We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cluny Bank Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Forres
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Skye
1 review
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2010

Myself and partner stayed for 2 nights during January and i have to say was the best place i could think off spending two very cold nights in Winter. After arriving later than planned due to unexpected delays on the road we were greeted with a friendly face and a nothing is too much trouble manner. Working in a Rooms with Restaurant on Skye you would think i would be used to seeing people, but i'm not. As soon as we arrived i was at ease and very happy to ask any questions. We were shown to our room which was absolutely gorgeous (and huge) and the bathroom was lovely. I had requested a bottle of champagne to be put in our room for arrival and there it was ready and waiting. Perfect after along drive. Dinner was well, words cannot describe out of this world does not come close. Having a pre-dinner drink in the lounge while looking at the menus was a perfect way to start the evening. Any questions we had Lloyd and Julia were on hand to answer. It was great to know where all our food came from. Having no desert menu and having Lloyd come personally to your table is a lovely intimate touch. After dinner we went back to the longe and had a few (too many) Whiskys while chatting away to our hosts. We were told of many place to go and see around the area which made it very hard to decide where to go in the morning. Breakfast was great with the cold buffet and hot options. Many people may think its abit early but in my experience many people like a early Breakfast whether they are leaving that day or staying on. Our second night was just as fantastic as the first and we didnt want to leave. Overall the Hotel was amazing, the food was out of this world and our Hosts were fantastic. Funnily enough we have rebooked for 3 nights in June. Counting down the days.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MegAnn0906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    12
    6
    6
    1
See reviews for
18
111
13
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bucks
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2010

If I was running a hotel I would welcome my guests with a smile and look after them.

This hotel was cold, unwelcoming and had none of the nice touches. We ran out of milk for the in room drinks but didn't get any replacement biscuits with the milk. Breakfast finished at 0900 (Probably for their benefit - not for guests). We were late leaving (1030) and were hurried along for the cleaners benefit.

The istructiions on how to find the hotel are ill thought out and show inconsideration of strangers to Forres.

£100 was poor value and we will not return.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aviaBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jazz1957luke, Owner at The Cluny Bank Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2010
Oh Dear, I wonder which hotel you will try next as ours was the third one you had tried.
In our defence, firstly check in time is 3pm as stated on the confirmation that was sent to you. You arrived at 2.15 pm, no request for ealy check-in. I myself was there to greet you and before I could get a word in you complained about the directions to the hotel, I explained that unfortunately we are not allowed to have directional signs to the hotel. I showed you to your room and as the heating had just come on at 2pm to warm the rooms for 3 pm check-ins, granted it was a little cool and this was explained to you at the time. You or your wife did comment on how nice the room was. I informed you that breakfasts were 7am until 9am and check out was 10.30am and the reply was that you would be in for breakfast at 9am. I was helpful in reply to any questions you asked and showing you on maps the best way to go. I also ensured that arrangements were made for you and at all times was polite and courteous.
The following morning on the day of check out we waited until 9.15 for you to arrive for breakfast and I then left the cold buffet items out until 9.45am. At 10am I received a request from your wife for some milk and duly brought some round to your room. I am really sorry but I think that you will find that no hotel services a room on the day of check out and this is generally when things such as biscuits, milk, tea etc are replenished. You came through and paid your bill at 10.20am. At 11am, 30 mins after check out, you still had not returned your key and were not intending on departing, you also had not requested a late check out and I was compelled to phone through to the room as my house keeper had been waiting for 30 mins to get in the room to be able to prepare the room for our incoming guests, she also had an appointement at 12 noon. It was 11.20 when you returned the key.
All our rooms are supplied with two bottles of mineral water, Penhaligon toiletries, 4 types of coffee sachets, three types of tea bags, milk, brown and white sugar and Borders biscuits, plenty of fluffy towels, quilted toilet rolls, Freeview LCD televison with DVD Player, Radio alarm clock with IPOD Docking station, direct dial telephone, extra heating and welcome chocolates. Plenty of nice touches.
Better luck with your next hotel :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2010

Stayed 1 night on business. Bed and breakfast was very good value. Room spacious, warm & comfortable, dvd player a welcome bonus. Dinner was expensive but exceptional and the highlight of the stay. Would like to return for a weekend break.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dg30Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2010

Best weekend that we have had in Scotland. The setting was quaint and charming, accomodations were lovely, food was AMAZING and Lloyd and Jules couldn't have been kinder. We have never felt so welcome after taking one step into the hotel. We will definitely be returning soon!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissinUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2009

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for a short , two night break in October.

All of the previous positive reviews are well founded.

This is a superb small hotel, with a very friendly atmosphere. Our room was of the highest standard, tastefully decorated, and with flatscreen TV (including dvd facilities).

The owners went out of their way to ensure that everything was as it should be, and are very informal and welcoming.

We did not eat in the hotel in the evenings, but if the breakfast is anything to go by, then we are talking "first class".

This is a great base to use, if you are looking for a central location on the impressive Moray Firth coast.

I would also recommend this hotel for business users.

All in all, a first class establishment, which I would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandrakeFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2009

We have just stayed at Cluny Bank with two other couples as part of a “Whisky Tour” to celebrate a 60th birthday in the group. I had chosen the hotel based on the rave reviews it had on this site and to say that it lived up to them would be an understatement.

From the moment we walked through the door we were treated like long lost friends by our host Lloyd and Julia (and daughter Alex and JD the dog). Lloyd showed us around all the three rooms I had booked so we could then decide who would occupy which one. The rooms are very spacious, clean and tidy and furnished in keeping with the large imposing stone house that is Cluny Bank. After a quick chat with Lloyd and Julia over a drink in the bar it was time to get changed for dinner, and what a dinner!

Lloyd is very passionate about the food he cooks and it shows in the quality that arrives on your plate and the service was excellent. Everything we ate was fantastic and it was a difficult choice for each course as we only had two nights to try out the impressive menu. If you don’t actually stay at the hotel a visit to Franklins Restaurant is highly recommended. Needless to say the breakfast food is just as satisfying.

The guys in the group enjoyed a round of golf at Forres Golf Club which is just a few hundred yards up from the hotel. It is a well kept parkland course that is well worth the slightly high fees (£34). The hotel was a good base for our outings to the many distilleries in the area. The independently owned Benromach distillery is only a few minutes drive from the hotel and Lloyd stocks many of the range in the bar so you can try them before having to choose a bottle to take home.

We, like many others, had a great time at the hotel and intend to return just as soon as we can (and when the liver recovers!)

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKI-Club412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2009

I think the fact that there are so many excellent reviews of this hotel on this site sums up how enjoyable it is to stay here. Conversely you also have to question the validity of those negative postings when using this as a guide (and read between the lines on those because their complaints are, at best, petty). From past experience I've learn't it's risky booking a hotel on the internet without a recommendation through friends however this is one of those rare hotels where you really can rely on the website and the pictures. An excellent hotel that leaves you feeling relaxed, contented and wanting to go back as soon as possible. Lloyd and Joules were great hosts and the work they have done and continue to do with this unique hotel makes it the place to stay if you are planning a trip anywhere in or around the region. I can't wait to go back.
Andrew, North London

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forres
0.5 mi away
Ramnee Hotel
Ramnee Hotel
#2 of 3 in Forres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
1.4 mi away
Knockomie Hotel
Knockomie Hotel
#3 of 3 in Forres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
16.8 mi away
Dowans Hotel
Dowans Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aberlour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rothes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
10.7 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
17.3 mi away
Craigellachie Hotel
Craigellachie Hotel
#1 of 1 in Craigellachie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cluny Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cluny Bank Hotel

Property: The Cluny Bank Hotel
Address: 69 St. Leonards Road, Forres IV36 1DW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Forres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Forres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cluny Bank Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Small Hotel (Restaurant with Rooms, really) set in the best residential area of Forres, Moray. There are lots of activities within easy reach of the hotel such as golf, the world famous Malt Whisky Trail, castles, beaches and much more. Inverness is only 30 miles (airport 25 miles) away and there are many places of interest which can be reached. We have an extremely good reputation for food as you will see from the reviews. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Cluny Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cluny Bank Hotel
The Cluny Bank Hotel Forres, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing