We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel ran by Excellent Staff”
Review of Knockomie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Knockomie Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Forres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2014

What a unique little place. Secluded at the edge of a quiet town, where shops are within walking distance if you need anything. The perfect place to go for a quiet, relaxing trip. The staff are what make this a great place. They could not have been more helpful if they tried. Not only are the staff there for your every whim, the owners are also very prominent in the day to day running of the place it seems which gives the hotel a really nice family element to it. If you can get Yassmin to serve your table, you will get above and beyond service. She could not have been more friendly and welcoming. All staff were genuinely friendly, helpful and great at their job, owners, Penny and Gavin included. The room was perfect with a large, extremely comfortable bed. Walk in shower with powerful water spray, big bath and beautiful room over looking Forres with French doors you could open and walk outside to a little personal seating area.

Room Tip: Upgrade. It is worth the money for a brilliant shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bronagh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnockomieForres, Manager at Knockomie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thank you very much, we as a team appreciate the time you have taken to pop a review on TA.

Being Unique is very much appreciated , but we know it comes with a risk's! and that means some will be suprised.... but we think it is a risk worth taking and glad you appreciate it, hope to see you soon. Kind regards The Knockomie Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (258)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 258 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2014

Spent two days at the hotel recently with my partner and two dogs. We were allocated a ground floor room which suited us having the dogs. We were all made to feel very welcome and the dogs were fussed over by staff and other guests! Dinner was excellent and very good value considering the quality and service, and there was a large selection on offer at breakfast. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable - can't fault the hotel at all.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NicolaMossStAPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnockomieForres, Owner at Knockomie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thank you For visiting TA
We value your thoughts and hope to welome you back soon! Hope you enjoed all the stunnig walks around Forres.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We arrived at the Knockomie Hotel at 4pm on a Friday afternoon for a two night stay. First impressions were very positive, the building is impressive, dating from the early 19th century with further extensions during the early 20th century. The décor is a mixture of period and modern sympathetically used. We were warmly welcomed by John the hotel manager and shown to our room.
Our room was situated on the ground floor with French windows opening on to the side garden which was well kept. Our room was clean and tastefully decorated and the bathroom was very modern. As part of our package we had a delicious selection of petit fours and a bottle of Prosecco waiting for us.
We had dinner at the Knockomie on the Friday evening as there didn’t seem to be a great selection of local eateries and the hotel itself had some of the best reviews locally. Our meal was very tasty and good value; my wife had a ham hock and turkey terrine and I had a smoked haddock risotto which were both great, I can vouch for both as I am quite greedy. My wife and I had had a tough week at work and thus went for the comfort option of haddock with a whiskey batter and I had the steak burger which were both great. We had breakfast the next day which had a great selection from fruit and yoghurt, to a selection of cereals, pastries and cooked options. The staff team were friendly and attentive and nothing seemed to be too much trouble, many, many thanks to John and Yaz for all their help. The location of the hotel was ideal allowing us easy access for a weekend of photography in Aviemore, Inverness and the Highlands.
The break we had at the Knockomie was perfect for us and we will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael_Melissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnockomieForres, Owner at Knockomie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thank you for taking Time to write on TA. I know that John really appreciated your kind words.
Other than your comments on the Inn you make a really good observation as regards to our location! from Mountain to coast and all the Photographic oppertunities in between! We hope and are sure you would have got some stunninng Shots!
We are only sorry that you missed the recent Northern Lights, which would have given you the oppertunity for some memorable Photographic treasures.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for an organised New Year celebration as a party of 6 including a young child and a dog. All three rooms were excellent and upon arrival we were treated to "death by chocolate" with a selection of chocolate desserts and a bottle of prosecco on ice. Food throughout our stay was very good and especially so on New Years Eve, which included a murder mystery and disco. The staff were extremely helpful and met every request of our diverse group.

It's a lovely little hotel and well worth a visit. It provides access to a very beautiful part of Scotland.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank _davidthorburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnockomieForres, Owner at Knockomie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Welocme to 2014.

Thank You so Much for for your comments on New Year at Knockomie!
It was a great pleasure to meet you all! Diverse is what makes our Job / vocation such a pleasure some times we get it Spot on, like you so kindly pointed out and somtimes we Try hard and it does not matter what hoop we jump through nothing will satisfy!
Your report has lifted us all for 2014 and we look forward to Diverse! it makes it all worth while.

Happy New Year To You again and as they say in the Papers, and All our Readers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Booked this expecting exceptional value for money. At best is was ok. The dinning room was very dark and uninspiring and the food very expensive.

We only saw staff at breakfast ad the hotel lacked atmosphere and the carpets were threadbare. We would not return

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Squzytoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnockomieForres, Manager at Knockomie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

We are dissapointed to read your tripadvisor comments, and firstly must aplogies for not meeting your expectations.

Having recently completed a revue of our pricing, we are more than comfortable with our price structure, taking into account what other 4* inns charge and our operational costs and 20% VAT.
We agree with you that some of our carpets have sufferd and look forward to renewing them in early 2014.

As a note for future guests, if our dark dinning room does offend you at breakfast, dont suffer in silence.... please!
If we have a spare table in our lighter smaller dinning room please communicate with any of us, who would be delighted to help.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Knockomie Hotel was great value for money and the food delicious and the service very good. Had a lovely evening meal with friends and a great nights sleep in a Four Poster bed. There was a slight problem with the faulty coffee pot at breakfast but when requested it was changed immediately with apologies and a smile. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca_CW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnockomieForres, Owner at Knockomie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Thank You so Much For taking time to write a Tripadvisor review! loved your " Sneaky School Night Break" I hope we can us that in future marketing! look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

We arrived on Saturday 9th of November and stayed until Monday 11th of November. We stayed at the hotel through an itison deal.

"1 x A two-night break in a master room at the 4* Knockomie Hotel including Full Scottish breakfast both days, chilled bottle of Prosecco & Pudding Extravaganza in your room on arrival & homemade shortbread on the second day"

The welcome to the hotel was pleasant but rather rushed. We waited around 10mins for someone to come to the 'reception/check-in'. He rushed us through paperwork and hastily asked us if we were dining in the hotel - he then showed us to our room.

The room isn't what anyone would call a master room nowadays. Maybe back in the 60's where the room decor belongs. Old tattered wooden furniture (not the antique kind).
Bed wasn't the most comfortable and is a regular double size. Pillows weren't exactly fluffy.

Glad the Prosecco and Pudding extravaganza were in its place.

The bathroom is very nice, modern and is clean feeling.

The next morning for breakfast (Sunday) we waited another 10 or so minutes to be offered tea. When it came to ordering - no potato scone and no beans...Scottish breakfast without a wee tattie scone? Hmm. :)
Breakfast was ok. Nothing to sing songs about.

After a long day of sightseeing. We were looking forward to a nice wee cuppa and some homemade shortbread in our room. Nothing. Not even a crumb. We were too tired to go looking around the hotel for someone to give us shortbread so made do with the pre-packaged biscuits already there.

Again breakfast the next day(Monday) - no other guests in the hotel. At 9am the dining room was in darkness. Only a selection of cereals, a fruit salad and yoghurt was on offer. And a croissant. With some fruit juice.
No hotel staff to be seen anywhere.
We ate what was out in darkness - until around 9.40am someone came and offered us a cooked breakfast or tea. By which time we were just about finished.

Check-out = finding someone in a cubby hole/office and interrupting a conversation with a staff member.

I checked out in the middle of a hallway and was on my way.

In the whole 35 or so hours we were there we actually only spoke to 3 members of staff.
At check-in, breakfast and check-out.

Definitely would not be recommending, or returning.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank BluebellMunro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnockomieForres, Owner at Knockomie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Thank you for your review!
We are disappointed that you appear not to have had the perfect Knockomie Experiance, which goes against the grain! in so many ways!
I apologise that you did not enjoy what we offer,
We recognise that your check in, was different to so many hotels, we have shunned the traditional barrier ( Reception Desk) and welcome guests (and our goodbuys) in the the front hall, On the Saturday evening that you checked in we Where indeed busy, with only one spare table, so while your Headline title describes us as a ghost hotel, we dont think it is entirely a fair refection on the reality, although Sunday like many Hotels in November was some what quieter.

Indeed the restaurant is dark, we took a decision that the main experiance would be an evening one,with lots of Candels.
Had you had dinner on either evening, I think, but can not promise that you would have seen the dinning experiance in a different light so to speak!

Having spoken to my very small but dedicated team they are upset that you thought they did not finnish a conversation immediatly on your appearence, and both asked that I convey that apology to you.

I have read your other 2 reviews ( I always do, it helps me understand more about our guests travel patterns) and I am delighted you had a good time in Forres which has much to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forres
1.7 mi away
Ramnee Hotel
Ramnee Hotel
#2 of 3 in Forres
220 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Cluny Bank Hotel
The Cluny Bank Hotel
#1 of 3 in Forres
226 reviews
9.4 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#3 of 7 in Elgin
432 reviews
17.3 mi away
Dowans Hotel
Dowans Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aberlour
253 reviews
12.5 mi away
Laichmoray Hotel
Laichmoray Hotel
#2 of 7 in Elgin
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knockomie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knockomie Hotel

Address: 4 Grantown Road, Forres IV36 2UG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Forres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Forres
Price Range: $162 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knockomie Hotel, built in 1821, is near Inverness and Loch Ness, boasts free Wi-Fi, free parking, over 100 whiskies and is near 18 golf courses. Set in four acres of gardens, this family-run inn was built in 1821 and is located south of Forres on the A940, just forty minutes from Inverness Airport. Knockomie Hotel is amongst a new generation of romantic, luxury Scottish Highland Hotels, providing friendly, honest and unstuffy service. Situated four miles from the Moray coast and the world famous village of Findhorn, Knockomie is perfectly placed in intimate surroundings for a relaxing and special break. For a truly luxurious Scottish experience relax and enjoy the sanctuary of the 15 individually styled and furnished bedrooms. Some feature patio doors leading out into the garden, while others offer traditional tartan fabrics and Scandinavian theme or even a taste of the orient. Many rooms boast views towards Forres, the gardens or the quiet wooded area found to the rear of the hotel, however all rooms offer the same quality finish and comforting features to make your stay a peaceful one. Only the best of Local Highland produce is used in the hotels well renowned Restaurant, "The Grill Room". The menu celebrates everything Scottish and offers special menus to compliment the changing seasons. Dining is complemented by the extensive wines on offer in the restaurant, where you are sure to find the perfect accompaniment to any meal. If you like to relax with a drink after your evening meal "The Malt Library" offers over 100 Whiskies that pay testament to the superb range and quality of the region's distilleries. The bar also offers an excellent choice of beers, wines and spirits, as well as teas and coffees to suit any taste. A wealth of activities await guests in the local area, including the scenic Rivers of Spey and Findhorn, the Cairngorm National Park, the mysterious Loch Ness and many Castles and Forts. The region, known as Speyside, is also one of the greatest Whisky producing regions in the world and as such boasts a large number of distilleries to tour. There are 18 excellent golf courses to enjoy in the surrounding area, including Elgin, Forres, Nairn, Moray and Royal Dornoch, ensuring that there is a wide range of pursuits for all tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Knockomie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knockomie Hotel Forres, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing