We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Seamill Hydro(West Kilbride)(Great Value!)
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of $116/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Waterside Hotel(West Kilbride)
$150
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$117
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lauriston Hotel(Ardrossan)
$69
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$113
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$141
$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveler rating
36
28
7
7
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
36
28
7
7
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsattending a weddingnext morninga lovely staycyrilarranclydefurnishingsvenue
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 106 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our one-night stay at Carlton Seamill. We were attending a wedding and Avril was kind enough to allow us to check-in at 12.30. This enabled us to let the dog settle-in, have a coffee then get changed to go to the Hydro for the wedding. We were given a key to minimise any late-night disturbance. After a comfortable night we enjoyed a large Scottish breakfast. Throughout our stay Avril Rennie, the owner, did all she could to make sure we had all we needed and was happy to tell us all about the house, which is in the traditional Edwardian style. (The dining room table and chairs came from Eglinton Castle!) This was a true bed and breakfast experience. Staying in someone`s house that has a story to tell!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Stayed at the Carlton on an overnight stay.found it quite by accident,was on the first night of my honeymoon and the campervan me and my wife had hired and picked up in prestwick had overheated and we needed somewhere to stay.we were greeted by a most overwhelming lady obviously private school educated.AVRIL turned out to be the hostess with the mostest.when she realised it was our honeymoon she delayed showing us to her best room for 20 mins as she told us the cleaner was in the room.avril at her best was only delaying us as she had instructed the local florist to decorate the room with fresh flowers and had the bed covered in fresh orchids (what a lady ) we spent most of the night in the company of AVRIL who indulged us with many of her life's stories and experiences .we had to drag ourselves away from her aw inspiring stories after two bottles of her finest wine .from the Carltons own wine cellar.we climbed the 10 stairs to our room and felt as if we had just climbed WALLACES MONUMENT. HONEYMOON OFF TILL TOMMOROW EVENING woke up the next morn after a very comfortable night in the queen size bed.AVRIL had put on a buffet fit for a king for breakfast .mechanic appeared and fixed campervan and we left on our merry way.Many thanks to AVRIL for our aw inspiring stay at the Carlton

Room Tip: Ask for honeymoon suite
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank butcherEastKilbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

please do yourself and the owner a favour, go somewhere else. this lady all be it very welcoming but she is no longer fit or healthy enough to run a guest house. i really felt sorry for her position in trying to carry on the b&b. on saying that i feel it is unfair not to let unsuspecting tourists or visitors to the area know that you are sharing an old house worn carpets,cracked sinks, personal toiletries in the bathroom, beds well past there best , very strong smell of damp and other things, on the surface the room looked clean but i never went looking as i know by the owners physical and personal condition there is no way beds are pulled out etc. i wasnt there long enough to see if bedding or towels get changed. the owner waits up for you coming in at 1am, locks the door so that you have to wait for her to come down to let you in ,then proceeds to put your pillow slips on as you stand and wait 1 am?? once again i feel sorry for her but she really should not be allowed to charge for the service she provides in her and the houses present condition. she is trying to hold on to her past and charging people to allow her to carry on. i think it is time she stepped back and let someone in to take over the guest house side of things and retired to the lower level of the house and room only would be fairer on the owner and paying public. you have been warned

Room Tip: pay the extra and book the hydro
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank j h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Great location for both the view and the close proximity for any event at the Hydro. The house is wonderful - full of character and Avril is an attentive host. Breakfast was filling and tasty. Recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

I had to go the Seamill Hydro for a wedding, and stayed at this B&B one night. Decoration of the room was really nice, and full of details. Like being at home. A vintage home, but at home :-) I took continental breakfast, and Avril just try to improve the Scottish experience bu having locl products in the table. She is also a great person, with whom you can have a nice and interesting chat.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank miguel angel a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews