We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must stay place for the food if you are in the area.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cluny Bank Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Forres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2013

The hotel provides a very high standard of food and presentation combined with excellent service in an informal atmosphere and nice surroundings. Prices are reasonable , certainly not excessive .Both the evening meal and breakfast were of the same standards , well worth a visit if you are in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trinitraveller963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 226 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

Lovely character hotel - family run very welcoming easy to find and perfectly located for us - room was spacious warm and comfortable - everything you need plus extras like fudge !

Didnt have dinner but breakfas was great - everything you coukd want

Late check out was Happily agreed to so we could have lazy morning

Woukd stay again with no hesitation

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angela w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

What can I say,just returned from two wonderful pampered nights at cluny bank,a truly hidden gem.I have travelled the world and stayed in many 5 star hotels.This I rank right up there Firstly our hosts Lloyd & Julia.! Julia definitely has a sixth sense every time you walked in the main house she was there to cater to every need from making you a drink,to taking it into dinner for you,to answering any question,and although Lloyd is super chef Julias fudge that awaits you in your room deserves a huge mention like I said package and sell. .The food is to die for Lloyd clearly impressed my partner who himself is a chef trained in Italy, and his desserts WOW!! and its worth it just to have his huge enthusiastic description of each one obviously made with love. And breakfast beautiful fresh fruits ,cereals,juices,then fully cooked breakfast,best black pudding and sausages I've had,or porridge with honey and whisky,kippers,choice endless.Now for our room we stayed in Balchins Den a little annexe attatched to main house our own little haven and a little back door leading to our own enclosed walled garden with a chimenia ,wood ,matches ,table chairs, lanterns with candles,like I said every little detail covered.I can not emphasise enough if you find yourself going to Inverness ,Forres, Elgin, anywhere nearby it is well worth seeking out and a lovely 5 minute walk takes you to the little village,although I would gladly have stayed in my hideaway for 48 hours,Thankyou Lloyd& Julia we shall return.xx

Room Tip: Balchins Den.own little hideaway & Garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wildorchid1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The hotel is a gorgeous old granite building. The room is tastefully decorated and clean. We had the McGregor room which faces the garden/greenery. At dinner, we had the delicious tangy homemade tomato soup and fillet steak for the main course. The steak was done to perfection and served with a generous portion of side vegetables. For dessert, Lloyd, the owner/chef himself explained passionately every dessert that was on offer. The choice we made was the best dessert we'd had on our trip. Fresh strawberries and spiced rhubarb served with lavender ice-cream and a slice of beautiful homemade ginger shortbread. Lloyd who is very friendly & funny guy, is clearly very passionate about food and his cooking and as a result we had the most delicious dinner. The service during dinner was also superb! Breakfast was also top notch!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TuffKatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I was looking for a room in Aberdeen but due to the oil conference this hotel some 75 miles away was the closest but I wasn't disappointed!
On arrival we were greeted by the owner who very pleasant and helpful. The room was very comfortable and made a nice change from the rooms in larger chains.
We had a couple of drinks in the bar but walked to Forres to eat which was a pleasant stroll!
All round a friendly and pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel is run by a very engaging chef cum host. The room was excellent with pleasant views across the gardens. Some welcoming home made sweets and mineral water provided complimentary.

The menu for the evening meal was well explained by the chef and contained some combinations of food that I have not seen before. The cooking and service were excellent.

The breakfast also lived up to my now high expectations.

Very enjoyable and recommended.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
Thank David_Ro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Had they the availability I would have stayed longer!
Professional reception -I was expected paperwork and key prepared .
Escorted to my room with all amenities pointed out.
Excellent hospitality - food superb!
-And Locally sourced !
No complaints what ever
You pay for what you get plus you receive service with a smile and in addition a first rate chef !
Book ahead as always busy

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NotFlyingToday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forres
1.4 mi away
Knockomie Hotel
Knockomie Hotel
#3 of 3 in Forres
258 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ramnee Hotel
Ramnee Hotel
#2 of 3 in Forres
220 reviews
16.8 mi away
Dowans Hotel
Dowans Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aberlour
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Boath House
Boath House
#7 of 9 in Nairn
334 reviews
10.7 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#3 of 7 in Elgin
432 reviews
11.1 mi away
Laichmoray Hotel
Laichmoray Hotel
#2 of 7 in Elgin
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cluny Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cluny Bank Hotel

Address: 69 St. Leonards Road, Forres IV36 1DW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Forres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Forres
Price Range: $149 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cluny Bank Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Small Hotel (Restaurant with Rooms, really) set in the best residential area of Forres, Moray. There are lots of activities within easy reach of the hotel such as golf, the world famous Malt Whisky Trail, castles, beaches and much more. Inverness is only 30 miles (airport 25 miles) away and there are many places of interest which can be reached. We have an extremely good reputation for food as you will see from the reviews. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Cluny Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cluny Bank Hotel
The Cluny Bank Hotel Forres, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing