We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The horse in a one horse town”
Review of Seamill Hydro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Seamill Hydro
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in West Kilbride
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“The horse in a one horse town”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed at the Hydro on a special offer deal. The place is plush and our room was very nice.Mega size bed which was reasonably cumfy.We stayed during poor weather so didn't enjoy the coastal scenery as much as if we'd had good weather.
Unfortunately coastal beauty seems to be the only thing Seamill has(well it does have the remnants of a seamill).There's nothing in the way of nice pubs nearby but the Hydro was very good for meals and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brenord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    765
    380
    177
    83
    64
See reviews for
397
537
18
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Group of us had a fantastic night at the Seamill Hydro ABBA tribute night. Lovely meal with great service. As always, the plate of dessert minis was to die for!
The band were good and the dance floor was packed all night.
Many thanks to the staff at Seamill for another great night.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank dkirkuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HydroManager, Guest Relations Manager at Seamill Hydro, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. Our Abba night was a great success, the feedback from guests including yourself shows everyone had a great night. Our tribute nights prove to be very popular, and both staff and management look forward to these nights. Please keep an eye on the website for future dates.

We look forward to welcoming you back to hopefully another tribute night.

Kind regards
Claire Palmer
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed at Seamill Hydro to be near my parents when my mother was in her last days. Staff were very attentive and sympathetic to our needs. Our suite was lovely, well decorated and furnished, a large flat screen tv and a huge en-suite bathroom. We had an uninterrupted sea view.
The food served in the Aura bar was very good and the service was excellent. Breakfasts were good too - continental buffet and choice of cooked breakfasts.

Room Tip: Our room faced the sea and the view was beautiful but there was a storm and this made the room very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirlB56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HydroManager, Guest Relations Manager at Seamill Hydro, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review, I am pleased to read you were able to enjoy the view hotel offers from your bedroom. Our staff take pride in the service they provide and I am happy this was delivered to you throughout your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Claire Palmer
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is a lovely hotel with fantastic facilities. The rooms were comfortable and the staff friendly. There is a great swimming pool with sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. The staff in the beauty salon were great; a relaxing way to spend a morning is swim, sauna etc. followed by a beauty treatment.

The food was lovely and the whole experience is enhanced with the location. Looking out over the sea and sand while you sip a glass of wine is recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HydroManager, Guest Relations Manager at Seamill Hydro, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words.

We are very proud of our wonderful location and on a clear day the view is spectacular. I am pleased to read you were able to enjoy the facilities we have to offer, I hope you will revist us again as we continue to develop our hotel and spa facilites.

Kind regards
Claire Palmer
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I recently took a drive and ended up at the Seamill Hydro for some lunch. We ate in the Orangery restaurant and I have to say I was very impressed the lunch was lovely and there was plenty of it for the money definitely great value. We sat in a very comfortable sofa overlooking the sea which just made it so nice. The staff were so friendly and helpful and even gave my husband extra bits of shortbread with his pot of tea. I would definitely recommend the orangery restaurant and also the hotel itself lovley staff and great location. Thank you .

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Staci S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HydroManager, Guest Relations Manager at Seamill Hydro, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. I am pleased to read you both enjoyed your experience in the Orangery, I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future and allow us the opportunity to spoil your husband again with our homemade shortbread.

Kind regards
Claire Palmer
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

recently stayed at the hydro for the eigth year and the hotel is lovely wuth stunning views but i do think the prices are expensive especially if you have a few kids and the restuarant wasnt cheap either....had a bad exprience in the resturant on the second night when i was given a peice of chicken that had blood inside. i returned it but couldnt wait for another meal to be cooked as my kids were in the kids club which was closing soon so i just ordered soup but was disapointed no manager came and apologised for the food and no money was taken off my meal for the inconvience. this has put me off going back in the near future. apart from that it was a good hotel and good fun stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clare l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HydroManager, Guest Relations Manager at Seamill Hydro, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay.

We were disappointed to read about your experience in the restaurant the second evening, this is not our normal standard as you will see from previous reviews. However your comments have been passed on to both the Executive Chef and Restaurant Manager. Please accept their sincere apologies for this inconvenience.

I am pleased to read that the views we have to offer from the hotel were very much enjoyed and you did not let the experience of the restuarant damper your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Claire Palmer
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2013

My mum and I had a Spa indulgence day at Seamill Hydro Hotel on 9/4/13. We had an excellent time and the service was first class. The staff were welcoming and attentive Lunch in the Orangery Restaurant was great too with good fresh made food and good service. Plus a stunning sea view.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolineM260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HydroManager, Guest Relations Manager at Seamill Hydro, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for you lovely feedback, we are pleased to read your spa day at the Seamill Hydro was a great sucess and hope you return in the near future for some more pampering, keep a look out on our website for offers and promotions and the development of our new thermal spa experince.

Kind regards
Claire Palmer
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Kilbride
13.5 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,046 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#2 of 2 in West Kilbride
253 reviews
13.9 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
2,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Brisbane House Hotel
9.8 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
8.3 mi away
Willowbank Hotel
Willowbank Hotel
#1 of 3 in Largs
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seamill Hydro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seamill Hydro

Property: Seamill Hydro
Address: 39 Ardrossan Road, West Kilbride KA23 9ND, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > West Kilbride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in West Kilbride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Seamill Hydro 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HRS, LateRooms, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Seamill Hydro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seamill Hydro West Kilbride, Scotland
Hydro Seamill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing