We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business trip to a beautiful location.”
Review of Stotfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stotfield Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lossiemouth
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Business trip to a beautiful location.”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Lossiemouth is a beautiful little place still holding it's own, despite hard times, and sharing the northern coastal shelf with places like Findhorn and Burghead. The Stotfield Hotel holds pride of place overlooking the golf course and the magical West Beach. A handsome, but not pompous exterior gives way to comfortable lounge and reception area which extends to include a larger dining/ breakfast and bar area. My room was at the rear looking onto a street, which was fine for this occasion, and was of a good size and proportion. The bedding and laundry all clean and comfortable. My only small gripe would be the dated large TV and very poor shower. All in, a very comfortable and welcoming place with very good and helpful staff.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martikelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    129
    121
    71
    60
See reviews for
77
154
14
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester UK
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The stuff that nightmares are made of....Scooby Doo stayed in places like this.....worn carpets, peeling paint, naff cheap furniture and windows covered in dead flies and bird droppings to obscure your sea-view, curtains that are faded and worn and don't stop any light coming in.......and all for £70.00. There's better places than this to spend your hard earned money and get your head down.
Lossiemouth looks a decent place and the Lossie Fish and Chip shop went someway to putting a smile on my face with the excellent F and C and cheerful staff; the hotel though is a DEFINITE miss.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lossiemouth hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I've stayed at the Stotfiled before and always on business. This time I was attending a social function - formal dinner.
Can't praise them highly enough - I think there was about 150 people attending and it didn't phase the staff at all.
All staff were very friendly. There wasn't anything I could see that gave them any cause for concern or the least bother.

The food was first class, from starter right through to dessert. All topped off by an excellent gantry and as good a selection of Malt Whisky as anywhere else on the Whisky Trail.
All in all a very enjoyable, memorable experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artifex1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Fabulous location overlooking the golf course. This place had a real feel good factor about it with good friendly staff. We really had a nice stay and would certainly book again if in the area. Breakfast would benefit from table service (not buffet), just to raise the bar a little but this can be easily implemented. Great stay overall and would recommend a visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dufis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I had travelled up to Lossie for an RAF Reunion, having left there 20 years ago. I opted to stay in the Stotfield as it had a good reputation when I was stationed there in 1992.
My first impressions were good, however on entering our front facing double bedroom it seemed that the room had not been updated since 1992.
The heating went off in the room by the time we had got back after meeting up with friends to find the room absolutely freezing.
When I reported this to the duty manager I was told that he knew that room was the cold one and offered to move me to the 8 acres hotel.....which is in Elgin...6 miles away, and give me a heater. His attitude was not very helpful at all. in the end another member of staff came out and let me stay at the hotel free....
The bath water was luke warm only and the hot tap in the sink did not work. This too was reported but not acted on.
The breakfast staff was on her own in a busy dining room, and was rushing around trying to appease everyone. It took 3 requests to get a pot of tea and coffe
...
All in all a very disappointing stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get room 120....the staff know its the coldest room in the hotel, complete w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Vastly improved, building wise.
Staff fantastic as usual, could not be more helpful, a lovely place to stay.Food excellent again Glad to return.
The only negative , and I assume it is a tricky one to resolve so close to the beach are the gulls at dawn on the roof. Very noisy and at this time of year start at about 4-5 am.

Room Tip: Try and avoid one where the gulls start at dawn.It`s a pity the hotel could not do something about t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JinxAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed overnight on business. Hotel is tired in places but more than made up for by the friendly staff and quality of food in the restaurant. Great sea views. Limited wifi in reception only. The seagulls don't seem to sleep in Lossiemouth

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lossiemouth
5.4 mi away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
5.4 mi away
Laichmoray Hotel
Laichmoray Hotel
#2 of 7 in Elgin
286 reviews
5.0 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#3 of 7 in Elgin
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#7 of 7 in Elgin
132 reviews
13.6 mi away
Ramnee Hotel
Ramnee Hotel
#2 of 3 in Forres
214 reviews
13.7 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rothes
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stotfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stotfield Hotel

Property: Stotfield Hotel
Address: Stotfield Road, Lossiemouth IV31 6QS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Lossiemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lossiemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Stotfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at this family run hotel in Lossiemouth. A great relaxed family friendly atmosphere exists at this hotel and is frequented by many returning guests and locals alike. The breathtaking view from the front of hotel overlooks the Moray Firth and beyond to the Cromarty Firth and to the hills of Caithness. The hotel is directly opposite the ancient Moray Golf Club, and is ideally situated for exploring the Coastal, Castle or Whisky trail, as well as being well situated for visiting the cities of Inverness and Aberdeen and surrounding area. The Stotfield Hotel has recently undergone a refreshing transformation of many of its bedrooms and also the ground floor guest area. However, this historic hotel retains many of its original character and features from 1895, including the fantastic sweeping staircase and period revolving front door. During your stay you can enjoy free access to high speed wireless broadband throughout the hotels public areas, free car parking (limited spaces available, ample on street parking adjacent to the hotel) but most of all comfortable and relaxed surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Stotfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stotfield Hotel Lossiemouth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing