We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Knockomie Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramnee Hotel(Forres)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunny Brae(Nairn)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (273)
Filter reviews
273 results
Traveler rating
147
67
33
19
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
147
67
33
19
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscountry housedining roomthe ground floorsteaknight breakpublic areasgrand masteron arrivallovely hotelfrench windows openingwet roomfirst classgreat foodfood and winesat navin lawsbeautiful room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
151 - 156 of 273 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed at Knockomie for two nights in late March with Jock our dog.

The Knockomie team get it right. They are welcoming, friendly and informal without being too familiar, and offered such an attentive, unobtrusive service, that it seemed that nothing was too much trouble.

We ate at the hotel on both nights and again, service in the dining room was efficient and well timed. The menu wasn't overladen with choice, but it was well thought out, with hearty options such as slow baked lamb and beef and lighter fish or chicken dishes. Puddings were lovely, and the presentation was uncontrived and attractive.

Our room was a little on the small side, and certainly the decor was a little tired. However, this is a minor point, it was full of period details, high ceilinged, tiled fireplace, beautiful cornicing and the bed was comfortable and the shower was powerful. We spent lots of time in the sitting room in front of a roaring stove, or in the bar, and we didn't need to stir for drinks or service - it was fantastically relaxing.

We would definitely recommend the Knockomie, service is excellent, food is great and it's a lovely welcoming building. We loved that Jock got as warm a welcome as we did, and although the weather was pretty lousy, the atmosphere at Knockomie was warm and friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed for 1 night on a trip to the Highlands to watch a football game at Inverness, it was only 20 minutes away and the drive was pleasant. As we drove up the drive the hotel appeared in front of us, it is a large Victorian country house, we knew then we had made the right choice. We were greeted warmly at reception, shown to a very nice and well presented room overlooking the garden, the shower room was spotless and spacious. Dinner was on a very generous deal with a bottle of wine included and it didn't disappoint, served to us by a friendly waitress who looked like she actually enjoyed serving us. My wife is a vegetarian and was offered choices that pleased her. Breakfast was hearty and the local butchers sausages were special. Yes we intend to return some day.
As we were leaving I discovered my car needed water for the radiator, the owner obliged by bringing me water in a Highland Spring bottle, no less, and he even did the filling up for me - now that's what I call good service :-)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lackenagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed for two nights with our two dogs. We had never been here before but what a warm welcome we got. Had an ideal room with doors going on to the garden which was very handy. Could not fault any if the staff they were all really nice and nothing seemed too much bother for them. Ate in the hotel our first night the food was lovely. Would definitely go back. Thank you to all!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morag M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed in Knockomie for 2 nights on Valentines weekend, up North on a much-needed break to visit some friends.

Our room was large, comfortable, airy and spotlessly clean. The food turned out to be much better than we expected. In fact, it was so good I ordered exactly the same thing the next night, which I never usually do.

We were tempted by the nearby Boath House hotel in Nairn, but Knockomie seemed to offer better value for money, and I have to say we weren't wrong. We visited the Boath House for a light lunch and were not impressed. By comparison, Knockomie was far more welcoming, homely and comfortable.

What really made the stay for us was the staff who were exceptional and genuinely friendly throughout our stay, and the owners who were very friendly to chat to.

We'll definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LozAndGeorgina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We had heard a lot about this hotel and had really looked forward to our stay, unfortunately for us it did not live up to expectations.
Our bedroom although large, had a bed that was smaller than the one that should have been there, the curtains would not meet in the middle (letting light into room ealier than wanted in morning) the floor at back of toilet hadn't been cleaned and toilet seat was cracked and quite unhygienic. The manager on our arival promised to get the seat and curtains fixed by the next day but this did not happen.
We were offered an alternative room, however this was much smaller and next to a downstairs lounge and would therefore have been noisier of an evening.
We did receive a small discount off of our bill but we left with expectations far from met.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews