We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect break”
Review of Seamill Hydro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Seamill Hydro
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in West Kilbride
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect break”
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic hotel, beautiful location and very friendly and helpful staff especially Amanda in the hotel restaurant. The facilities were fantastic. My children enjoyed playing in the lovely safe playpark in the grounds of the hotel. The food in the Orangery was second to none with a fantastic children's menu. Will definitely be back. ...thanks for a lovely break.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    777
    386
    180
    85
    66
See reviews for
410
546
19
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

My daughter and I booked a last minute Spa break and were not disappointed. Our room had been refurbished and was very comfortable. Decor was contemporary and although we did not have a seaview room we were very happy with what we had. The room was warm and quiet and overlooking a flat roof but as we were staying one night it was fine. The treatments that we received from the spa were lovely and the staff were very professional and friendly. This was a highlight! We would definitely return for a massage and facial.
We chose to dine in the Aura Bar which had a reasonably varied menu and the atmosphere was informal. All the dished were reasonably priced and we enjoyed the strawberry cocktails! The food was hot and plentiful and again the staff were helpful, friendly and attentive. We chose not to have dessert but were very tempted with the large choices.
After a restful sleep we returned to the Aura for breakfast. There was plenty to choose from, cereal, toast, fruit, yoghurts and juices. We also had a cooked breakfast with all that you could wish for of expect. It was very tasty, hot and again served with smile. The staff were very busy but again very attentive and helpful.
All in all a great wee break and we would definitely return!

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rem2226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We have just stayed for two nights and stayed in a suite in the new wing. The room was large and comfortable with superb views over the Clyde to Ailsa Craig. The biggest disappointment was te shower, a large separate enclosure, far better than over the bath, but no water pressure. There is no lift in the new wing so had to lug the case up two floors - not suitable for people with mobility problems.
A noticeable point is that there is no light pollution, so much so that the curtains were just a heavy net type which were more than enough!
Breakfasts very good with a good choice. We did not want a meal on the first night so tried to eat in the bar area. Signage misleading as it only stated from 5pm, but when w tried to order just after 9pm were told they had stopped serving and go to the main restaurant which we said we did not want to do. As a result the hotel missed out on revenue for two meals ad drinks. The following night we were part of an organised group and the meal was excellent.
This hotel has very good facilities with superb views and makes an ideal base for visiting the surrounding area and islands.

Room Tip: A sea view is a must. Avoid the rooms in the old wing as they are tired.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidctc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is our 2nd time to seamill and it was as fantastic as the 1st time. We had a refurbished double room with seaview. The room was beautiful and extremely clean. Im very fussy when it comes to cleanliness and could not find any in our room. The staff at reception are very courteous and helpful. Lovely welcoming smiles and friendliness, was great to see staff that wanted to make our stay excellent. The orangery restaurant, what can i say , the chef 10 out of 10 food was amazing, and waiting staff very attentive. We finished our night in the aura bar and once again staff friendly and was a lovely atmosphere. Breakfast was included in price and great variety hot and cold. All in all , our stay was amazing, so much so we ve booked again for a 2 night stay in february. Can not recommend this hotel enough, the location is great , hotel is beautiful a great break from everyday life. Only thing i would say is when booking a room make sure it is refurbished, the old rooms are not nice at all but the hotel are in process of updating them all .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandyg9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Better late than never - Got married here May 2013 and I cannot fault a single thing. Before the big day there was a little hiccup with one of the bars being closed for refurbishment, the staff could not have been more accommodating and quickly sorted another space for us to use which turned out better than we could have dreamed off - along with complimentary drinks and canopies for our guests (and this was the night before) On the big day our faith was in Martin as he MC'd throughout and kept the day flowing and guests happy. Staff were all lovely and even came out in procession when we sang happy birthday to a 1 yr old guest. There were no complaints from our 97 strong wedding party about the food as it was served all together, hot and was high quality and large portions (honestly the best wedding food I have ever had). The food was restaurant quality rather than function quality. Seamill Hydro were accommodating to our elderly family, wheelchair users as well as our piper, band etc. We did not have to worry about a thing on the day, everything was taken care of for us.
All in all the 3 star rating for this hotel does not do it justice. With beautiful scenery and wonderful, friendly accommodating staff it is a perfect wedding venue and we have no worries recommending it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alida6foota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

As the title says, had my wedding here and it went really good. Great food great service and good price for what I got. The price for drinks and extras was a bit steep but all in all a nice experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank big_friendly_ginge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Had a great 2 night stay at Seamill, stayed in one of the suites which was very spacious. Had dinner both nights in the Orangery which I would highly recommend, and the cocktails in the bar were fab. Enjoyed the swimming pool and sauna/steam room. Found all the facilities superb and would not hesitate to recommend to anyone, hope to return for another short break soon.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lazydays121-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Kilbride
13.5 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,059 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#2 of 2 in West Kilbride
262 reviews
13.9 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
2,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Brisbane House Hotel
9.8 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
8.3 mi away
Willowbank Hotel
Willowbank Hotel
#1 of 3 in Largs
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seamill Hydro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seamill Hydro

Property: Seamill Hydro
Address: 39 Ardrossan Road, West Kilbride KA23 9ND, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > West Kilbride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in West Kilbride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seamill Hydro 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, HRS, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Seamill Hydro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seamill Hydro West Kilbride, Scotland
Hydro Seamill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing