We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Felt like a ghost hotel...”
Review of Knockomie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Knockomie Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Forres
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Felt like a ghost hotel...”
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

We arrived on Saturday 9th of November and stayed until Monday 11th of November. We stayed at the hotel through an itison deal.

"1 x A two-night break in a master room at the 4* Knockomie Hotel including Full Scottish breakfast both days, chilled bottle of Prosecco & Pudding Extravaganza in your room on arrival & homemade shortbread on the second day"

The welcome to the hotel was pleasant but rather rushed. We waited around 10mins for someone to come to the 'reception/check-in'. He rushed us through paperwork and hastily asked us if we were dining in the hotel - he then showed us to our room.

The room isn't what anyone would call a master room nowadays. Maybe back in the 60's where the room decor belongs. Old tattered wooden furniture (not the antique kind).
Bed wasn't the most comfortable and is a regular double size. Pillows weren't exactly fluffy.

Glad the Prosecco and Pudding extravaganza were in its place.

The bathroom is very nice, modern and is clean feeling.

The next morning for breakfast (Sunday) we waited another 10 or so minutes to be offered tea. When it came to ordering - no potato scone and no beans...Scottish breakfast without a wee tattie scone? Hmm. :)
Breakfast was ok. Nothing to sing songs about.

After a long day of sightseeing. We were looking forward to a nice wee cuppa and some homemade shortbread in our room. Nothing. Not even a crumb. We were too tired to go looking around the hotel for someone to give us shortbread so made do with the pre-packaged biscuits already there.

Again breakfast the next day(Monday) - no other guests in the hotel. At 9am the dining room was in darkness. Only a selection of cereals, a fruit salad and yoghurt was on offer. And a croissant. With some fruit juice.
No hotel staff to be seen anywhere.
We ate what was out in darkness - until around 9.40am someone came and offered us a cooked breakfast or tea. By which time we were just about finished.

Check-out = finding someone in a cubby hole/office and interrupting a conversation with a staff member.

I checked out in the middle of a hallway and was on my way.

In the whole 35 or so hours we were there we actually only spoke to 3 members of staff.
At check-in, breakfast and check-out.

Definitely would not be recommending, or returning.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank BluebellMunro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnockomieForres, Owner at Knockomie Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for your review!
We are disappointed that you appear not to have had the perfect Knockomie Experiance, which goes against the grain! in so many ways!
I apologise that you did not enjoy what we offer,
We recognise that your check in, was different to so many hotels, we have shunned the traditional barrier ( Reception Desk) and welcome guests (and our goodbuys) in the the front hall, On the Saturday evening that you checked in we Where indeed busy, with only one spare table, so while your Headline title describes us as a ghost hotel, we dont think it is entirely a fair refection on the reality, although Sunday like many Hotels in November was some what quieter.

Indeed the restaurant is dark, we took a decision that the main experiance would be an evening one,with lots of Candels.
Had you had dinner on either evening, I think, but can not promise that you would have seen the dinning experiance in a different light so to speak!

Having spoken to my very small but dedicated team they are upset that you thought they did not finnish a conversation immediatly on your appearence, and both asked that I convey that apology to you.

I have read your other 2 reviews ( I always do, it helps me understand more about our guests travel patterns) and I am delighted you had a good time in Forres which has much to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    64
    25
    16
    7
See reviews for
30
146
4
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my partner have just come back today from a 2 night stay at the Knockomie Hotel. We found a really good deal and had a week off so we headed up mid week.

From when we arrived we realised the nothing was too much trouble for the staff. They were all super friendly and really helpful. They were always checking we were ok (not oppressively) if we were in one of the quieter rooms. Always made an effort to chat. They also suggested places to visit and lent us a map.

The food was superb, to the point that on the second night we had planned to go out, but decided to stay in as it had been so good the night prior. Breakfast was also very good.

The room was huge, clean with plenty of storage and lovely views. Some of the carpets/decor was a little dated but it's an old country hotel so it is to be expected.

There were plenty of quiet public areas with cosy fires to sit and chill out. They have a great selection of drinks, local ale, beers and many malt whiskies!

We left feeling refreshed and really happy with our stay and experience. Thanks to all the lovely staff. We will hopefully be back again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TGATSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnockomieForres, Owner at Knockomie Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
I am very appreciative that you have taken time to write a review, it has given our team a real boost. You have summed up what I somtimes fail to put into words so well, Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Really pleasurable stay at the Knockomie. In fact, I liked it so much I went back & stayed there twice!
The hotel itself is charming & cosy, clean & comfortable. Breakfast is hearty & my eggs cooked to my specification.
Dinner even better. A really good & varied menu & very generous portions.Delicious.
However, it's the people who made my stay so great.
All of the staff were very friendly, helpful & attentive. But I must make special mention of John, Johnnie & Aga (please forgive me if I have mis-spelt that last name). What a Welcome I received each evening such a pleasure & if I get the chance I will definitely go back to the Knockomie.
Cannot recommend highly enough

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avrila9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnockomieForres, Owner at Knockomie Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
WOW, winter is arriving and I am catching up with what I should have said immediatly, Thank you!
it was great to see you, Not once, but Twice!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I had the pleasure of visiting the Knockomie Hotel for dinner a few weeks ago whilst in Forres on a work trip. I thought the whole atmoshphere and décor were really charming and cosy - just what a country house should be! Our party dined in the private Strathcona dining room which I thought was beautiful. A massive table laid with simple tealights and greenery was very pretty, the room itself was nicely decorated.....it was just what I'd love my own dining room to be like!

The food was delicious - I particularly recommend the ham hock terrine with bruschetta (the freshest, lightest started I've had in a long time) and the chocolate tart which came with a divine raspberry sorbet. I could easily have eaten an entire bowl full of just the sorbet. The service was wonderful, our wine glasses were kept full all evening and the manager also organised taxis for us all at the end of the night.

The next time I visit Forres, I'll be sure to stay in the Knockomie.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnockomieForres, Owner at Knockomie Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
It is lovely to read your Kind words, for the rest of the world to see, The Strathcona Room lends it self to celerbration so well. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Had a wonderful nights sleep here in the peace and quiet of a lovely Scottish hotel. Our dinner at night was first class. The hotel is very comfortable and relaxing. Our room was very nice but a bit small and housekeeping attention to detail could have been a bit better. Would I recommend this hotel to anyone - yes. Would I stay there again - yes. Would I dine at Knockomie again - definately.

Room Tip: Ground floor room with french doors are a delight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyD3163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnockomieForres, Owner at Knockomie Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a few very kind word about your time here at Knockomie, It so important that potential guest's have the oppertunity to read independant reviews, to help them make informed travel plans, your contribution is greatly appreciated. G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The food at dinner was very good and breakfast was a good size with perfectly cooked eggs. The room was large with both shower and bath. Only fault was the tired carpets in the stairway and bedroom but all areas were clean.
If you are expecting a country house hotel you might be disappointed by the development of a new housing estate in close proximity with workmen and generators etc starting up at 0730 each day! But this is not something the hotel can control.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnockomieForres, Owner at Knockomie Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you, for taking time to write a review. we love to read the good and the not so good, after your kind word you do indeed point out that Houses are being built, and thease are beyond our control, But the builders have worked hard to keep the noise to a minimum and we as neighbours look forward to welcoming the new occupants to the INN , as they settle in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Just spent a week at this hotel that has three strengths that make for an enjoyable stay;good food,personal and friendly attention and a nice country house ambiance. The only slight down sides are that the general decor is a wee bit tired and the bathroom in our room could have done with an upgrade. This said the overall impression was very favourable and I would thank all the staff for this positive feeling. We felt the experience could be enhanced by real fires in the public areas, just as a suggestion. The location is good and there is plenty to do especially if you are interested in malt whisky and outdoor pursuits. We did feel that the local towns might have lost out to the overall draw of the distillery visitor centres. As a cyclist there are plenty of routes flat and challenging in the locale.

Room Tip: rooms looking to the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnockomieForres, Owner at Knockomie Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
I think Autum is a very Special time of year to visit the Moray Coast and Speyside, I hope you enjoyed the rich colours, they where spectacular this year.!
Please be reassured that we are going to re fresh areas of the Inn this Winter and your constructive comments have helped shape our investment Plans.
As we have welcomed many Cyclist's this year who are attracted to either the Hills and woodland trails or the Round trips by road that can be planned, we have in turn now invested in a bike stand and a foot pump to help save space in peoples cars! I hope we can welcome you back soon.G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forres
1.4 mi away
The Cluny Bank Hotel
The Cluny Bank Hotel
#1 of 3 in Forres
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ramnee Hotel
Ramnee Hotel
#2 of 3 in Forres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
9.5 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Boath House Hotel
Boath House Hotel
#7 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
12.0 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#3 of 7 in Elgin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
9.3 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knockomie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knockomie Hotel

Property: Knockomie Hotel
Address: 4 Grantown Road, Forres IV36 2UG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Forres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Forres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Knockomie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knockomie Hotel, built in 1821, is near Inverness and Loch Ness, boasts free Wi-Fi, free parking, over 100 whiskies and is near 18 golf courses. Set in four acres of gardens, this family-run inn was built in 1821 and is located south of Forres on the A940, just forty minutes from Inverness Airport. Knockomie Hotel is amongst a new generation of romantic, luxury Scottish Highland Hotels, providing friendly, honest and unstuffy service. Situated four miles from the Moray coast and the world famous village of Findhorn, Knockomie is perfectly placed in intimate surroundings for a relaxing and special break. For a truly luxurious Scottish experience relax and enjoy the sanctuary of the 15 individually styled and furnished bedrooms. Some feature patio doors leading out into the garden, while others offer traditional tartan fabrics and Scandinavian theme or even a taste of the orient. Many rooms boast views towards Forres, the gardens or the quiet wooded area found to the rear of the hotel, however all rooms offer the same quality finish and comforting features to make your stay a peaceful one. Only the best of Local Highland produce is used in the hotels well renowned Restaurant, "The Grill Room". The menu celebrates everything Scottish and offers special menus to compliment the changing seasons. Dining is complemented by the extensive wines on offer in the restaurant, where you are sure to find the perfect accompaniment to any meal. If you like to relax with a drink after your evening meal "The Malt Library" offers over 100 Whiskies that pay testament to the superb range and quality of the region's distilleries. The bar also offers an excellent choice of beers, wines and spirits, as well as teas and coffees to suit any taste. A wealth of activities await guests in the local area, including the scenic Rivers of Spey and Findhorn, the Cairngorm National Park, the mysterious Loch Ness and many Castles and Forts. The region, known as Speyside, is also one of the greatest Whisky producing regions in the world and as such boasts a large number of distilleries to tour. There are 18 excellent golf courses to enjoy in the surrounding area, including Elgin, Forres, Nairn, Moray and Royal Dornoch, ensuring that there is a wide range of pursuits for all tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Knockomie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knockomie Hotel Forres, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing