We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Knockomie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Knockomie Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Forres
Carluke
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Spent 3 fantastic nights at knockomie. 2-5 feb 2013, really enjoyed breakfasts and both evening meals we had. Johnnie and John were amazing hosts and we were made to feel very welcome. We also had our dog with us and she had a fantastic time and made herself bery much at home in the Malt Library. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    62
    25
    15
    7
See reviews for
29
144
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Thank you for lovely weekend break 1st and 2nd feb 2013 spent with husband as a welcome break for our anniversary. Superlatives abound for friendly and professional welcome from Johnnie. Delightful and traditional highland home, warm welcoming fires and large bedrooms. The evening meal was excellent one of the best meals we have had in recent times and a very imaginative and skilled young chef is one to keep! All was brilliant even weather on Saturday allowed us to cycle in Culbin Forrest,. Only disappointment was Scotland's rugby result but the drink by fire helped ease the pain! l We will definitely be back and will recommend to friends and family. Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank girlsroadtrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

spend saturday night 2nd feb 13,best service that i,ve had,evening meal was out of this world keep a hold of chef, and staff were great will be going back+ dog friendly ,thanks to all the staff, room,s were large,comfy bed even the dog slept the whole night

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hymie3987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

My partner and I stayed for two nights as a quick ''escape from children' break, before the festivities December 2012. The hotel is set far back from the road in lovely gardens (even in winter) It was built in the early 1800's, and is a typical Scottish 'hunting lodge' of that period, and thankfully many of the original features have been retained, but with the addition of all the modern conveniences we demand and expect now. Check in at 'reception' was swift, friendly and informative.....in fact we couldn't fault the service the whole stay.We stayed in the executive room, with the glass block shower pictured on the web site! The bedroom was very nice, clean and well appointed...and the bed was very comfortable! The bathroom was modern and fabulous......a shower head the size of a plate and very powerful and the bath would fit two comfortably!..The room also had patio doors out into the garden, which would be lovely at warmer times of the year, and although there is house building taking place down the hill, unlike some other reviewers, we certainly did not feel it encroached in any way!
We ate in the restaurant the first night, the decor is quite opulent and dark, which we liked and felt it made it more intimate....and the food was excellent! We, for some reason decided to try a meal in Forres the second night, but it wasn't the greatest we'd ever had, and I think we both agreed we wished we'd just eaten at the hotel that night too. Breakfast had a good varied choice, and was plentiful and hot! The hotel was very quiet, there weren't many other guests staying.. we were told there was a wedding taking place on the Saturday (the day we left) but I cannot imagine that even this would disturb the peace at Knockomie! Anyone interested in wildlife art should have a wander into their function room.....there are quite a few original David Shepherds on the walls, he's apparently a friend of the owners.....This was an absolute personal bonus for me...his books were the inspiration for me drawing as a child!
I took my laptop but neither it nor the television were ever on, so I cannot comment on connection but the mobile phone signal (O2) was good.
The Knockomie ticked all of our boxes, and I'd unreservedly recommend it for anyones romantic weekend....and I have no doubt we will be back!

Room Tip: Don't bother eating out.......the foods fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sidesaddlefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Have just returned from a 2 night stay here at Knockomie Hotel and we enjoyed every minute of our stay. The hotel is beautiful and very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food is superb and the bar is so well stocked . There is not one negative about Knockomie Hotel for us.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carsim06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

I usually stay in other hotels in the area, however a NATO air exercise at RAF Lossiemouth meant they were fully booked. On my drive up to Moray I must have passed the sign and entrance for this hotel a dozen times, so why it give it a try?
A narrow little tree lined lane leads up the old drive to this solid and hidden country house, sitting in it's own ground on the edge of Forres.
The feel from the front door is a boutique ambiance with a county twist, log fire:check, dark wood antiques: check, stags heads on the walls: check. Reception was a free standing chest of drawers deal in the lobby/ lounge, and was professional and attentive.
My room was the one pictured on the website; large and clean with a slightly eccentric decor, a cross between African safari and Raj, but still pleasant. The bathroom was fine, looking in need of an update, but clean and funtioning.
Someone had put a lot of effort into the bar, it says country inn, without the slot machines, juke box or locals propping up the bar.
The restaurant wad dark cholocate and greys, very plush feeling but quite dark. The food was good, steak delicious and the service confident and friendly, matched to a good value wine list.
Breakfast was unhurried but prompt with good quality local produce.
Any negatives? Conectivity was poor for the wireless Internet, and my phone signals (3 and tmobile) non existent in the bedroom, meaning I had to use the hotel bedside phone for the first time in years.
Would I go back? Absolutely, and even before my old first choice in Forres. A really nice place to spend your time.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brianfegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
114 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed here in Nov 12 for the weekend and it was wonderful.The surroundings are quiet and picturesque and the hotel is nicely decorated. The staff are very welcoming and helpful and the food in the restaurant is superb. The have a well stocked whiskey bar and cannot do enough to help. The room we stayed in was the Ben Romach. It is a more expensive room with a fantastic iron 4 poster bed. We have stayed in some nice hotels and this ranks among one of the best.

Room Tip: Ben Romach very nice but expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alizz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forres
1.4 mi away
The Cluny Bank Hotel
The Cluny Bank Hotel
#1 of 3 in Forres
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ramnee Hotel
Ramnee Hotel
#2 of 3 in Forres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
9.5 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Boath House Hotel
Boath House Hotel
#5 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
12.0 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#3 of 7 in Elgin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
9.3 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knockomie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knockomie Hotel

Property: Knockomie Hotel
Address: 4 Grantown Road, Forres IV36 2UG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Forres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Forres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Knockomie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knockomie Hotel, built in 1821, is near Inverness and Loch Ness, boasts free Wi-Fi, free parking, over 100 whiskies and is near 18 golf courses. Set in four acres of gardens, this family-run inn was built in 1821 and is located south of Forres on the A940, just forty minutes from Inverness Airport. Knockomie Hotel is amongst a new generation of romantic, luxury Scottish Highland Hotels, providing friendly, honest and unstuffy service. Situated four miles from the Moray coast and the world famous village of Findhorn, Knockomie is perfectly placed in intimate surroundings for a relaxing and special break. For a truly luxurious Scottish experience relax and enjoy the sanctuary of the 15 individually styled and furnished bedrooms. Some feature patio doors leading out into the garden, while others offer traditional tartan fabrics and Scandinavian theme or even a taste of the orient. Many rooms boast views towards Forres, the gardens or the quiet wooded area found to the rear of the hotel, however all rooms offer the same quality finish and comforting features to make your stay a peaceful one. Only the best of Local Highland produce is used in the hotels well renowned Restaurant, "The Grill Room". The menu celebrates everything Scottish and offers special menus to compliment the changing seasons. Dining is complemented by the extensive wines on offer in the restaurant, where you are sure to find the perfect accompaniment to any meal. If you like to relax with a drink after your evening meal "The Malt Library" offers over 100 Whiskies that pay testament to the superb range and quality of the region's distilleries. The bar also offers an excellent choice of beers, wines and spirits, as well as teas and coffees to suit any taste. A wealth of activities await guests in the local area, including the scenic Rivers of Spey and Findhorn, the Cairngorm National Park, the mysterious Loch Ness and many Castles and Forts. The region, known as Speyside, is also one of the greatest Whisky producing regions in the world and as such boasts a large number of distilleries to tour. There are 18 excellent golf courses to enjoy in the surrounding area, including Elgin, Forres, Nairn, Moray and Royal Dornoch, ensuring that there is a wide range of pursuits for all tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Knockomie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knockomie Hotel Forres, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing