We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely House and surroundings.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carlton Seamill B & B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carlton Seamill B & B
Kilwinning
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely House and surroundings.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

This house is full of character,Set in beautiful surroundings with absolutely stunning views.Avril was the perfect host very pleasant and extremely helpful.It has a very homely feel to it which made our stay all the more pleasant,and we will definately be back.We have visited numerous B and Bs in the surrounding area and this has got be our favourite.Thank you for a wonderful stay,

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view over Arran
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    24
    7
    7
    26
See reviews for
15
48
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
doncaster
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

lovely victorian house with homely atmosphere. like going back in time lovely welocme and tales of the house. nice veiws of garden and sea. very enjoyable breakfast dogs made to feel welcome and loadsof room for them

Room Tip: lovely nice room like going back in time with lovely atmosphere
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christopher l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

A comfortable family home, well-stocked with antiques and memorabilia. Our bedroom had an interesting selection of books and fabulous sea views. We were given a freindly welcome by Avril who joined us for breakfast and kept us entertained with the history of the house. The views are absolutely amazing and there's a lovely walk along the coast right from the bottom of the garden. Excellent value for money

Room Tip: Make sure you have a sea view!
See more room tips
Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank gillphilshrops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somewhere in England
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2011

Going to the Carlton Seamill was like stepping pack in time to the 50's, but that made the stay a little more interesting. Our room had shelves full of books of all kinds, including 'AA Handbook 1936'!! An antique radio was another interesting feature and surprisingly it still worked. The bathroom was the area of adventure as the handle came off the toilet. Fortunately I always carry a silver coin, ball of twine and a multiplex knife so I was able to get the handle to work after a fashion, although it would need a part replacing in order that it would be in full working order. Hopefully this has been done now.
The beds were not the most comfortable I could not sleep well, however this may have been because it was very warm.
I found the location and grounds of the Carlton Seamill to be excellent. Very nice to be able to walk out of the garden onto the grass behind the beach where there were loads of rabbits.
The breakfast was very good, plenty of choices of 'preserves', more than we saw at any of the other places we stayed on our Scottish trip. At breakfast he owner started talking to me and the choice of subjects was perhaps not the most tactful, politics. She also seemed to want to know everythig about me, but then I am an adept in saying something without revealling all. So I found the owner, Avril, to be a little eccentric but still overall quite pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Purrinian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

House needs upgrading,enjoyed feeling of past era.Nice personal touch would go back & would certainly recommend.Enjoyed talk with owner.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank nina k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed at this beautiful Victorian House on Saturday 13th August for one night and what a lovely welcoming house it is. The antiques and pieces are fit for any stately home and the views and gardens are just perfect. The icing on the cake was of course breakfast in the very informal dining room, drinking tea out of china cups with utensils and coffee/tea pots in Silver. Terrific conversation with the articulate and interesting hostess made for a very rare occurrence. Twin room was comfortable especially with price at only £30 pp for bed/breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

We spent a very comfortable night at this welcoming B & B. It is a guest house not a hotel and Avri,l the owner, gave us a personal and very warm welcome to her home. The house itself overlooks the water and there is very easy access from the garden onto the River Clyde and paths along the shore. The view across to the Isle of Arran is really lovely.

The facilities suited our needs very well. Tea & coffee could be made in the room with a TV available should the weather take a turn for the worst (always possible on the west coast). Avril took the trouble to ensure we each had a breakfast that suited our individual appetites and with fruit juices, cereals, tea/coffee, toast & preserves there was sufficient to ensure anyone's hunger was well satisfied.

Our bedroom was spacious and we were lucky enough to have a view of the river and Arran from our window, which had Victorian period, working shutters to add to the authenticity which is a large part of the house's attraction. The shared bathroom facilities may not suit everyone but for price, warmth of welcome and catering this B & B would be hard to beat.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ArthurT82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Kilbride
0.2 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
3.8 mi away
Lauriston Hotel
Lauriston Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardrossan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#2 of 2 in West Kilbride
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Brisbane House Hotel
13.3 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#3 of 4 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Seamill B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Seamill B & B

Property: Carlton Seamill B & B
Address: 53 Ardrossan Road | Seamill, West Kilbride KA23 9NE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > West Kilbride
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in West Kilbride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlton Seamill B & B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Carlton Seamill B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Seamill B & B West Kilbride, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing