We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a lovely night in a beautiful setting”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lossiemouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ceilidh Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 6 Lossiemouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 5, 2011

A good test of a B&B is how they react to a cyclist arriving on a wet day. Well - they were magnificent. I cycled here on 1st Oct 2011 from Carr Bridge, 45 miles mainly in the rain. I was soaked but the welcome was great, the room was cosy and warm, and I could lock my bike in their garage. Perfect. My cycling shoes were sodden and the man gave me newspapers to stuff in them. Later in the evening, after I had gone out, I forgot to replace the newspaper, but no sweat - in the morning I discovered that the owner had put more newspaper in them and they were almost dry! The breakfast was good, I can't understand the negative comments elsewhere on this website. A good value location, and I will stay here again next time I come to Lossie. The town IS attractive!! Visit the Ramsay MacDonald Viewpoint, for example. From Lossie I cycled into Elgin along the old railway line. Then caught the train home. Overall a good trip - in spite of the rain!

Room Tip: my room on 1st floor was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cliveGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 34 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2011

Good location for local amenities, however the double room we shared was rather dark and the small bathroom had a sliding door which didn't afford much privacy! Unfortunately our room was double booked, this was dealt with very professionally and quickly. They arranged alternative accommodation and waived the cost of the night we did stay. If you prefer a more laid back approach this might not be the right B&B for you as there seemed to be quiet a few ground rules and breakfast was to be finished by 9am even on a weekend.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

after seeing the other reviews I wonder where they were staying. I found everyting to be of good qualty and excellent value the hosts are busy but very helpful none the less.
the photos on the website were accurate and I had a lovley stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snow_bear_213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2010

Have stayed here twice in single rooms only so can't judge double or twin rooms. There is a ground floor room with disabled facliities and direct access to the private car park which could be attractive to travellers with mobility issues. Only problem is that it is just a single room. It has a good walk-in shower - floor tiles could have been more anti-slip and wash hand baisin is tiny. Anyone using this room has the benefit to being able to come and go with their own external door - also easy for luggage etc. There is another pleasant but basic single room upstairs. The location suits me well as I want to be able to walk to bars or restaurants in the rest of the town most of which can be done in 5 to 10 minutes. It is quiet at night despite being near the seafront/marina. Generally this B&B is small with adequate but fairly basic facilities but the price reflects this. Breakfast is everyone at the same large table which some people quite like and others don't depending on how sociable you feel at that time of the day. Interesting to find out the range of others visiting Lossiemouth which in good weather is a nice town with 2 good beaches and a good links golf course. It also has good views and great sunsets and a couple of reasonable restaurants. If you need more facilities then stay in Elgin. There are a couple of "house rules" but nothing outrageous and just there for the benefit of all guests.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chuck-Wilberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2010

I stayed here with my partner and inlaws for one night last August.
When we first arrived the owners were nice- this was to change later.
The decor in this B&B is very tired, and there was a slight damp, murky smell in the foyer.
The room was clean, but the decor and furnishing very simple. My partner and I had a twin room, and one of the beds was very uncomfortable and very creaky. All this we can live with though, it was after all not too dear.
But the next morning at breakfast is when the hostess showed her true colours. The breakfast hours were very limited to start off with. My partner and I came down, had our cereal and they cooked our fried breakfasts. No problem. But my partners parents were only going to have some cereal, so 15 minutes before breakfast finished they hadn't come down yet. But that is when the hostess started taking away the milk and juice. We asked her to leave it out for my partner's parents, but she was very sour about this. She said something along the lines that breakfast finishes soon, and they need to clear away. In the end she did leave the leftover milk and juice (No WAY she was going to top it), but we heard her complaints through the kitchen door. My partners parents arrived 5 minutes later, and had to make do with what was there.
Usually the breakfast times are the serving times, but then you can sit and enjoy your breakfast and relax. It is after all a bed and breakfast, not a boarding school. I have never experienced that you have to vacate the breakfast room as soon as serving stops, but this was apparently the case here. Maybe it would have been a good idea to declare that beforehand then, or hey, even better, be a little serviceminded and let us enjoy our breakfast.
Needless to say we won't be returning.

There is no need to go to Lossiemouth anyway if you don't have to, a dingy little town lacking in both charm and amenities.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EndlessAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled with family
Thank Miriam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather J, Owner at Ceilidh Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SGAsDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather J, Owner at Ceilidh Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lossiemouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Stotfield Hotel
Stotfield Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lossiemouth
465 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lossiemouth House
Lossiemouth House
#1 of 2 in Lossiemouth
45 reviews
0.4 mi away
Links Lodge B&B
Links Lodge B&B
#1 of 6 in Lossiemouth
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Norland
Norland
#2 of 6 in Lossiemouth
116 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jomarnic Bed & Breakfast
Jomarnic Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 6 in Lossiemouth
121 reviews
0.5 mi away
Silver Sands
Silver Sands
#1 of 2 in Lossiemouth
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ceilidh Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ceilidh Bed and Breakfast

Address: 34 Clifton Road, Lossiemouth IV31 6DJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Lossiemouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Lossiemouth
Price Range: $37 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ceilidh Bed & Breakfast is conveniently situated between two bus stops, close to the esplanade, east beach,estuary and shops and restaurants. This ecologically managed B&B is a family home that offers you cosy well appointed en-suite rooms, locally sourced and fair trade produce. Complimentary use of the sun deck and a warm and friendly atmosphere. All rooms have en-suite facilities, including two accessible single rooms and an option for a family suite. We look forward to welcoming you... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ceilidh Bed And Breakfast Lossiemouth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing