We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunday Carvery”
Review of Stotfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stotfield Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lossiemouth
Lossiemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Sunday Carvery”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This Hotel has a Carvery every Sunday, the food is excellent quality and plentiful, the staff are friendly and helpful, try and get a seat in the main bar area and enjoy the views overlooking the Moray Golf Club and the Moray Firth.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    126
    119
    69
    59
See reviews for
75
149
14
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We had already read many of the reviews posted on Tripadvisor so on arrival we had low expectations. However, the staff were so friendly and when it was noticed that my husband is disabled we were moved to a room that would accommodate us more easily.

I agree that some of the decor and furnishings are a little dated but management have compensated for this in the price offered for B & B.

We decided to have dinner in the hotel's Brasserie restaurant and we were very very pleasantly surprised at the menu range. When the food arrived we were both amazed - there was so much and it was fantastic. I chose caramelised scallops on a bed of black pudding then had a beautifully cooked 10oz rump steak with real chips and salad. The restaurant manager was very helpful and knowledgeable. The restaurant was quite full when we left.

Our room was clean and comfortable and we had a spectacular view over Lossiemouth west beach.

The only drawback was the stairway. Unfortunately there wasn't a lift and the handrail was only on one side of the staircase, this made it difficult for my husband, who is disabled to descend.

This will not prevent us from returning to the Stottfield as I believe there are further plans for development.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fionamul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed for one night and it was adequate for purpose, but is a tired looking hotel, quite cold in places. The bedroom was a very small double with broken drawers in the dressing table, a very old fashion TV with poor quality picture and very few channels.The bathroom needs TLC, old fashioned with black mould around bath. Otherwise the room was clean, a good supply of hot drinks in the room, and a nice Easter tough, a cream egg one for each of us in our cups. There was shampoo and soap in the bathroom and big fluffy white towels. The evening meal was fairly good, but breakfast poor, cold food and very little of it. Would I stay again? Only if I had too.

Room Tip: Room 126 was warmish, quiet but not good quality furnishings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CumbriaSunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I have visited the Stotfield for Sunday Lunch, only complaint was a hair in the wifes soup and a hair in my main course. My wife and I went out to celebrate my birthday, the food was great although a little pricey but once again Lossiemouth lets its slef down by the quality of its waiting service, noisy, mouthy and poorly trained.

Room Tip: The hotel is good but I don't need to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank demonicdenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, England
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed here again a week ago. We asked for an electric heater for the bedroom which was duly delivered very soon after.
Only one rasher of bacon on the breakfast plate doesn't constitute a proper breakfast to me.
The staff are amazingly helpful in the main. The evening meal is really tasty, well presented and reasonably priced.
The owners are visibly upgrading the place slowly, but it does take time especially when the peak season is so short.
But overall we like it, we wouldn't stay anywhere else within a 20 mile radius.

Room Tip: Choose one of the rooms without a sea view as everyone has to pass these rooms to get to all the oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j.rawcliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkhall
Level Contributor
387 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The views over the Moray Firth from our room were fantastic.

The hotel website tells of a refurbishment programme but it looks more like new carpets and a coat of paint. Our room was cleant and tidy but the furniture was a mix match of dark and light wood items. The cast iron radiators struggled to keep the room warm. How can you have a double room with no full length mirror for a lady to check her apperance before going out. Also noted that unlike most Hotels (and even good B & B's), no complementary toileteries etc were available.

The free wifi is only available in reception, however I gave up after 45minutes as no one in the Hotel could get it to work and the Receptionist was not overly bothered and did not even make an attempt at an apology.

I was dining at a function in the Hotel in the Evening, however we were informed that the Hotel did not do room service so my Wife would have to make her own arrangements if she did not wish to eat in the hotel dining room.

Breakfast in the morning was very good and the staff member on duty was very friendly and cheerful. Noted that the Hotel had to employ a large commercial air blower in the corner of the Breakfast Room to make it comfortable.

When booking the Hotel by phone I mentioned the Tripadvisor reviews I had read and was advised not to believe them as people alwas find a reason to complain. I think the Management need to start taking notice of these reviews if they really and honestly want to make their Hotel a must visit location.

When we checked out in the morning there were no enquiries from the Receptionist (same one) at to our comfort or if we had enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MIB-53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a week in Lossiemouth, staying at the stotfield. This is our second stay and the old hotel has great character. There has been some refurbishment in the year since we were last there. Our room was clean and tidy but freezing cold as it faced the moray firth and it was a very cold week. The window was broken so very draughty, had to ask for extra bedding which the staff were only too happy to provide, and jasmine who is a delight also gave us an extra heater. The main concern I had was the lack of heating in the public areas. Breakfast room was cold as was the front lounge area, although the breakfast was plentiful and good. If this draughty old hotel is to be open all year round the heating needs to be adequate in all areas. The staff undoubtably make this hotel, they are great. Will be returning next year so lets hope even more improvements are made by then.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sandcking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lossiemouth
5.1 mi away
Premier Inn Elgin Hotel
5.4 mi away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
5.4 mi away
Laichmoray Hotel
Laichmoray Hotel
#2 of 7 in Elgin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Cullen Bay Hotel
Cullen Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cullen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
13.7 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rothes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
5.0 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#3 of 7 in Elgin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stotfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stotfield Hotel

Property: Stotfield Hotel
Address: Stotfield Road, Lossiemouth IV31 6QS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Lossiemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lossiemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Stotfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at this family run hotel in Lossiemouth. A great relaxed family friendly atmosphere exists at this hotel and is frequented by many returning guests and locals alike. The breathtaking view from the front of hotel overlooks the Moray Firth and beyond to the Cromarty Firth and to the hills of Caithness. The hotel is directly opposite the ancient Moray Golf Club, and is ideally situated for exploring the Coastal, Castle or Whisky trail, as well as being well situated for visiting the cities of Inverness and Aberdeen and surrounding area. The Stotfield Hotel has recently undergone a refreshing transformation of many of its bedrooms and also the ground floor guest area. However, this historic hotel retains many of its original character and features from 1895, including the fantastic sweeping staircase and period revolving front door. During your stay you can enjoy free access to high speed wireless broadband throughout the hotels public areas, free car parking (limited spaces available, ample on street parking adjacent to the hotel) but most of all comfortable and relaxed surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Stotfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stotfield Hotel Lossiemouth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing