We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just not good enough”
Review of Logie Steading

Logie Steading
Ranked #2 of 14 things to do in Forres
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Logie Steading is a collection of small, creative, individually owned and run, businesses housed in the converted sandstone farm buildings at Logie. 2ndhand books, café, antiques, arts, crafts, local produce, hardy plants, hundreds of whiskies and gins, vintage accessories. And outside - spectacular walks along the river Findhorn, playground, and Gardens to enjoy. Veritably, a place to take your time!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Reviewed July 23, 2013

What a wonderful location! This retail adaptation of the old stable block has been designed by someone with great vision and creative talent and is staffed by people who really care about what they have to offer: unfortunately, it seems that the management of it leaves a lot to be desired. Who in their right mind would embark upon a major rebuilding programme at the height of the tourist season, leaving visitors with the splendour of just five Portaloos? Or a badly laid out and overworked Olive Tree café where staff try manfully to cope with the available facilities? Or a fabulous but badly understaffed farm shop and garden centre?

The nature of this venue means it will tend to attract a relatively mature and well-heeled clentele - one that demands rather more in the way of facilities and organisation than are currently being provided. If those things don't bother you, it's well worth a visit - if only for the Longhorn beef!

1  Thank idlerider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LogieL, Manager at Logie Steading, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the trouble to write about your recent visit to Logie Steading. You are quite right to question why on earth we are doing major building works in the height of summer! The trouble is that, combined with the first phase (doing up the old garage - where the farm & garden shop is now) the whole project is at least 10 months long. If we had delayed starting until after the busy summer we would still have been in disarray in 2014. In the planning the builders had reckoned that we would have been able to keep access to the WCs during the summer but, in order to have the easiest disabled access to the new café the whole of the courtyard paved area has had to be lifted and relaid. Far from ideal and I do apologise for the inconvenience but it will be worth it in the end; and many thanks for giving such a great endorsement to our delicious Longhorn beef!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"second hand bookshop"
in 46 reviews
"art gallery"
in 32 reviews
"farm shop"
in 28 reviews
"book shop"
in 27 reviews
"garden centre"
in 24 reviews
"tree cafe"
in 16 reviews
"soup"
in 29 reviews
"longhorn cattle"
in 12 reviews
"the river"
in 45 reviews
"craft shops"
in 11 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 31 reviews
"cake"
in 19 reviews
"wine shop"
in 9 reviews
"few hours"
in 15 reviews
"lovely cafe"
in 8 reviews
"beef"
in 6 reviews
"plant nursery"
in 6 reviews
Filter

304 - 308 of 333 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

We were looking forward to a good cup of tea and perhaps a cake. We were disappointed. The 'specialty tea' we asked for was Darjeeling, it could have been dish water. We suspect the two tea bags in the pot were old and stale, did not compare one iota with our loose leaf Darjeeling.
We ordered a slice of 'Fruity Flapjack 'and Lemon Meringue. It was a case of spot the fruit, I had two raisins in a SMALL piece of flapjack priced at £1.55,two bites and the dry piece was gone. My wife had a meringue that was far too sweet and stingy on the lemon and we suggested to the Manager to add more lemon zest and less sugar. This came to just under £9, we would not have minded had the tea and cakes been up to scratch. We would not recommend Logie Steading cafe on the basis of our visit, they will have to do better than this if we are to return.

Thank CHRIS I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LogieL, Manager at Logie Steading, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visit to Logie and I am sorry that you did not enjoy your tea and cakes. We do appreciate feedback and will certainly check on all the points you raise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We have been going here for years. The coffee shop does brilliant soup and the cakes are delicious but unfortunately recent price increases mean that we'll go less often. On a nice day the gardens are worth a stroll around, an honesty box operates there.

Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This is a review of the garden.

On our many visits to Logie we had never visited the garden but this time we did. What can I say? This is perfection! What a great idea to de-pipe the stream! One might now say that a rivulet runs through it!

Wish we had a garden like this. Well done!

Thank spycatcher007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LogieL, Manager at Logie Steading, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

I am so glad you like what we are doing in the garden - the positive feedback is very heartening - thank you for taking the time to write a review and I hope you come back at different times of the year to enjoy the garden 'come and go'

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Logie steading not well advertised in visitors attraction but well worth a visit and run over the moors is pleasant.The gardens are not to be missed what a excellant range of plants and the plant shop at the steading have a great variety.the Olive tree cafe has a good choice to eat and the soup rather large. The whole place has a well maintained look and some play area for children the walk down to the river is well worth the time and grass cut well back.

Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LogieL, Manager at Logie Steading, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write about your visit to Logie Steading and I am so glad you enjoyed yourselves. You were lucky to miss the deluging rain on Sunday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Logie Steading also viewed

 

Been to Logie Steading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing