We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic small white wedding”
Review of Knockomie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Knockomie Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Forres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2011

my husband and i got married on saturday 28th may, we took exclusive use of the whole hotel as we had friends and family staying. we had our whole wedding at knockomie and it was a fantastic and special day we can not fault anything everything was perfect and penny, gavin and the team were great on the day and the build up to the wedding. the food was amazing as always everyone loved the meal so a big thankyou to andy and team. it was a fantastic day and so sad it come to an end but we will be back for a meal and an overnight stay soon! so any brides tobe that are looking for that perfect small wedding then this is the place.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bevandgra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 261 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2011

Although we have passed this hotel many times we have never stayed there - what a mistake! On this occasion we were looking for a pet friendly hotel in the area and discovered that the Knockomie fitted the bill. Our room had patio doors directly to the garden so we didn't have to take our dog through the hotel each time. All the positive reviews are exactly right - we have no negative comments to make. The house is great and in a beautiful location with many and varied places of interest in the surrounding area. The welcome, the staff and the food were all faultless. Will definately be back.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carole_jude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2011

My husband and I booked the Knockomuie Hotel for ourselves and our family to stay in for our Wedding at Brodie Castle.

We were all made so welcome by all of the staff and they let us utilise one of the sitting rooms for all of our party, we had a lovely evening having supper in this room with drinks, the night before the Wedding

On returning from Brodie Castle we again congregated in our sitting room before all having dinner in our own dining room, The food was delicious and pleantiful.

The breakfasts were also top class

All of the rooms that we had were fantastic and all had their own character.

We would certainly recommend this Hotel as it was not only fantastic it was excellent vaalue for money.

Thank you for making our special day so special

Room Tip: all the rooms were fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

The Knockomie Hotel is just enchanting, you feel more like an old friend than a guest. The rooms are a good size and nicely decorated like a cosy boutique hotel. The shower in our room was dripping when we arrived, however the staff couldnt have been more helpful. While we were out they upgraded the room to a lovely four poster bed which was absolutely huge! Breakfast was lovely and they do amazing bacon rolls if you want them. We intend to go back again and again. Its just a pity that there isn't much to do in Forres, but Moray Speyside is so beautiful that this doesn't really matter.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rainedaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

Gavin and Penny are experts in their field, providing not just a high-class hotel but a first class culinary experience, but the very best local knowledge too. We enjoyed a relaxing two days that ended all too quickly. Perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristieStephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

We were looking for somewhere to relax for a few days and chill out - play some golf, do some walking and enjoy some good food and wine. We looked at small hotels all over scotland and eventually picked The Knockomie as fitting the bill. The welcome and hospitality was second to none and the food was excellent - we intended perhaps to eat in the hotel the first night, and ended up eating in 3 nights! The beaches in Moray (Findhorn, Hopeman, Roseisle....) are fabulous and you dont need to share them with too many other people!! We golfed at Hopeman (great fun) Elgin and Boat of Garten - but there were so many other courses we could have tried. There is nothing flash or modern about the Knockomie - this is not a Hilton or a Radisson thank goodness - this is an extremely comfortable country house in which we were made to feel very welcome and at ease. Our bed was incredibly comfortable and our room very spacious and bright. We also thought it was extremely good value for money. Many thanks to Gavin and Penny for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skifamilyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Knockomie Hotel. It was a truly wonderful experience from start to finish. The owners and all the staff were very friendly and professional at all times. Our room was very comfortable and had everything we needed. The bar is cosy and welcoming with a wide choice drinks, particularly whiskeys. Breakfast choice was very good and all items well cooked and presented. We ate two evening meals at the hotel which were both delicious and quite reasonably priced. All in all a great weekend break and we would recommend the Knockomie without any hesitation.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rcraib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forres
1.7 mi away
Ramnee Hotel
Ramnee Hotel
#2 of 3 in Forres
223 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Cluny Bank Hotel
The Cluny Bank Hotel
#1 of 3 in Forres
232 reviews
9.4 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#2 of 9 in Nairn
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 36 in Inverness
620 reviews
18 mi away
Craigellachie Hotel
Craigellachie Hotel
#1 of 1 in Craigellachie
625 reviews
11.2 mi away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knockomie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knockomie Hotel

Address: 4 Grantown Road, Forres IV36 2UG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Forres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Forres
Price Range: $119 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knockomie Hotel, built in 1821, is near Inverness and Loch Ness, boasts free Wi-Fi, free parking, over 100 whiskies and is near 18 golf courses. Set in four acres of gardens, this family-run inn was built in 1821 and is located south of Forres on the A940, just forty minutes from Inverness Airport. Knockomie Hotel is amongst a new generation of romantic, luxury Scottish Highland Hotels, providing friendly, honest and unstuffy service. Situated four miles from the Moray coast and the world famous village of Findhorn, Knockomie is perfectly placed in intimate surroundings for a relaxing and special break. For a truly luxurious Scottish experience relax and enjoy the sanctuary of the 15 individually styled and furnished bedrooms. Some feature patio doors leading out into the garden, while others offer traditional tartan fabrics and Scandinavian theme or even a taste of the orient. Many rooms boast views towards Forres, the gardens or the quiet wooded area found to the rear of the hotel, however all rooms offer the same quality finish and comforting features to make your stay a peaceful one. Only the best of Local Highland produce is used in the hotels well renowned Restaurant, "The Grill Room". The menu celebrates everything Scottish and offers special menus to compliment the changing seasons. Dining is complemented by the extensive wines on offer in the restaurant, where you are sure to find the perfect accompaniment to any meal. If you like to relax with a drink after your evening meal "The Malt Library" offers over 100 Whiskies that pay testament to the superb range and quality of the region's distilleries. The bar also offers an excellent choice of beers, wines and spirits, as well as teas and coffees to suit any taste. A wealth of activities await guests in the local area, including the scenic Rivers of Spey and Findhorn, the Cairngorm National Park, the mysterious Loch Ness and many Castles and Forts. The region, known as Speyside, is also one of the greatest Whisky producing regions in the world and as such boasts a large number of distilleries to tour. There are 18 excellent golf courses to enjoy in the surrounding area, including Elgin, Forres, Nairn, Moray and Royal Dornoch, ensuring that there is a wide range of pursuits for all tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Knockomie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knockomie Hotel Forres, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing