We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Seamill Hydro
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Waterside Hotel(West Kilbride)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lauriston Hotel(Ardrossan)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Kingarth Hotel(Kilchattan Bay)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,657)
Filter reviews
1,657 results
Traveler rating
868
428
199
93
69
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
868
428
199
93
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsorangery restaurantsea viewaura barbuilding workrefurbished roomleisure facilitiesfirst classsauna and steam roomthe main hotelkids clubparty nightlovely hotelrelaxing stayisle of arrangreat nightan overnight staywedding venue
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,287 - 1,292 of 1,657 reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We had a keep fit weekend at seamill hydro that has been running for the past 10 year this is probably my 4th year. we visited the new orangery for lunch the food is five star excellent and the views are amazing. We had a suite that has been renovated it was first class beautiful decor although all rooms haven't been upgrades yet its an ongoing process. We had dinner on Friday and Saturday night the food and service was excellent cant wait until my next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been renovated
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlasgowSuncat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Decided to treat my sister for her Birthday and as she lives locally we opted for seamill Hydro.
I used to work in the hotel in the 80s and was wondering what changes had taken place.

On arrival the hotel looks impressive with a nice garden and well lit parking areas.
We had booked the Orangery one of the newer recently refurbished areas.
The Restaurant loooked really nice with an inviting huge fireplace and a nicely stocked modern bar area.

We had a party of 4 in front of us who appeared to be having problems with their booking. It became apparent that they had probably not booked as when we gave our name the waitress looked bemused advising us that the party in front had the same name and booking time ? I find this a little hard to believe as they had most likely read the booking on the computer and gave the name they saw coming up. We were not asked for email proof which we were advised to bring with the booking details from the hotel manager. Rather than apologise and advise us to take a seat in the bar the waitress called for assistance. It took 5 minutes for someone to eventually say please take a seat and we will organise a table for you. The bar staff saw us sitting down but again we were not approached to ask if we would like a drink. I think this is down to poor staff training and no sign of anyone in charge. There were also far too many staff for the size of restaurant and bar ? They could cope with half the staff if they were trained correctly.

We then had to wait a further 10 minutes before we were given a menu and drink orders were taken. Again the waitress did not understand the wine menu and asked for the number on the list. If you are serving wine and food please take the time to learn the menu and drinks rather than point and give out numbers. This is again down to bad training from the restaurant Manager or HR training .

We were then ready to order. The menu I must admit was really nice with plenty of choice. I was however concerned as the night had not started on a great foot.

We were a party of 4 and decided to have Moules Mariniere, Cullen Skink and 2 of us decided to share the chicken liver pate. I must admit the starters were SUPERB. The Cullen skink had plenty of fish, plenty of mussels and delicious dressing with salad with the pate. My only complaint was the bread rolls although home made were a little on the hard side.

For main courses we had oven roasted chump of lamb with boulongiere potatoes, broad beans, glazed carrots and thyme jus. Oven roasted breast of chicken with wild mushrooms in a dry sherry cream sauce with haricot vert and creamed potatoes. Seared fillet of Salmon on a crab and petit pois fish cake with a light seafood and vermouth cream and finally grilled monkfish tail served on basil crushed potatoes with fresh asparagus and a mussel and chive cream.
I have only 2 words ABSULUTELY DELICIOUS. I can honestly say this was the highlight of the night. I have eaten in some really posh restaurants in France and Italy and this would definetely give them a run for their money.

We then ordered for dessert Warm Apple and Raspberry Crumble with Creme Anglaise, raspberry syrup and vanilla ice cream and a Millionaire Sundae with crumbled millionaire shortbread, chocolate ice cream, fresh cream and warm chocolate sauce.

We then asked for the bill and were surprised to find that the sweets are FREE in November, a nice surprise to a throughly enjoyable dinner.

If they get the staff issue resolved I am sure they will start to gain a regular customer client base.
I will be back again without a doubt.

Overall, Superb food, nice ambiance but let down by staff lack of Menu Knowledge and how to handle a difficult situation.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Johnleomcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in one of the suites in the Annex which had king sized bed, sofa and fridge, as well as huge bathroom with bath and separate shower. Room was large, beautifully clean and very comfortable with view over the sea to Arran. Breakfast was great - lots of options for the cold choices and beautifully, freshly-cooked hot food. Staff were nice and friendly. Ate in Orangery restaurant on second night - good choice of food and nothing too expensive £12-£15 for mains. I had cod main dish and it was delicious - generous portion too. The Aura restaurant/bar was closed on the 2nd night - but on check out we could see why as the refurbishment was starting. We had a lovely relaxing stay and wouldn't hesitate to go back.

Room Tip: We had suite 108 which was on the ground floor. Room was great but I imagine those on the higher floors would have even better views.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

what a treat four of use with varied tastes we returned a second night and were treated once again to excellent food. staff were superb, we all hope to go back next year. as a group of four friends who have eaten all around the country we all agreed that the hydro orangrie would take some beating.
wal

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank waldopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spend the night here as a birthday treat, the rooms were beautifully decorated and so comfortable warm and clean, The pool and sauna are first class , The breakfast was really good , service was excellent and the staff very attentive nothing was to much trouble, Hubby has a kipper and it was he said the best he had ever tasted.We will definatley be back here

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cool_Gran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews