We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Groupon deal was a bit of a con but gorgeous hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Seamill Hydro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Seamill Hydro
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in West Kilbride
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Groupon deal was a bit of a con but gorgeous hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel on 5/4/13 amd were very impressed by the high standard decor, it was a lovely place to be. The rooms were clean but the tables were not wiped in the bar area - i know this because we had dinner on the Friday and then breakfast on the Saturday and the same marks remained on the table from one day to the next. Staff were friendly enough, bar was quite pricey but bar food was not. We were £30 for 8 tapas between us which I thought was good - although £8 for two drinks, not so much. We bought a groupon deal for 1 nights stay including breakfast for £80 but when we called to book, we were only able to stay in a sea view room on the available Fridays (and this comes in at £15 extra, even though I wasnt bothered about a sea view) OR if you stay on a Saturday, you have to pay a £20 supplement - Meaning that my £80 deal was now costing me minimum of £95. Cant say that impressed me too much.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicoleb222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    747
    370
    169
    81
    64
See reviews for
386
520
16
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is excellent for various activities both inside and outside. It caters for children as well as their parents. We particularly enjoyed the food. There are 3 restaurants and the food was better than excellent in each. The staff could not have been more attentive and pleasant. The view from the hotel is staggering - straight out to sea - the River Clyde with all its islands. Try a walk along the beach, you'll never forget the experience.
We were here before last Christmas and the gardens behind the hotel were full of games and funfair for the children with appropriate music and Santa giving out presents. Now this visit with sunshine and snow on the hills, will try again during the summer.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel looks into gardens and out to sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScotlandAliCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr Scotland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We attended the Seamill Hydro for our friends wedding last week. The hotel is beautiful with stunning views. Our friends were lucky to have a beautiful sunny day and I'm sure the pics will be gorgeous with the amazing backdrop. The staff were fantastic, canopes were delicious, and the wedding meal was the best I've ever had at a wedding!! We didn't stay overnight so can't comment on the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellagirl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saltcoats
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

We ate in the Aura bar last night with friends and the food was first class. We shared several tapas as starters which were all totally delicious and then the mains even more so. The decor is magnificent and the staff very friendly. Will definitely be back !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lochwoodfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We bought a groupon to stay here for one night, we were very impressed with the hotel from the moment we arrived,reception staff were very friendly, room was nicely decorated. The leisure facilities were excellent. We ate in the bar and the food was gorgeous,as was the breakfast. Definitely will return

Only minor grumble, we heard a drilling noise every so often during the night which we put down to lift

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sadiek55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Just back from a delicious lunch in the Orangery restaurant situated within the hotel. As a bank holiday treat for my Mum I decided to book a table at the Orangery as I knew I'd be assured of great food and friendly service. This time I used the online booking service which was quick and easy to use. There was a comments section where I specified a table at the window. The restaurant overlooks a lawn that runs down to the beach, We enjoyed a fabulous view of Arran. Starters were imaginative and not your usual suspects. I opted for the cheese, potato, egg and bacon salad and Mum tried the Cullen skink. Portions were good and ingredients fresh and tasty. For our second course we both went for the Po' boy ciabatta this is a light dish consisting of breaded haddock gourjons on a ciabatta roll spread with homemade tartare sauce. Served with a crisp side salad and crisps I urge anyone to try this dish. We were too full for desserts but looked on in envy as the next table tucked into scones with jam and cream and some spectacular chocolate sundaes. Value for money was good with our bill coming to less than £30 which included drinks. Last but not least our waitress, although very busy smiled and came back to check everything was ok. I didn't catch her name but I'm sure she has a Birmingham accent. We will return soon, thanks Hydro.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AyrshireAyrshireLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at seamill hydro as a trial nights b&b and to have a meeting to discuss wedding packages. We had lunch before our meeting with the general manager and were very impressed by the food, and the value for money. The service was prompt and very friendly, so we were eager to see what wedding packages they had on offer. The general manager, Norman, was so friendly and welcoming, he immediately made us feel at ease. He talked us through what the hotel has to offer and then took us on a tour of the hotel, the different function rooms and the facilities. We were very impressed, but explained that we had one more venue to look at before making our decision. After spending the night in a suite that can sleep 4 and overlooks the sea, we went to breakfast, which was just as enjoyable as the food we had the previous day. Norman greeted us good morning and asked how we found the room, which we thought to be a nice touch. Everyone was friendly without being too 'in your face' and the hotel has a very family feel to it. Consequently, we decided not to bother visiting the other venue we had in mind and proceeded to book our wedding at seamill for April next year. We are so happy and excited and are looking forward to bringing our friends and family to such a beautiful venue to celebrate our special day with us. Can't wait!!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Inbetweener33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HydroManager, Guest Relations Manager at Seamill Hydro, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to hear that after spending a night at the hotel you have decided to let us share your special day. Norman, who has been part of the hotel for over 16 years takes great pride in deliverig a service that is remembered for years to come by many guests. I am glad this was appreciated by you both during your stay. I am sure your family and friends will feel the same after they visit to celebrate your marriage here at the Seamill Hydro.

We look forward to sharing more memories with you both in the near furture.

Kind regards
Claire Palmer
Guest Realtions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Kilbride
13.5 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#4 of 6 in Troon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,006 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#2 of 2 in West Kilbride
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
13.9 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#3 of 4 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Brisbane House Hotel
3.9 mi away
Lauriston Hotel
Lauriston Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardrossan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
14.7 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
5.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seamill Hydro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seamill Hydro

Property: Seamill Hydro
Address: 39 Ardrossan Road, West Kilbride KA23 9ND, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > West Kilbride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in West Kilbride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seamill Hydro 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, HRS, Agoda, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Seamill Hydro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seamill Hydro West Kilbride, Scotland
Hydro Seamill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing