We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely gardens and a great tour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glen Grant Whisky Distillery and Garden

Glen Grant Whisky Distillery and Garden
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Rothes
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely gardens and a great tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

There's lots more to Glen Grant then we realise in the UK. Most of their whiskey gets shipped out to Italy as a clearer 5 year old. The tour is great, even if you have done other distilleries in the past, there is still lots to learn, the free dram at the end is tasty and the gardens are well worth a stroll through.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank JonathanAndMelissaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    52
    12
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Crossgar
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Door open but told it was shut”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

The only visitor centre where the door was open but we were told it was shut by a very unhelpful lady pm on 9th jan.Otherwise all other visitor centres were extremely helpful so this one stood out for the wrong reasons

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely Gardens and very helpful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a very interesting visit, the gardens were picturesque and the staff very knowledgeable. Would definitely visit again. Tea rooms were pretty and staff helpful.

Helpful?
1 Thank GaleB565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fifield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“An excellent tour and beautiful gardens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

We loved the distillery tour led by tour guide Andrew. He explained everything wonderfully and answered all our questions very helpfully. There were many highlights to this tour, which was great value for money at £3.50 entrance fee for a 40minute tour and a wonderful video at the end which is not to be missed. At the end of the tour we were treated to tastings of two glasses of whisky then we had a tour of the beautiful gardens, even in November a great sight to see. The cafe was also very good with fresh scones and pancakes with Jam and butter and a good selection of snacks and drinks all at reasonable prices. Even the lady in the coffee shop was very well informed on all the whiskies and the distillery and the cafe was absolutely spotless and beautifully turned out. Lovely people and great whisky in wonderful surroundings, what more can one ask.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
143 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Magnificent gardens (and an exemplary dram)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stopped into Glen Grant just to tour the gardens on a beautiful afternoon, and ended up having a marvelous time. After roaming the exceedingly lovely grounds, including the rustic walkway and bridge over a rushing stream, we stopped back in the visitor center, where my husband was able to taste a few top-notch drams. He found them all to be uniquely well balanced and smooth. Of special note on the grounds is the log gazebo with an antler chandelier. It's a really a cool place to explore in Speyside and we highly recommend a stop here.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank dale_river
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glen Grant Whisky Distillery and Garden also viewed

 

Been to Glen Grant Whisky Distillery and Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing