We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Seamill Hydro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Seamill Hydro
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in West Kilbride
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Just back from Seamill Hydro what a fantastic hotel the staff food and facilities are great. Very friendly staff. The room we had had great views out to sea, with a massive bed a sofa bed and a separate room with two bunk beds. Very big room for what we paid for the three of us, my wife and four year old son. The spa was also great with a good sized pool. The only thing that was a slight issue was the size of the changing rooms in the spa a bit cramped when busy. Over all brill hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davidmacdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,562)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,026 - 1,032 of 1,562 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

I and my husband stayed in this hotel for ours 4th wedding anniversary. We had a suite 103. nice, refurbished, decorated with good taste. no seaview, but that didn`t really matter for us. the beach is 1minute walk from the hotel. we had delicious, nicely served on the plate dinner in the orangery restaurant. Stefanie is so nice girl, friendly, always smiling and so helpful and caring. also in the aura bar the service was nice where we had a wee drink. the swimming pool area is clean, well kept. the seiling is fabulous. breakfast served very quickly, nice and fresh, plenty of choice, generally we found people being so nice and friendly. we will come back there for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 96annaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HydroManager, Guest Relations Manager at Seamill Hydro, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you you for your 5 star kind review, and adding photos along with this allowing future guests to share in your experience.

Feedback is most important to us and it is great to read such a fantastic fabulous overnight stay review.

We hope you visit us again very soon.

Kind regards
Claire Palmer
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Seamill Hydro is great value for money. The facilities are superb, the staff are friendly and helpful and the ambience created is something to be proud of. This was my first stay at Seamill and given some of the reviews I'd read I admit I was ready to be sceptical, but generally my expectations were exceeded.
The suite with a sea view on the first floor was newly decorated, bright and very clean with a great en suite, but a little lacking in personality - quite bland and generic. I'll never understand why there is a kids play area plonked in front of this annex....there's a mile of beech where they can go and play and the 5 star view is wrecked by this play area, but then it is a very family focused hotel and the play area is very busy, on my return I'll just make sure my view is not that of the play park!
The Aura bar served some lovely cocktails, we had some tapas there, which on the whole were good apart from the potato wedges disguised as patatas bravas. The Orangery's food offerings were a delight! From a club sandwich in the afternoon to the dinner menu in the evening - everything in this restaurant was perfection. I have to say in both the Orangery and Aura the staff seemed work very hard indeed and they are very customer focused which is refreshing.
The beach deserves a mention, it's glorious, beautiful in all weather! All in all a relaxing stay, great pool and sauna and we will return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissBliss2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Really nice hotel. The upgraded areas are lovely and you can tell the hotel management are working hard, in difficult financial times, to modernise all facilities. Very clean, friendly and welcoming. The food in both the Orangery and Aura was lovely but I felt the menus were a little restricted and I am not a fussy eater. Breakfast was excellent! Maybe a few more options rather than just 1 style of chicken dish, 1 style of beef dish etc. Would highly recommend. Reception staff were fab as were the porters. Manager Norman checked us out and was very pleasant and was genuinely interested in what guests had to say- lovely man!

Room Tip: Request an updated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarmarisLover1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We had come a day early as our last hotel was so bad. Not a problem but had to upgrade to a suite. Well worth it. Only downside was walking up 2 flights of stairs. We had a small living room with TV and extra bed if required and a desk. A hallway with another desk and beverage making facilities. A large bathroom with a bath and a separate walk in shower with a heated floor. The bedroom looked out over the car park but did have the advantage of having the sun in the morning. There was another TV in the bedroom and another desk. The bed was really comfortable. The first night we had dinner in the bar which was quite good but it was even better in the Orangery. Shame they did not have any mussels that were on the menu but the fishcake I had as an alternative was good. The breakfast is taken in the bar area and although busy the staff were very efficient. It made a change to have a glass container of orange juice on the table rather than being limited to one small glass. Other hotels please note. The range of buffet products were very good and a good cooked breakfast was also available. Did not try the extensive spa facilities due to lack of time but did inspect them. They looked very popular.

Room Tip: If you can afford a suite then do so as well worth it but you have to walk up the stairs if on the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Astontraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Fantastic hotel, rooms spotless, staff brilliant in particular Megan C who served us a beautiful meal in the Orangery. Megan's manor and approach to her work was exceptional, she is a true asset to this Hotel. Leisure facilities were clean and first class. Stunning setting, beautiful food and a great nights sleep, will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJLMCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our Sunday lunch at the Orangery. Compared to my last review the service was much improved and the staff were more attentive.I would like to thank Claire Palmer, Guest Relations Manager for contacting me, apologizing and remedying the situation.
We hope to return many times in the future as it is in beautiful location on the Ayrshire coast with lovely views to Arran

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 900dizzielizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Kilbride
0.8 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#2 of 2 in West Kilbride
293 reviews
13.9 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#1 of 3 in Brodick
3,748 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Brisbane House Hotel
9.8 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
3.9 mi away
Lauriston Hotel
Lauriston Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardrossan
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seamill Hydro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seamill Hydro

Address: 39 Ardrossan Road, West Kilbride KA23 9ND, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > West Kilbride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in West Kilbride
Price Range: $104 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Seamill Hydro 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Seamill Hydro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seamill Hydro West Kilbride, Scotland
Hydro Seamill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing