glimps of a time gone by. Well done Avril keep up the good work, we will be back. Marc & Sandy

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m_d_nixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our one-night stay at Carlton Seamill. We were attending a wedding and Avril was kind enough to allow us to check-in at 12.30. This enabled us to let the dog settle-in, have a coffee then get changed to go to the Hydro for the wedding. We were given a key to minimise any late-night disturbance. After a comfortable night we enjoyed a large Scottish breakfast. Throughout our stay Avril Rennie, the owner, did all she could to make sure we had all we needed and was happy to tell us all about the house, which is in the traditional Edwardian style. (The dining room table and chairs came from Eglinton Castle!) This was a true bed and breakfast experience. Staying in someone`s house that has a story to tell!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Stayed at the Carlton on an overnight stay.found it quite by accident,was on the first night of my honeymoon and the campervan me and my wife had hired and picked up in prestwick had overheated and we needed somewhere to stay.we were greeted by a most overwhelming lady obviously private school educated.AVRIL turned out to be the hostess with the mostest.when she realised it was our honeymoon she delayed showing us to her best room for 20 mins as she told us the cleaner was in the room.avril at her best was only delaying us as she had instructed the local florist to decorate the room with fresh flowers and had the bed covered in fresh orchids (what a lady ) we spent most of the night in the company of AVRIL who indulged us with many of her life's stories and experiences .we had to drag ourselves away from her aw inspiring stories after two bottles of her finest wine .from the Carltons own wine cellar.we climbed the 10 stairs to our room and felt as if we had just climbed WALLACES MONUMENT. HONEYMOON OFF TILL TOMMOROW EVENING woke up the next morn after a very comfortable night in the queen size bed.AVRIL had put on a buffet fit for a king for breakfast .mechanic appeared and fixed campervan and we left on our merry way.Many thanks to AVRIL for our aw inspiring stay at the Carlton

Room Tip: Ask for honeymoon suite
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank butcherEastKilbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews