We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memories of holidays past”
Review of Logie Steading

Logie Steading
Ranked #1 of 27 things to do in Forres
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Logie Steading is a collection of stone farm buildings that were given a new lease of life in 1991: they now house several individual businesses including Art Galleries, Antiques & Restoration, Secondhand Books, Crafts, Gifts, Vintage Clothing and Accessories, Whisky & Wine Merchant, a specialist printer, Heritage Centre and Cafe. Logie House Gardens are open throughout the year and there are walks along the River Findhorn - and there is a playpark! Lots to do and see. The businesses open at 10 on Friday, Saturday and Sunday in January and February and every day of the week from the first Friday in March until just before Christmas. Gardens, walks & play park are always open!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I have not been to Logie for a while but we are planning return visit. I remember this place when it was still a farm my uncle used to live in the bigger house across the road. He was the head cattleman at Logie so we used to spend holidays there, was never allowed to go into the steading though.

Thank dashodoric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LogieL, Owner at Logie Steading, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Hi - your connection with Logie sounds really interesting. Do you happen to have any old photographs from when you used to visit your uncle? We are doing some building works and, eventually, the cafe will move into larger premises. We have a few old photographs from when the steading was a working farm but would always like to see more. Do please be in touch ((via the logie website) before you come up as it would be good to meet. Many thanks for taking the trouble to write.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
There are newer reviews for Logie Steading
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

262 - 266 of 280 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2013

Lovely although quite expensive former farm steading which has been converted into several speciality shops. The little coffee shop was excellent and the cakes on offer particularly tasty! It was a shame that you had to pay to walk around the garden however and I wouldn't have liked to visit Logie Steading in bad weather. Fortunately, it was beautifully sunny when we visited and we spent a couple of warm and welcoming hours pottering about...

Thank VinceTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LogieL, Manager at Logie Steading, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

hi and thank you for taking the time to write a review of your visit to Logie Steading. The small charge (£2 for adults, children free) for entry to the garden contributes towards the costs of maintenance, and to try and make the garden an interesting place to visit. Access to the many miles of river walk are free!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stopped here for lunch . Found the menu a bit limiting for one of our party who does not like mayo as fillings are premixed "no mayo" is not a choice. How ever the venison burgers were a hit as were the red onion and brie tarts.It was very busy and you have to find a table before you order ,luckily the weather was kind and we sat out in the courtyard which is very nice.
We liked all the variety of shops and there are some talented crafts people. The felt shop was very interesting and there is a great variety of art on show. The book shop was a bit pricey. The adventure playground kept my youngest (11) amused for a little while.

Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LogieL, Manager at Logie Steading, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you very much for writing your helpful review of your visit to Logie and I am glad you enjoyed your time here. I will certainly pass your comments to Gill and Weller, who run the cafe, as I am sure there will be other people who would prefer not to have mayo with everything!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

We had a beautiful meal at a very reasonable price. The gallery shop has a nice range of goods. The farm shop was closed but I am told that they sell their own beef etc. Logie is a nice place to take friends & family for an afternoon out.

Thank CaroleaAnderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LogieL, Owner at Logie Steading, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thank you very much for your review and I am so glad you enjoyed your visit - hope you managed to dodge the snow showers! Would you like to receive the Steading e mail newsletter? We send out about half a dozen throughout the year with news about shop openings, outside theatre, sales etc .... and you can always unsubscribe if you get fed up with them! Details on our website!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Lovely little place to walk around you can walk down to the river. Need to be nimble though.A bit of history, second hand bookshop, cafe, little shops in summer season.
Lovely cafe with homemade soup, scones sandwiches. So reasonable and truly gorgeous.

1  Thank Yves7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LogieL, Manager at Logie Steading, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write about your visit to Logie – we are open every day until just before Christmas with a pre-Christmas sale all through December ….. hope we can tempt you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Logie Steading also viewed

 

Been to Logie Steading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing