We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standards have sadly deteriorated/Party Night Food Inedible”
Review of Seamill Hydro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Seamill Hydro
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in West Kilbride
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed Sat 8th Dec as part of a works Christmas night out. We have been many times before both from the SGH and now the New Victoria Hospital . This year will probably be our last . The rooms are very tired and there was a considerable difference in standards of accommodation amongst our party of 30.Despite this we all made the best of the room situation without complaining to management. Our main gripe is with the standard of meal served at our party night. Dreadful to the point of being inedible and having to be sent back with the replacement not being much better.Some of us made a point of eating lunch next day in the Orangery restaurant which was faultless to the point where we questioned whether an agency ? chef had cooked the meal the night before. We paid for our lunch and asked to speak to the restaurant manager and asked if the hotel had indeed employed a different team of chefs for the part nights. No one had unrealistic expectations of the party night however it is reasonable to expect the food to be edible. The manager was very concerned and took our details and informed us that someone would be in touch. Whilst we were in reception the general manager Mr Rennie came to speak to us as he had been told of our concerns again he stated that he would look into this further and that someone would be in touch . We are still waiting. Customer service very very poor.

Room Tip: Do not expect anything resembling the pictures on the hotels website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bryceGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,562)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,167 - 1,173 of 1,562 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

The Seamill Hydro is a great hotel. The customer service is good, the food is excellent and some of the rooms are brand new. The only down side is the rooms which have yet to be updated, which are tired and old (CRT TVs, retro green bathrooms with plastic marble effect taps etc)
The leisure centre is brand new and has an excellent pool, and the hotel has a private beach with spectacular views of Arran. The breakfast offering is also absolutely top notch
Highly recommended

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed at Seamill Hydro on the 12th January 2013 and absolutely loved it! The hotel has been recently renovated and is fantastic looking, we were really impressed. The bar is really funky and reminded me of The Blytheswood Hotel bar in Glasgow. We stayed in a suite, which was beautiful, very modern, really spacious and with a lovely, massive bathroom. The shower was amazing and the towels were unbelievably soft (and there were lots of them). We had dinner in The Orangarie, fabulous food, great service and in a beautiful setting. Our table was in front of a beautiful, real flame fire, but would love to go back during the day for the views of the sea. We were delighted to find the hotel had a kids club / creche which our daughter loved. We went for a couple of swims in the hotel pool which was lovely, but didn't have time for a walk along the beautiful beach, will do that next time! We were really impressed, had a great weekend and are definitely going back soon.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eleanoreoldschool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Returned today from a spa day with a friend both paid £100 each to come to a place advertised as a spa package but that was far from what we got we got a cold pool run over with kids a small cramped changing area and two small cold treatment rooms not even a complimentary Towel ! Went for lunch and got the afternoon tea and I'm certain the cakes were Iceland party food as some were still frozen !! Upon complaining staff were very unapologetic and couldn't have cared less ! Very disappointing !! Would have booked elsewhere for cheaper had we known it was infact a family facility and not an actual spa as advertised !! We both spent the day dissapointed not relaxed and left more stressed than when we went in ! I also think that it's bad manners to chew chewing gum whilst giving somebody a beauty treatment !

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
22  Thank F21DGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We've visited Seamill Hydro on many occasions, and always have a wonderful time during the day. There are ongoing renovations being made to the hotel, but you wouldn't know it, as there were no signs of building work going on when we visited in late December. The hotel seems to get more upmarket every time we visit, and the spa area is especially lovely, and spotlessly clean. The food in the Orangery restaurant was very tasty and there were a few vegetarian options on the menu, which is always nice to see. The service is consistently good and the staff are very pleasant and helpful. However, there is one major issue with this hotel which has ruined our last two visits here.

Coincidentally, the last two times we have stayed (December 2011 and 2012), we have been given room 132, which is one of the suites in the 'Dunoon' annexe. The suite itself is exquisite, with a huge bathroom and stylish furnishings, and has obviously been recently refurbished. Unfortunately, on both occasions, we have barely slept a wink at night, due to a cacophony of creaks, whistles and groans emanating from around the room as strong winds whip off the Firth of Clyde and hit this beachfront building. On both occasions, we've left the room at 6am due to chronic lack of sleep and driven home exhausted. Our most recent visit was particularly frustrating, because the room was fairly quiet during the evening, but once the wind got up around 11pm, the noise because increasingly intolerable.

Seamill Hydro is a superb hotel and spa resort, but based on our experiences, we'd have to recommend avoiding sea-view suites unless you can sleep through anything.

Room Tip: Avoid suite 132 in the Dunoon building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NeilandLauraGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I have just returned from an overnight at seamill as a birthday present from my husband. I had heard several stories about rooms being run down and worn but we thought we were in newly refurbished room. On arriving the reception and main bar area was lovely and very modern. On arriving in our room a different story the carpet was all stains the bed sheet had stains and the bathroom was very dull and In desperate need of modernising. We just accepted it as I wanted to enjoy my night. Dinner in the aura was reasonable enjoyable and drink reasonable also so we enjoyed our night until returning to our room. Both of us had no sleep due to the noise of what sounded like a boiler and birds rattling about on roof. We contemplated phoning reception but managed to fall asleep for a few hours. Breakfast was lovely and fresh and lots to choose from which we both enjoyed. On checking out a man In front of us was complaining about a fan extractor being in in the room he had been moved to after speaking to him we found out the man was in the room across from us room60 and could not sleep due to noise he investigated and found a boiler plant down the stairs next to our rooms so got moved. We mentioned this to receptionist and said it wasn't a very good night her response you have nothing to pay. For £120 a night you expect better all in all an average hotel in desperate need for renovation which is overpriced I won't ever be returning !!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank DSEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

my self and family went to seamill for a three day xmas break. it was great. the xmas dinner was fab. never had a such nice xmas dinner. service wonderful. great young staff. and really nice setting. my only fault was the did not put any entertainment for adults. kids had great stuff to do and my granson dylan loved it. and it was lovely seeing him open his xmas presents. he was worried santa would not find him. even someone playing a piano. not everyone wants to sit in the bar all night. my only complaint was a very very rude barman. my daughter ordered a cocktail. and it wasent nice. so she took it back. the next one was worse so she took it back again. as she turned her back he swore at her. terrible. I must say this was reported to the boss right away and he made the young man come over and apologise. and buy my daughter a drink. this didnt spoil what was a lovely three days for our family. and we would do it again. well done seamill hydro.

Room Tip: we had a lovely refurbished room. overlooking sea, it was very warm and ticked all the boxes.luv thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daniel28703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Kilbride
0.8 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#2 of 2 in West Kilbride
293 reviews
13.9 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#1 of 3 in Brodick
3,748 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Brisbane House Hotel
9.8 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
3.9 mi away
Lauriston Hotel
Lauriston Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardrossan
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seamill Hydro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seamill Hydro

Address: 39 Ardrossan Road, West Kilbride KA23 9ND, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > West Kilbride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in West Kilbride
Price Range: $104 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Seamill Hydro 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Seamill Hydro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seamill Hydro West Kilbride, Scotland
Hydro Seamill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing