We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cluny Bank Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Forres
Certificate of Excellence
Renfrew, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My wife and stayed for 2 nights at this hotel and were welcomed by Julia and Lloyd from checking in to departure. The rooms are spacious spotless and very comfortable. Thank you for a great stay, hope too visit again. Many thanks for your hospitality.

Alex + Carolanne

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carollanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    12
    6
    6
    1
See reviews for
18
112
14
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My brother and I booked this hotel as a birthday / retirement weekend away for our Dad. We had a great time and the food in the restaurant was exceptional. Julia and Lloyd, who own the hotel, were extremely welcoming and made us feel like long-lost relatives rather than guests. It seems they concentrated on what mattered: the food, service, atmosphere and our comfort. I look forward to taking my wife to stay one day. Thank you Lloyd and Julia.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisSaunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bo'ness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stayed here on business recently and was so impressed with the quality of service and standards. The big hotel groups should look at this place and hang their heads in shame. The facilities were second to none. I will be back on a private visit with my partner and the dog too.
Lloyd and Julia are to be commended.

Room Tip: If my room was anything to go by, you won't be disappointed with any room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in May 2013 for 2 nights. I had booked it based on the reputation of the restaurant and was not disappointed when we dined there on our second night, absolute perfection, one of the best meals we have had for some time and we are already looking forward to our next visit.
Our room was very comfortable and spacious with all the amenities that you would expect. It is a magnificent building which added a touch of grandeur to our stay in Forres.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlesCScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wijchen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The Cluny Bank hotel is a lovely small hotel and the owners , Lloyd and Julia , make you feel very welcome from the moment that you arrive . They want to make your stay as enjoyable as it can be. Lloyd is passionate about what he does, the desserts were wonderful and we could order meals and desserts that were not on the menu. Our hotel room was spacious and had everything in it that we needed. The home made fudges by Julia on our room when we arrived were the best we ever tasted.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed at Cluny Bank for two nights last week. The room was excellent and very comfortable and the food was truly outstanding. The menu was both comprehensive and interesting and the cooking consistently fantastic. We are seldom as positive about such things as it is rare to find such enjoyable eating that is spread across all the courses.

The fact that Lloyd was considered "loud" by one reviewer was a positive aspect to us. A proprietor that engages with customers provided a very welcome change. His brilliant cooking was matched by his love of sport and genuine desire to please his clients.

We must return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

My partner took me here for my birthday and it was truly memorable. We were very warmly welcomed and loved our beautiful large period room. The house itself is a magnificent rambling old building which retains loads of period features - it felt like a real privilidge to stay here. It was very warm and cosy too.
The meal was one of the best we've ever had and that's saying a lot because I'm a serious carnivore and my partner is a fish eating veggie. We both had numerous choices and loved what we had. Breakfast was also delicious and catered for a range of tastes and appetites. Our only regret was that having eaten so well ghe night before we didn't have room to try everything!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weemcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forres
0.5 mi away
Ramnee Hotel
Ramnee Hotel
#2 of 3 in Forres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
1.4 mi away
Knockomie Hotel
Knockomie Hotel
#3 of 3 in Forres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
16.8 mi away
Dowans Hotel
Dowans Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aberlour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rothes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
10.7 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
17.3 mi away
Craigellachie Hotel
Craigellachie Hotel
#1 of 1 in Craigellachie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cluny Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cluny Bank Hotel

Property: The Cluny Bank Hotel
Address: 69 St. Leonards Road, Forres IV36 1DW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Forres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Forres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cluny Bank Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Small Hotel (Restaurant with Rooms, really) set in the best residential area of Forres, Moray. There are lots of activities within easy reach of the hotel such as golf, the world famous Malt Whisky Trail, castles, beaches and much more. Inverness is only 30 miles (airport 25 miles) away and there are many places of interest which can be reached. We have an extremely good reputation for food as you will see from the reviews. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Cluny Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cluny Bank Hotel
The Cluny Bank Hotel Forres, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing