We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lynsey and Malcolm Smith's Wedding” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stotfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Stotfield Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lossiemouth
Nairn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lynsey and Malcolm Smith's Wedding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We had my daughters wedding reception and evening disco here . The meal and buffet ,was fantastic,not to mention the staff. The staff could not do enough for us,and did all our decorations for the evening. We would very much like to thank all staff and management for making it a memorable day .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    107
    105
    63
    56
See reviews for
67
132
11
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thurso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed here for 2 night,we did get a seaview but the room was very old and dated,the walls were painted dark purple and paint over the roof and skirting boards,extention cable hidden behind the bed for the lamps(fire hazzard),old furniture and large old tv.
Bathroom was no better,lighting was so dark you could'nt see in the mirror,no preasure in the shower so had to have baths,toilet was broken.
On the plus side the bed was very comfortable but small and the food was lovely except the sausages at breakfast let it down,cheap processed sausages.
Staff were very nice,dining room was lovely but rest of hotel needs to be updated.
Will not be staying again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mand21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lossiemouth hotels

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

From the outside it looks lovely - the foyer is old but classical and so is the restaurant but it does need decorating as there are water stains down one of the walls.Breakfast was average - a buffet with the usual hot items but not much other choice. Staff were very helpful and gave great service both in the restaurant and at reception. We arrived at 1.30 and our room was not ready so we left our luggage and went back out returning at 10.30 to find we had been put in one of the most disappointing rooms I have ever had the misfortune to stay in. The room number is 238 on the second floor with no lift- do not accept this room if you want to sleep. There is a noise much like a generator turning itself on and off intermittently all night. It sounds as though it is coming from the roof. Pair that with the broken window that will only open if you hammer it up with a great force, the really terrible electric shower that took 10 minutes (I kid you not) to regulate and dribbled rather than showered, the shabby old cheap furniture and the poor paint job and I think you get the picture. As we were really tired and had been to a harrowing funeral we could not face moving that night so stayed until the next day when we complained and were moved to a slightly better room on the first floor. This could be a lovely hotel but they really do need to update the rooms and bathrooms.

Room Tip: Avoid 238 like the plague!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Good location with beautiful views. Restaurant can turn out some v good food but I have stayed here a number of times and as with breakfast it can be a bit hit and miss.
Rooms have potential but are sad and tired.
Rotten frames of windows - some partially open some don't.
Woeful bathrooms.............from a past era
Wifi only works in lobby if you're lucky.
Friendly staff.
Has potential but requires the investment !

Room Tip: Single Rooms can be pokey Ask for larger room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NotFlyingToday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

"Awful" is the word to describe their rooms on 2nd floor! No lift or porter for guests with heavy luggage.After the pilgrimage to my room on 2nd floor, a room like a prison awaited. It was horribly bare walls with one big side painted in ridiculous maroon. Depressingly dim light bulbs, an archaic TV set with cheap furniture. A doorway on an arm length thick wall to a no-window bathroom, No shampoo, soap, shower gel or hair dryer was there. Breakfast was so basic, self-help orange and grapefruit from cans, orange and apple juices, serials, bacons, sausages, fried eggs, tomatoes, bacons, toasts and tea/coffee. That was the all. Despite their location of the entrance to Spayside, the world famous whisky region, The bar whisky range at the poor was unbelievably poor. We ordered Talisker 10 years old from their ultra short list of drinks but were told that they didn't have everything from the list! I will never go back neither take my clients there.

Room Tip: Never even think about giving it a try!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 6chan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skye
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Visited the hotel recently with friends as we heard locally that the food was excellent and it was, the four of us had an excellent meal. We certainly weren't disappointed the food was really good. We had ate in several other locations in Lossiemouth that week but this was the best. The dining room and reception area was attractive and pleasant as we're staff, but the real gem is obviously the kitchens and the chef. An excellent choice of menu and wonderful presentation.

I'd recommend this as it was recommended to us for first class food.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SkyeBluenose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We recently stayed one night at the Stotfield Hotel. This historic old hotel overlooks the Firth of Moray and is directly opposite the Moray Golf Club. There is hotel parking area directly outside. The views from the Stotfield are fabulous. We asked for a room with a view when booking and were not disappointed. Our room was large, comfortable and clean, with the most magnificent view. The bathroom is in need of a make over, but then this is an historic old hotel and value for money, it really does offer a lot.

The sitting room adjacent to the reception is a delightful area, and when we arrived there were groups enjoying a decent looking afternoon tea. The bistro is a large, airy and attractive room with views overlooking the Firth, and it was full of patrons for a mid week evening. I ordered the locally caught Moray haddock, which was delicious. A cooked breakfast is included in the tarrif, and this was served in another large elegant room adjacent to the bistro. Free Wifi is limited to the downstairs areas of the hotel but I managed to get access from my hotel room.

Don't miss a walk down to the seaside to enjoy the view. There is a most moving plaque dedicated to the fishermen of the village who lost their lives in a freak storm that nearly wiped out the entire township in 1806. We watched several groups of golfers tee off the first hole, some groups came from the hotel, obviously enjoying the convenient location of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charlie282000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lossiemouth
5.1 mi away
Premier Inn Elgin Hotel
5.3 mi away
Laichmoray Hotel
Laichmoray Hotel
#2 of 7 in Elgin
4.0 of 5 stars 226 reviews
4.9 mi away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#3 of 7 in Elgin
4.0 of 5 stars 320 reviews
5.3 mi away
Sunninghill Hotel
Sunninghill Hotel
#4 of 7 in Elgin
4.5 of 5 stars 85 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jomarnic Bed & Breakfast
Jomarnic Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 7 in Lossiemouth
5.0 of 5 stars 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stotfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stotfield Hotel

Property: Stotfield Hotel
Address: Stotfield Road, Lossiemouth IV31 6QS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Lossiemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lossiemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Stotfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at this family run hotel in Lossiemouth. A great relaxed family friendly atmosphere exists at this hotel and is frequented by many returning guests and locals alike. The breathtaking view from the front of hotel overlooks the Moray Firth and beyond to the Cromarty Firth and to the hills of Caithness. The hotel is directly opposite the ancient Moray Golf Club, and is ideally situated for exploring the Coastal, Castle or Whisky trail, as well as being well situated for visiting the cities of Inverness and Aberdeen and surrounding area. The Stotfield Hotel has recently undergone a refreshing transformation of many of its bedrooms and also the ground floor guest area. However, this historic hotel retains many of its original character and features from 1895, including the fantastic sweeping staircase and period revolving front door. During your stay you can enjoy free access to high speed wireless broadband throughout the hotels public areas, free car parking (limited spaces available, ample on street parking adjacent to the hotel) but most of all comfortable and relaxed surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Stotfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stotfield Hotel Lossiemouth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing