We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Another excellant week at Willow Barn, Forres”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Willowbarn Rafford

Exterior Willowbarn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior Willowbarn
First Visitors of 2014 Kitchen Dining Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Exterior Willowbarn
First Visitors of 2014
Kitchen Dining Area
Kitchen
Master Bedroom
Master Bathroom En-Suite
Twin bedded Room
Main Bathroom
Lounge kitchen
Lounge
Lounge
Aerial view of grounds
Especially for taking our younger guests for a cycle in Moray
Bike selection at Willowbarn, free usage for our guests
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Forres, Moray, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Hazelynne
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another excellant week at Willow Barn, Forres”
Reviewed September 15, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Our second visit to Willow Barn. Fiona and Carlo have maintained and improved the high standard of accommodation. They are very generous and friendly hosts who take a lot of trouble to ensure that everything runs smoothly during your stay.
We cycled to Findhorn again and had another good meal at the Kimberley Inn. A very good lunch at the Olive Tree at Logie Steading, which we thought was well deserved after cycling there and walking to Randolph's Leap.
We didn't see any dolphins this year but we did see Ospreys at Spey Bay and seals at Buckie.
We also had good food at the Old Mill Inn, Brodie, Forres

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The use of bicycles
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 16, 2014
thank you for your kind comments. We are so delighted you all had such a good holiday again. Moray has so much to offer and its great that you have enjoyed your time exploring the area, and of course enjoying Willowbarn too!
Fiona and Carlo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyene
Milan, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed August 20, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The Willows in Rafford is a perfect location for a quite stay with family or friends! In a good position to explore the Moray Firth, it has a natural park itself. We stayed with our two children for only few days (next time will stay longer!). The barn is absolutely fantastic: there is a lot of space in the two bedrooms and two bathrooms; it is very clean and comfortable. The kitchen has more than needed and all the rooms are full of light. Carlo and Fiona take care of their guests perfectly. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The premises
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 16, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We are always so delighted when our guests have a wonderful relaxing time at Willowbarn. Your feedback is very much appreciated. Fiona and Carlo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariemcw
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous....again!”
Reviewed August 10, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Had another wonderful stay here in July to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary - brought back many lovely memories as we got married on the grounds of this amazing place. Willowbarn was as inviting and homely as we remembered and it was a great few days relaxing. As always, lots to see and do in the area - bikes were there for our use although we didn't make the most of them as husband had a sore knee...! Many thanks again to Carlo and Fiona for the kindness they always extend, they are incredibly friendly and generous hosts!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 11, 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. We were so delighted to welcome you back and thrilled to see the photos of your wedding at Willowbarn. Looking forward to seeing you both again. Fiona and Carlo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross_Fami...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful luxury barn conversion”
Reviewed April 14, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Excellent holiday experience in a very tastefully appointed luxury barn conversion, so many things to do in the local area; house is located 200 yards away from Dava Way, a couple of miles and you are in Forres, Willowbarn is also located very close to the excellent beaches of Findhorn and Burghead. Carlo and Fiona provided every comfort required for our stay, we have stayed in a lot of 5 star holiday cottages but this one was truly that mark. Excellent quality of furnishings and design. Modern, clean and cosy with lots of added extras thrown in.

The affable hosts are truly that, always available to offer advice on the area, keen to offer their guests a lovely holiday experience. Keen cyclists both (ask Carlo for a nice road bike route!) the quality of bikes on offer (well maintained and of very decent quality) was excellent. We will be back! And we never even fished with the supplied rods for trout! Well done Fiona & Carlo. You have created a great holiday experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Accommodation and location
Liked least: Going home
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 13, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments. It is truly a wonderful area to visit and we are so delighted you were able to enjoy so much of it. There is still lots for you to do so it's definitely a return visit, we hope! Thank you for being such wonderful guests.

Fiona and Carlo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoisLane4...
Linlithgow
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cosy and comfortable in a fabulous location”
Reviewed October 26, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely relaxing few days at Willowbarn. The property is beautifully presented and well equipped for cooking and the use of the bikes made our holiday all the better. The fishing gear was a great touch and our son was delighted to catch his first trout! Carlo and Fiona were so friendly and helpful, they really made the effort to ensure our holiday was perfect.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 25, 2013
Thank you for the lovely comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Willowbarn and hope to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards
Fiona and Carlo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut USA
Reviewed August 29, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 29, 2013
Thank you James for your very positive review. We are so glad you had a good golfing trip and hope you return to play again!

Fiona and Carlo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gill_Dund...
Dundee, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Barn, Stunning Location, Wonderful Hosts!”
Reviewed August 20, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Stayed by myself at Willowbarn in July because I was doing a course in Forres. And so glad I booked! Fiona and Carlo were perfect hosts - Fiona came round on my first evening with flowers and milk (wow!) and Carlo drew me a map to a local beauty spot....nothing seemed too much bother for them, a truly special couple.

And that is all before I mention the barn itself. Beautifully finished, clean, everything you need for a great stay, and in a stunning location. (Must admit to wanting to move there and stay for ever!)

Can absolutely recommend a stay here - hope to go back on holiday at some point and enjoy all that the area has to offer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Attention to detail and the warm hosts
Liked least: problems with wifi, but sure Carlo would have fixed it had I been overy concerned!
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 20, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We really appreciate our comments and we would be delighted to welcome you back to Willowbarn for a relaxing break.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing