We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful value for money”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Forres, Moray, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Aislinn M
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful value for money”
Reviewed June 6, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Arrived to a very a warm welcome and was shown around the large house.

The house is beautiful and spacious with 6 bedrooms (1 twin, 4 doubles and 1 king). 2 of the bedrooms were en-suite. Each bed had a lovely robe on it for each guest which was a lovely touch.

There are 2 very nice living rooms as well as a games room.

We were a party of 10 and the house never once felt crowded or claustrophobic.

The kitchen is a reasonable size with a very useful utility room off of it.

The gardens were beautiful and the deck with hot tub was fantastic.

The house was very clean throughout.

Points to note:

I didn't feel that the kitchen was very well equipped.

There was no salt or pepper.
We had to request more tea and coffee as only 2 or 3 sachets were present for 10 for 3 days.
There was virtually no cleaning products for us to keep the kitchen clean after meal times.
Only 2 black bags were provided for the bin.
Not enough knives and no pizza cutter.
We ran out of toilet roll after day one and nobody was present at reception to rectify this. There was an emergency number to call - we didn't do this.
There was quite an issue with ants in the kitchen and downstairs bathroom. We noticed this an hour after check in. I went to reception but it was closed and I spoke to a handyman who said he would come over in the morning with ant killer. He never appeared. ( I could have phoned emergency number but didn't) I just bought my own ant killer.
The kitchen taps work back to front and have a constant heavy drip.
The oven wasn't very effective and took hours to cook food.
The hot tub was amazing but very very small for the size of house. 3 was max with 4 being a major squish with all knees touching.

These issues did not prevent us from having a fantastic weekend or change the fact that this beautiful house was excellent value for money. It just felt a shame because there are so many lovely touches throughout the house and these were not in keeping with the high standards given in other areas.

I would highly recommend and love to visit again in future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 6, 2017
Thank you for your feedback and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately, as it is self catered accommodation we only provide tea/ coffee/ cleaning products for the first night complimentary.
All other issues raised are being looked at with immediate affect.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
finandnai...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic large house”
Reviewed January 3, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We stayed in this beautiful house over New year. We were a party of 7 adults and 5 children (teens). The house is very well equipped. Importantly it has good WiFi and all tv's have the full sky package but there are also dvds if you cant find anything to watch, the kitchen is extremely well equipped with everything you could need for a self catering stay. The bedrooms are well appointed and the whole house is cozy, clean and perfect for a large group getaway. Two living rooms have open fires and are so comfy with plenty of seating. The garden is nice and in front of the house is a raised decked area with a wee 4 person got tub. The house is at the end of a holiday park but is not overlooked or walked past so you really have complete privacy. The town of forres has a large tesco as well as lots of lovely wee pubs and some nice looking restaurants. Nairn is also a 20 min drive away and is a lovely town. We loved this house so much we tried to book it again for next New year, but someone beat us to it. I think we would definately book it again tho.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Helen K
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed September 10, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The house is very spacious and offers ample accommodation for 12 guests. There is huge potential for it to be fantastic, however we were left feeling disappointed. Everything felt very average, despite the price being well over what we would normally spend on a holiday cottage. The kitchen is not well equipped for 12 people - crockery was mismatched, a lot chipped/cracked and there was just not enough! The very slow 2-slice toaster is frustrating. There is no cutlery basket for dishwasher so you have to wash up after every meal! Only 1 tea towel. Kitchen work tops were chipped and swollen up with water damage around the sink (not the most hygienic).
There are only 10 chairs (6 in the kitchen and 4 in dining area) so it is impossible for everyone to eat together at the same time.
The downstairs bedroom at the end had no wardrobe or hook to hang clothes.
The bedroom upstairs to the far left of the stairs has a kingsize sheet on a super kingsize bed which obviously kept coming off. The adjacent bathroom is carpeted and constantly smells damp. The water pressure is a real issue - the showers stop (literally go off!) when there is water running elsewhere in the house which is just so frustrating!
While we were there, the roof in the downstairs bedroom cupboard leaked significantly all over clothes that we had laid out on the floor. We reported this and someone came the next day (no apology). The hot tub only fits a maximum of 4 people at once.
Towel supply is distinctly meagre (1 bath sheet each, some of which were thin and had holes in).
For the amount we paid, it would have been nice to have had something in the way of a welcome pack. Even a carton of milk would have been nice - there was literally nothing!
While we were there, workmen were carrying out maintenance on the outside of the house which was odd (especially when in the hot tub!)
I would not return to this property unless it was significantly improved. Believe it or not, I am not a complaining or negative person but admit to feeling a bit scammed this time!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sammiddy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed August 7, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed here in July for a long weekend with friends and family. 6 adults, 6 children.
Met in reception by a friendly lady who quickly checked us in then gave us a tour of the house.
I was immediately impressed with the house. Clean, nicely decorated and equipped with everything you could need.
The house is beautiful and very spacious giving each family enough space to enjoy the weekend without feeling crowded.
The children loved the big garden giving them plenty of space to play.
Although it is on the outskirts of the holiday park there is plenty of privacy for the hot tub!
Excellent value for money and would definitely book again if we are on holiday in the area!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn B
1 review
“great place”
Reviewed March 30, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

what a fantastic place, lots of space and lovely rooms. heating with in the house is very good. surrounding area also very good lots of space for kids to play. the hot tub was one of the highlights, lovely at night looking up to the stars. great there is sky with in the house on all tvs.

only thing i would say the house was missing was in the top floor bedroom with spa bath the water pressure was poor so took a very long time to get water in it, also there seemed to be a lack of mirrors in this room. we also noted that the kitchen could be better stocked with suitable pots and pans etc, being a group of 9 this is what we felt could be better.

Location wise the property is not far from shops, driving distance 2-5 miles, however we did book lunch in the old mill inn which was only 2.5 miles away and ordered a taxi which was quite cheap. We also recommend this place!

I must say i would most certainly go back! Already looking at possible dates!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, hot tub, the space!
Liked least: lack of pot and pans, water pressure to the top floor bathroom.
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 15, 2016
Thank you very much for your great feedback. All has been taken on board and we will ensure that this is looked at asap to make any future visits even more exciting.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomas S
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2018 for a stay in August 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing