We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed our stay”
Review of Seamill Hydro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Seamill Hydro
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in West Kilbride
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We spent one night here and really enjoyed ourselves. Room was nice but a bit on the old fashioned side, could have been doing with a refresh and the floor boards creeked like mad. But apart from that it was really enjoyable. Food was lovely, we had lunch and dinner in the Orangerie, but if you fancied Tapas you could have eaten in the Aurora bar. The staff in the spa were excellent and made you feel really at home. Lovely views from restaurant. Staff were very efficient. Overall really nice hotel and would definately recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the more modern part of the hotel, no creeking floor board to keep you awake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,567)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,148 - 1,154 of 1,567 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

Went here on a groupon deal arrived at reception no one there stood for several minutes before someone came out of office to book us in (even although they seen us throught the glass door) room not ready went into bar for a drink waitress got that wrong. Room okay nice bottle of prosecco awaits unfortunately one of the glasses had lipstick on the rim! Dinner at 5.50pm as orangery very busy. Food was okay nothing great I had meatballs which were a bit tough hubby had fish which he enjoyed. Asked for bill given wrong one! Went for a swim which was most relaxing and the pool was quite quiet.
Breakfast just usual hotel breaky but hubby asked for no mushrooms with full breakfast and guess what yes he got mushrooms no tomatoes or haggis how can people get a simple thing so wrong!
Overall nice hotel bad staff!

Room Tip: Ask fo a refurbished room as some as really mincy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Having spent one night at the hotel I did read a few reviews before going and was slightly concerned... No need to be though.
To make it clear I am very fussy traveler and could find only a few minor faults in the hotel.

We stayed in a renovated room which was great so can't comment on the older rooms. We didn't bother paying for the upgrade sea view - wouldn't have seen much with the weather anyway. The room was a good size so was the bathroom. The bed was a little too firm for my liking but still had a great sleep on it with plenty of pillows! There isn't a fridge in the room which was a bit annoying! Nice size tv in the room, and a good iron/trouser press, plenty of wardrobe space. I am a light sleeper so did hear the persons upstairs wake up at 0600 they seemed a bit heavy footed that didn't help.

We ate in the aura lounge bar so that we could watch the football. The nacho's for two where great, we also had a pizza between us the meatballs where a bit tasteless but it was fine. The thing I did find strange in the bar was that a Grey Goose and coke cost the same as a Disaranno and coke! The staff serving that night seemed pretty bored and not enthusiastic at all smiling does help when it comes to customer service!!

Apart from that the next morning the cleaners where really nice and asking if everything was okay and if we enjoyed our stay. Same goes for reception who where great giving directions for the local shops as I'd left hairbrush at home! So not all staff had a dour attitude!

The swimming pool was fine steam room/sauna where busy though and the gym equipment was varied some very modern weights machines which where brilliant.. but the bikes seemed older than me! Still it did it's job! The jacuzzi was either not working or broken as seemed colder than the pool. Nice comfy loungers to the side to relax after the steam room though.

Although we didn't use them.. the football pitch/basketball/tennis courts looked ideal and in the summer no doubt would have been busy.

It might seem like a few negatives I have picked up but we did enjoy our stay and will no doubt return!

Room Tip: ask for one of the renovated rooms!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Totally average hotel let down by inept, poorly trained and ill mannered staff.

Ridiculous delay first of all to be seated then served at breakafst on a day when the hotel loooked to be quiet.

No internet access in the room. Apparently it had been switched off and no answer from reception phone.

For £165 per night this place is the worst value hotel I have even stayed in.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Special birthday celebration at Seamill Hydro was first class. Refurbished accommodation was spacious and clean, room had great views across to Arran. Dinner on both nights in the Orangery Restaurant excellent and well presented. Breakfast served in the Aura Restaurant was relaxed and excellent selection of fruit, cereals through to full Scottish breakfast. All staff were friendly and helpful. Only downside was the pool which was always too busy when we went to use it -and decided not to.Really enjoyable two days however topped off with sunny weather.

Room Tip: Accommodation with seaview should be requested - room we had been refurbished to a high standard. Wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Homejames63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Just back from the Seamill Hydro. Good things - Pool is fab as are the grounds, Food in both restaurants was lovely and staff was very helpful
Bad things - We were in the unrenovated part of the hotel - not an issue except that on the first morning we were woken by the alarm going off in our room as water was coming in. Then had numerous staff in and out trying to sort. Very little sleep on night 2 as the floors creaked everytime upstairs moved and they were up from 5am!!!!
On balance I will stay at the hotel because of the facilities but would not stay in the annex again unless there are no squeeking floors

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liz r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We just had our pre-wedding reception here on Sat 16th. Staff were very friendly, welcoming and accommodating. The wedding co-ordinators Rachel and Mhairi did an excellent job. The Arran Room was just perfect for a family celebration. The service from the waiting and bar staff was excellent throughout the evening as was the meal and wine. The whole family had a fantastic time. Lovely spacious rooms topped off by a fab breakfast in the morning.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pmb1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Kilbride
0.8 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#2 of 2 in West Kilbride
296 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,129 reviews
13.9 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#1 of 3 in Brodick
3,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Brisbane House Hotel
9.8 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
3.9 mi away
Lauriston Hotel
Lauriston Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardrossan
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seamill Hydro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seamill Hydro

Address: 39 Ardrossan Road, West Kilbride KA23 9ND, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > West Kilbride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in West Kilbride
Price Range: $104 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Seamill Hydro 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Seamill Hydro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seamill Hydro West Kilbride, Scotland
Hydro Seamill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing